MINUTES BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR BOARD MEETING

JUNE 9, 2014

BUDGET WORKSHOP

The Board met from 5:30-6:30 p.m. to work on the 2014-15 budget.

PLEDGE AND INVOCATION

The Wylie Independent School District's Board of Trustees met in regular session on Monday, June 9, 2014, at 6:30 p.m. in the School Board Room. The pledge of allegiance was recited and the invocation was given by Stephen Lowry.

Board members present were: Mike Awtry, Jeff Rogers, Mark McClellan, Stephen Lowry, Steve Keenum, and Darrell Moore. Alice Church was absent.

School personnel present were: Joey Light, Craig Bessent, Tommy Vaughn, Mike Kerley, Rob Goodenough, Nadine Davis, Phil Boone, Debbie Lambert, Brad McVay, Mitch Davis, Tim Smith, Nick Pruitt, Terry Hagler, Lisa Salmon, Carol Smith, and Desiree Clardy.

Guests presents: See sign-in sheet.

OATHS OF OFFICE

The oaths of office were administered by Craig Bessent to newly elected board members; Mike Awtry - Place 2, Jeff Rogers - Place 4 and Steve Keenum- Place 5.

REORGANIZATION OF BOARD

Jeff Rogers nominated Steve Keenum for President of the Board. There being no further nominations, Darrell Moore made a motion that nominations cease and Steve Keenum be elected by acclamation. Mark McClellan seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

The floor was opened for nominations for Vice President. Jeff Rogers nominated Darrell Moore as Vice President. Jeff Rogers made a motion that nominations cease and Darrell Moore be elected by acclamation. Stephen Lowry seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

Nominations were opened for Secretary. Jeff Rogers nominated Stephen Lowry. There being no further nominations, Darrell Moore made a motion that nominations cease and Stephen

SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES JUNE 9, 2014 PAGE TWO

Lowry be elected by acclamation. Mark McClellan seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

The minutes of the May 12, 2014 meeting were read and approved as presented.

CONSENT AGENDA

Jeff Rogers made a motion to approve the consent agenda. The motion was seconded by Darrell Moore.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

ELECT TASB
VOTING DELEGATE

By consensus of the board, Mike Awtry was selected as voting delegate and Stephen Lowry will serve as alternate to the TASB Convention in September 2014.

CONSIDER APPROVAL
OF 2014-15 TAYLOR
COUNTY LEARNING
CENTER MOU

A motion was made by Stephen Lowry to approve the 2014-15 Taylor County Learning Center Memorandum of Understanding. Mark McClellan seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

INFORMATION ITEMS

Other items discussed but no action taken included: Final ADA report, Class size reduction report, Summer board meetings & workshops, Construction update, TASB Convention-Dallas, and 2014 STAAR Test results, and Parent/Staff surveys.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

The Board went into executive session under the authority of Article 6242-17, Section 2, Revised Civil Statutes of Texas and Education Code 16.176 from 7:15 P.M. to 7:43 P.M. to attend to personnel matters and employee benefits.

PERSONNEL RECOMMENDATIONS

A motion was made by Stephen Lowry and seconded by Mark McClellan to employ Brent Abilez, Mark Butz, Shay Cox, Jackelyn Evatt, Jennifer Richardson, Rebecca Roberts, Staci Tennyson, and Kaitlin Thaxton on a one-year contract for 10 months for the 2014-15 school year; subject to assignment.

SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES JUNE 9, 2014 PAGE THREE

Board employ Will Brewer on a one-year contract for 12 months for the 2014-15 school year; subject to assignment.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

OFFICIAL ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to discuss, a motion was made by Stephen Lowry and seconded by Darrell Moore to adjourn. Official time was 7:44 P.M.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

Date	_	
	President	
	Secretary	