AT A REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, at 6:00 P.M., June 17, 2008, with the following members:

Present: Absent:

Fay Batch
Ray Beaty DC
Carol Gregg
Dr. Donnie Norwood
Tom Pace
Dr. Donna Smith
Yollie Wilkins

School Officials: Hector Mendez, Dr. Steve Brown, David Finley, Leon Fuller, Irene

Granado, Wendy Hines, Brian Moersch, Tonya Tillman, Gilbert

Vasquez

Others: Jeff Daniels, Dorrian McKnight, Shaina Hudson, Todd Vesely, Ron

Leach, Pete Frankson, Janet Baker, Elaine Marsilio, Pam Harper, Tommie Robinson, Tonya Houston, Mariann Bagley, Marsha Dry, Glenn DeMoss, Chuck Isner, John Wilkins, Michael Adkins, Al

Harris, Mike Atkins, Ann Suiter, Nelda Loya

**Meeting Called to Order:** Carol Gregg, Board President, called the Board of Trustees Meeting to order

of Trustees Meeting to order.

20240 Pledges of Allegiance to the United States and Texas Flags: The

Pledges of Allegiance to the United States and Texas Flags were led by

Dorrian McKnight and Shaina Hudson.

**20241 Invocation:** Dr. Donnie Norwood, Board member, gave the invocation.

<u>20242</u> <u>Special Presentations</u>:

Jeff Daniels Optimist Club Law Enforcement Officer of the Year –

ECISD Police Officer Jeff Daniels was recognized for having received the Optimist Club Law Enforcement Officer of the Year Award.

#### Odessa High School softball team -

The following OHS softball team members were recognized for their record of 33 wins and a first-ever trip to the state tournament in Austin, TX.:

Stephanie Graham - Head Coach Rachel Pena - Assistant Coach

#### **Team Members:**

Hillary Phillips
Rosie Lopez
Samantha Martinez
Amber Stevens
Francine Humphrey
Kristy Smith
Chelsey Walters
Courtney Cernoch
Laci Sanchez
Kendra Dees
Bailea Nimmons
Erica Armendarez
Reagan Paquette
Karena Quiroz
Keely Wharton

# Permian High School boys' gymnastics team -

The following Permian High School gymnastics team members were recognized for making it to the state meet:

## **Todd Vesley - Head Coach**

### Gymnasts -

Mia Hignojos Hailey Stevens Letitia Medrano D'Andra Levario

Dylan Huddleston

Giovanni Espino

**Dustin Fowler** 

Matt LeBlanc

Riley Murphy

Micah Tripp

Mathew Martinez

Ryan Pres

Camrvn Hammit

David Leuthold

- **<u>Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law:</u>** Carol Gregg, Board President, verified that the provisions of Texas Government Code Section 551.001 had been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.
- **20244** Approval of Consent Agenda: Moved by Smith, seconded by Pace that the following Consent Agenda be approved:
  - 1. Superintendent's Agenda

2. Minutes of Meeting

May 20, 2008 - Special

May 20, 2008 - Special

May 20, 2008 – Regular

May 21, 2008 – Special

May 29, 2008 - Special

- 3. Bills for Payment
- 4. School Construction Report
- 5. Purchases Over \$250,000
- 6. Disposal of Surplus Equipment

Motion unanimously approved.

# **Request for Approval of Reorganization of Board of Trustees:** The following nominations for Board President were presented:

Carol Gregg – 6 votes

Carol Gregg received 6 out of 7 votes

The following nominations for Board Vice-President were presented:

Dr. Donna Smith - 6 votes

Dr. Donnie Norwood – 1 vote

Dr. Donna Smith received 6 out of 7 votes

Dr. Donnie Norwood received 1 out of 7 votes

The following nominations for Board Secretary were presented:

Fay Batch – 6 votes

Fay Batch received 6 out of 7 votes

The following will serve as 2008-2009 Board of Trustees Officers for the Ector County Independent School District:

President – Carol Gregg Vice-President – Dr. Donna Smith Secretary – Fay Batch

# 20246 Request for Approval of TASB Delegate and Alternate and Submission of Advocacy Position for 2008 TASB Delegate: Moved by Smith, seconded by Batch to approve Norwood as TASB Delegate for 2008-09 and Wilkins as Alternate.

Motion unanimously approved.

**Request for Approval of District Improvement Plan:** Moved by Smith, seconded by Norwood to approve the District Improvement Plan as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

20248 Request for Approval of Career and Technical Education Textbooks: Moved by Smith, seconded by Norwood to approve the Career and Technical Education Textbooks as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

Request for Approval of Board Policies: CFEA(Local) Payroll Procedures: Salary Deductions and Reductions CMD(Local) Equipment and Supplies Management: Instructional Materials Care and Accounting CQ(Local) Electronic Communication and Data Management: Moved by Pace, seconded by Batch to approve Board Policies; CFEA(Local), CMD(Local), and CQ(Local) as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

20250 Request for Approval of Board Policy DEA(Local) Compensation and Benefits: Salaries and Wages: Moved by Smith, seconded by Batch to approve Board Policy DEA(Local) as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

Closed Meeting - Personnel Matters - Section 551.074 of the Texas
Government Code (Recommendation to Hire Hays Elementary Magnet
School Principal, District Instructional Officer, District Athletic
Coordinator, and Channel 10 Manager, and Discussion of Routine
Personnel Report) [Board will deliberate the appointment,
employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal
of public employees of the District]: Carol Gregg, Board President,
convened the Board of Trustees in Executive Session at 6:38 PM.

Carol Gregg, Board President, stated the Board ended its Closed or Executive Session at 6:57 PM.

20252 Request for Approval to Hire Hays Elementary Magnet School Principal: Moved by Norwood, seconded by Batch to hire Jill Lankford as Hays Elementary Magnet School principal.

Motion unanimously approved.

**Request for Approval to Hire District Instructional Officer:** Moved by Batch, seconded by Pace to hire Janet Baker as District Instructional Officer.

Motion unanimously approved.

Carol Gregg

Request for Approval to Hire District Athletic Coordinator: Moved by 20254 Wilkins, seconded by Norwood to hire Todd Vesely as District Athletic Coordinator. Motion unanimously approved. Request for Approval to Hire Channel 10 Manager: Moved by Pace, <u>20255</u> seconded by Batch to hire Mike Barker as Channel 10 Manager. Motion unanimously approved. Approval of Routine Personnel Report: Moved by Smith, seconded by 20256 Norwood to approve the Routine Personnel Report as presented. Motion unanimously approved. Adjournment: Carol Gregg, Board President, adjourned the Board 20257 meeting at 6:54 P.M. **Board President Board Secretary** 

Fay Batch