Aransas Pass Independent School District

Minutes of the Regular Board Meeting on May 13, 2024

The Aransas Pass Independent School District Board of Trustees held a regular board meeting on May 13, 2024 in the boardroom located at 2300 McMullen Lane, Suite 600, Aransas Pass, Texas.

President, Wanese Butler; Vice President, John Mullenax; Secretary, Olivia Hill; Trustee, Victor Galvan; Trustee, David Rector; and Trustee, Terry Stansberry were present. Also present were Superintendent, Dr. Glenn Barnes; Assistant Superintendent, Wayne Bennett; Director of Curriculum, Heather Waugh-Hurta; Director of Business and Finance, Melinda Chapa; Special Program Director, Chris Johnson; Athletic Director, Justin Taylor; Aransas Pass High School Principal, Joshua Rombs; AC Blunt Middle School Principal, Elizabeth Ward; Charlie Marshall Elementary Principal, Rheanna Picarazzi; Faulk Elementary Principal, Jodie Algueseva; Robert D. Traylor, Managing Director of RBC Capital Markets; and other interested parties.

Absent was Trustee, Delfino Flores.

Opening Ceremonies

With a quorum established, President, Wanese Butler called the regular meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. Trustee, Terry Stansberry led the group in the pledges of allegiance to the Texas and United States flags. Trustee, David Rector delivered the invocation.

Public Testimony

At this time President, Wanese Butler opened the meeting for any member of the community who would like to address the board on matters concerning the district. There were none.

District Recognitions

The Panthers and Employees of the Month for May 2024 were recognized by the Board and presented a certificate on behalf of the Board by Vice President, John Mullenax.

Panther	of the	Month	for M	av 2024

Sebastian Juarez	Faulk		
Shelby Lozano	Charlie Marshall		
Jayden Techur	AC Blunt		
Casey Hagaman	APHS		
Employee of the Month for May 2024			
Jodie Algueseva	Faulk		
Teresa Reyes	Charlie Marshall		
Chelsea Smith	AC Blunt		
Dr. Liz Worley	APHS		
Barry Morgan	Administration		
Steve Cozart	Maintenance and Transportation		

The Board recognized the APHS Color Guard students for qualifying for State competition.

The Board recognized Coach Chris Bentley for being named the All South Texas Girls Basketball Coach of the Year and Coach Glen Hayes for being named the District 29-3A Boys Basketball Coach of the Year.

Robert D. Traylor, Managing Director of RBC Capital Markets presented options for a possible maintenance tax note to provide funding resources for the tilt wall and stadium lighting projects.

Fernando Quintanilla announced the 2024 Shrimporee King and Queen as Jacob Arola and Karina Quintanilla.

Athletic Director Coach Justin Taylor presented the status of the district's athletic department.

Teresa Morales, RN, presented the annual School Health Advisory Council (SHAC) report.

Special Programs Director Chris Johnson provided the annual special programs department presentation.

Superintendent's Report

Superintendent, Dr. Glenn Barnes shared the district's approval from TEA for the provisional designation application for the APHS P-TECH Health Science Academy as a provisional pathways in technology early college high school. Dr. Barnes also provided an update on the staffing survey conducted by TASB, an update on the district's construction and technology projects, an update on the balanced scorecard process, and on the district stakeholder surveys ongoing or planned. Director of Curriculum and Instruction, Heather Waugh-Hurta informed the Board of the grant providers for the Learning Acceleration Support Opportunities (LASO) Grant. Dr. Barnes shared the attendance and enrollment reports from April 5 through May 9, and the district's enrollment on the Snapshot date, and the average ADA and attendance from August 14, 2023 through May 9, 2024. Dr. Barnes also shared the calendar of upcoming events. The Board discussed the potential dates for budget workshops in June and July.

Financial Reports

Information was shared with the Board regarding the accounts payable, budget status and investment, tax collections, and ESSER expenditures reports for April 2024, and the tax collection report from March 2024. There was no update to provide on the FEMA projects.

Consent Agenda

The items included on the consent agenda for consideration included the minutes of the April 8, 2024 Regular Board Meeting and the April 15, 2024 Special Board Meeting. Trustee, Terry Stansberry moved to approve the consent agenda item. Trustee, David Rector seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Board Updates

President, Wanese Butler provided an update regarding the TASA/TASB Study Group and the Coastal Bend Public Education Advocacy Network meeting.

Action Agenda

The proposals for the serving line and dish machine at Charlie Marshall Elementary were provided for consideration. Secretary, Olivia Hill moved to approve the purchase of a serving line and dish equipment from Jean Restaurant supply for the Charlie Marshall Elementary Child Nutrition Department. Trustee, Victor Galvan seconded the motion. Motion passed.

The textbook selection committee's recommendation for science curriculum was provided for consideration. Vice President, John Mullenax moved to approve the recommended instructional materials adoption, K-12 McGraw Hill, for K-12 science curriculum. Secretary, Olivia Hill seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Discussion

At this time, President, Wanese Butler opened discussion for topics for future meetings. There was none.

President, Wanese Butler closed the open meeting at 9:18 p.m. and stated that the board would convene in executive session as authorized by the Texas Open Meetings Act, Texas Government Code 551.001 et seq., concerning any and all purposes permitted by the act.

- Section 551.074: Personnel
 - Contract Recommendation
 - New Hire Instructional Coach (Grant Funded Position)
 - New Hire Faulk Elementary Principal
 - Resignations
 - Information New Hires
 - Staffing Update
 - Superintendent and Team of Eight Performance Check-In Feedback on Transition and 1st Six Months

• Section 551.0821 Personally Identifiable Information about Public School Students The board ended the closed session at 10:29 p.m., and reconvened in open session.

Trustee, David Rector moved to approve the contract recommended by administration. Vice President, John Mullenax seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Vice President, John Mullenax moved to approve the instructional coach new hire as presented by administration. Secretary, Olivia Hill seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Secretary, Olivia Hill moved to approve the candidate for the Faulk Elementary principal position. Trustee, David Rector seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Vice President, John Mullenax moved to approve the resignations as discussed in executive session. Secretary, Olivia Hill seconded the motion. Motion passed.

There being no further business before the board, President, Wanese Butler adjourned the meeting at 10:31 p.m.