BOARD OF EDUCATION LULING INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

Special Meeting – May 12, 2025 – 5:00PM

I. <u>Members Present</u>: President Keith Conley, Vice President Winston Miles (arrived at 5:13pm), Secretary Bubba Damon, Joann Garza-Mayberry, Laura Murray, Seth Powell,

Jason Rios

II. Members Absent:

III. School Officials Present: Superintendent Erin Warren

Assistant Superintendent Amy Shields

Director of Human Resources Susan Guzman

Director of Assessment & Accountability Errin Jennings Director of Special Programs, Kimberly Berry-Corie

High School Principal Joseph Alvarez Junior High Principal Kelli Johnson Elementary Principal Kelly Meshell

High School Assistant Principal Kipp Chesnutt

Technology – Thomas Miller Recording Clerk - Lisa Patterson

Guests: Rios Family, Murray Family, Garza-Mayberry Family, Numerous Parents,

Students & Community Members

IV. Presentations:

- A. Mrs. Warren recognized Errin Jennings as the May Spotlight Staff Member.
- **B.** Mrs. Warren recognized Rylee Rios, Josiah Puentes and Eilyn Rodriguez-Aleman as the May Spotlight Students.
- **C.** Outgoing Board Member Robert Scott was recognized and presented with an appreciation plaque for his service to Luling ISD.

V. Action Items:

- **A.** Consideration/Possible Approval of Resolution Regarding Pay During the 2025 Summer Term. Motion by Mr. Powell, seconded by Mr. Damon to approve the Resolution Regarding Employee Pay during the 2025 Summer Term. Motion passed. 6 for; 1 absent (Ferry absent).
- VI. <u>Canvass School Board Trustee Results from May 2, 2025 Election.</u> Motion by Mr. Conley, seconded by Mr. Damon to accept the results of the May 2, 2025 election, as presented by Caldwell County Elections Office. Motion passed. 6 for; 1 absent (Ferry absent).

Votes were recorded as follows:

Joann Garza-Mayberry – 358 Votes

Laura Murray – 257 Votes

Ashali Garcia – 21 Votes

Robert Lee Scott – 134 Votes

Jason Rios - 287 Votes

Brian Parmer – 28 Votes

New board members are Joann Garza-Mayberry, Laura Murray and Jason Rios

May 12, 2025 cont.

- VII. <u>Administer Certificate of Election and Statement of Elected Officer to Newly Elected Trustees.</u>
 Certificates of Election and Statement of Elected Officers were presented to each of the newly elected trustees.
- VIII. Oath of Office to New School Board Members. The oath of office was administered to Joann Garza-Mayberry, Laura Murray and Jason Rios by Notary Public, Lisa Patterson.
 - IX. Reorganization of School Board

*Mr. Damon nominated Keith Conley for President, seconded by Mr. Powell.

Nominations ceased.

All members were in favor of Keith Conley for President

*Mr. Rios nominated Glenn Miles for Vice-President, seconded by Mr. Powell.

Nominations ceased.

All members were in favor of Glenn Miles for Vice-President

*Mr. Powell nominated Bubba Damon for Secretary, seconded by Mr. Rios.

Nominations ceased.

All members were in favor of Bubba Damon for Secretary

X.	Adjournment: There being no further busi adjourn. Motion carried unanimously.		usiness, Mr. Damon moved, seconded by Mr	r. Rios to
Ī	Keith Conley, Pre	sident	Bubba Damon, Secretary	