MINUTES OF A SPECIAL BOARD MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION SCHOOL DISTRICT 152, COOK COUNTY, ILLINOIS TUESDAY, OCTOBER 25, 2016 AT THE ADMINISTRATIVE CENTER – 16001 LINCOLN AVENUE HARVEY, ILLINOIS, AT 5:00 P.M.

The Special Board Meeting of the Board of Education was called to order by the President, Gloria Johnson, at 5:00 p.m. on Tuesday, October 25, 2016. CALL TO ORDER

ROLL CALL

The following were present:

PRESENT: Ms. B. Johnson, Ms. Rogers, Ms. Hawkins, Dr. McCaskill, Ms. F. Johnson, Mr. Rogers was present via telephone conference call, and Ms. G. Johnson.

ABSENT: None

Other School Officials in attendance were:

PRESENT: Dr. Sonya Whitaker Superintendent of School Dr. Quintella Bounds Director of Special Services

Everyone stood for the Pledge of Allegiance.

President Johnson welcomed everyone out to the Special School Board Meeting.

A motion was made by Ms. Rogers and seconded by Dr. McCaskill to approve the Agenda. Roll Call vote.

AYE: Ms. Rogers, Ms. B. Johnson Ms. Hawkins, Dr. McCaskill, Ms. F. Johnson, Mr. Rogers (via telephone conference), Ms. G. Johnson NAY: None ABSENT: None

7 ayes – Motion carried.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

AGENDA APPROVED A motion was made by Dr. McCaskill and seconded by Ms. F. Johnson to go into executive session at 5:05 p.m. to discuss the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employee(s) of the public body or legal counsel for the public body, including hearing testimony on a complaint lodged against an employee of the public body or against legal counsel for the public body to determine its validity, 5ILC 120/2 (c) (1) (3). Roll call vote.

AYE: Mr. Rogers (via telephone conference), Ms. B. Johnson, Dr. McCaskill, Ms. Hawkins, Ms. F. Johnson, Ms. Rogers, Ms. G. Johnson NAY: None

ABSENT: None 7 ayes – Motion carried.

A motion was made by Ms. B. Johnson and seconded by Dr. McCaskill to return from executive session at 7:17 p.m.

Roll call vote.

AYE: Ms. B. Johnson, Mr. Rogers (via telephone conference), Dr. McCaskill, Ms. Hawkins Ms. Rogers, Ms. F. Johnson, Ms. G. Johnson
NAY: None
ABSENT: None

7 ayes – Motion carried

A motion was made by Dr. McCaskill and seconded by Ms. F. Johnson to approve the appointment of Ms. Kathleen Carpenter as Interim Business Manager. Roll call vote.

AYE: Ms. Rogers, Mr. Rogers (via telephone conference), Dr. McCaskill, Ms. Hawkins, Ms. F. Johnson, Ms. B. Johnson, Ms. G. Johnson
NAY: None

7 ayes - Motion carried.

GO INTO EXECUTIVE SESSION APPROVED

RETURN FROM EXECUTIVE SESSION APPROVED

INTERIM BUSINESS MANAGER APPROVED A motion was made by Dr. McCaskill and seconded by Ms. F. Johnson to approve ERATE Contract Services relevant to ERATE Funding.

Roll call vote:

AYE: Ms. B. Johnson, Dr. McCaskill, Ms. F. Johnson

NAY: Mr. Rogers (via telephone conference), Ms. Rogers, Ms. Hawkins, Ms. G. Johnson

3 ayes

4 nays- Motion failed.

A motion was made by Dr. McCaskill and seconded by Ms. B. Johnson to approve the appointment of an Energy Saving Contractor. Roll call vote: AYE: Ms. F. Johnson, Dr. McCaskill, Ms. B. Johnson, Ms. G. Johnson ABSTAIN: Ms. Rogers NAY: Mr. Rogers (via telephone conference), Ms. Hawkins

4 ayes

1 abstention

2 nays – Motion carried.

A motion was made by Ms. B. Johnson and seconded by Ms. Rogers to approve the appointment of Gabriel Johnson, District Wide Maintenance employee, effective

October 26, 2016. Roll call vote:

- AYE: Ms. Rogers, Ms. F. Johnson, Ms. Hawkins, Dr. McCaskill, Ms. B. Johnson, Ms. G. Johnson
- NAY: Mr. Rogers (via telephone conference)

President Johnson stated the next Special Board Meeting will be held on Monday, October 31, 2016, at 5:00 p.m. at the Administration Center. ERATE CONTRACT SERVICES FAILED

ENERGY SAVINGS CONTRACTOR APPROVED

APPOINTMENT APPROVED

SPECIAL BOARD MEETING October 31, 2016 A motion was made by Ms. F. Johnson ADJOURNMENT and seconded by Ms. B. Johnson to adjourn at the Special Board Meeting, Tuesday, October 25, 2016 at 7:22 p.m. Roll call vote. AYE: Ms. Rogers, Mr. Rogers (via telephone conference), Dr. McCaskill, Ms. B. Johnson, Ms. Hawkins, Ms. F. Johnson, Ms. G. Johnson NAY: None 7 ayes - Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted, Secretary

Approved President