AT A SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD IN CONFERENCE ROOMS A&B AT THE ADMINISTRATION BUILDING, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, at 5:30 p.m., August 26, 2009, with the following members:

Present: Absent:

Fay Batch
Ray Beaty, DC
Carol Gregg
Dr. Donnie Norwood
Tom Pace
Dr. Donna C. Smith
Yollie Wilkins

School Officials: Hector Mendez, Janet Baker, Shawn Bell, Dr. Steve Brown, David

Finley, Leon Fuller, Wendy Hines, Brian Moersch, Randy Talley,

Tonya Tillman, Gilbert Vasquez

Others: Rebecca Mull, Donna Ziriax, Conrad Turner, Karen McCord, David

Harwell, Joyce McCarty, Jill Scaff, Jerry Carroll, Matt McGowan, Robert & Sylvia Fowler, Bud & Kay Scroggins, Jan Cooksey, Lety Martinez, Deanna Fowler, Sgt. Pete Frankson, Chuck Isner, Amanda Prado, Anita Franks, David Hemond, Lt. Mark Rowden, Michael Adkins, Mike Barker, Al Harris, Mike Atkins, Mary Franco,

Nelda Loya

**<u>Meeting Called to Order</u>**: Dr. Donna Smith, Board President, called the Board of Trustees Special Meeting to order.

<u>Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law:</u> Dr. Donna Smith, Board President, verified that the provisions of Section 551.001 of the Texas Government Code have been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.

**20655** Approval of Purchases Over \$250,000: Moved by Gregg, seconded by Pace to approve Purchases Over \$250,000 as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

Request for Approval of Interlocal Agreement Between ECISD and the Texas Association of Public Educators Self-Insurance League for Certain Insurance Coverages and Services: Moved by Gregg, seconded by Norwood to approve the Interlocal Agreement Between ECISD and the Texas Association of Public Educators Self-Insurance League for Certain Insurance Coverages and Services, as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

## Public Hearing to Discuss Proposed 2009-2010 Budget and Tax Rate: 20657

A Public Hearing was held for the proposed 2009-2010 Budget and Tax Rate.

The following citizens addressed the Board:

**Conrad Turner** 3984 Lakeside Drive

Jill Scaff 1509 Mesa

Robert Fowler 371 N. Rita Ave.

Sylvia Fowler 371 N. Rita Ave.

Chuck Isner – TSTA 1102 Maple Ave.

## Request for Approval of Adoption of 2009-2010 Official Budget: 20658

Moved by Pace, seconded by Gregg to approve the Adoption of 2009-2010 Official Budget as presented.

For: Against:

Fay Batch Ray Beaty, DC

Carol Grega

Dr. Donnie Norwood

Tom Pace

Dr. Donna C. Smith

Yollie Wilkins

Motion carried.

## Request for Approval of 2009-2010 Tax Rate: Moved by Gregg, 20659

seconded by Norwood to adopt the M&O Tax Rate of \$1.04.

Motion unanimously approved.

Moved by Gregg, seconded by Batch to adopt the I&S Tax Rate \$0.0950.

For: Against:

Fay Batch Ray Beaty, DC

Carol Gregg

## Special Board Meeting August 26, 2009

Dr. Donnie Norwood Tom Pace Dr. Donna C. Smith Yollie Wilkins

Motion carried.

**20660** Adjournment: Dr. Donna Smith, Board President, adjourned the Board of Trustees Special meeting at 6:47 p.m.

Board President	Board Secretary
Dr. Donna Smith	Yollie Wilkins