AT A SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, 6:30 P.M., November 11, 2003, with the following members:

Present: Delma Abalos **Absent:** Floy Hinson

Paula Ahders Phil Fouche Carol Gregg Dr. Bill Ruthe

Dr. Bill Rutherford Tommy Salmon

School Officials: Roy C. Benavides, Ed.D., Alma Guerrero, Hector Mendez, Larry

Edwards, Wendell Sollis, Bruce Revell, Raymond Starnes, David Finley,

Sue Ferguson, Dr. Donnie Norwood, Gay Jenkins, Charles Nail

Others: Mike Atkins, Raechel Leone, Cynthia Bogle, Linda Quiroz, Tryon Lewis,

Trudy Lewis, Carol Fleming, Barbara Scribner, Adela Vasquez, Nelda

Guerra

<u>Meeting Called to Order:</u> Delma Abalos, Board President, called the Board

Meeting to order.

<u>18490</u> <u>Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law:</u> Delma Abalos, Board

President, verified that the provisions of Texas Government Code Section

551.001 had been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.

18491 Request for Approval of Construction Bids for Cameron Elementary School:

Moved by Rutherford, seconded by Fouche to approve the Construction Bids for Cameron Elementary School as presented. *Paula Ahders, Board Member, was*

absent for this portion of the Board meeting.

Motion unanimously approved.

18492 AP Program & AP Survey Results: Hector Mendez, Assistant Superintendent

for Instruction and Elementary Administration, and Carol Fleming, Advanced Academic Services Coordinator, presented a report on the Advanced Placement Program along with the AP survey results. *Paula Ahders, Board Member, was*

present for this portion and remainder of Board meeting.

18493 <u>Early Literacy:</u> Linda Quiroz, Elementary Curriculum Liaison, and Barbara

Scribner, consultant, presented an overview of the Early Literacy program.

<u> 18494</u>	Adjournment: Delma Abalos	, Board President, adjourned the Board meeting at
	8:20 p.m.	
	Board President	Board Secretary
	Delma J. Abalos	Floy B. Hinson