Minutes of Special Meeting

The Board of Trustees Brownwood Independent School District

A Special Meeting of the Board of Trustees of Brownwood Independent School District was held Thursday, August 27, 2020 beginning at 12:15 p.m. at the Central Administration Office located at 2707 Southside Drive. The meeting was called to order by Michael Cloy, Board President. The invocation was given by Roderick Jones, Sr.

PRESENT:

Mr. Michael Cloy, President Mr. Roderick Jones, Sr., Vice President Dr. Lisa Fowler, Secretary Mr. Codie Smith, Member Mr. Tim Jacobs, Member Mr. Eric Evans, Member Mrs. Diane Thompson, Member

OTHERS PRESENT:

Dr. Joe Young, Superintendent Mrs. Liesa Land, Deputy Superintendent Mr. Mitch Moore, Assistant Superintendent Mr. Charles Musgrove, Community Relations Coord. Mrs. Karen Dempsey, Exec. Asst. to the Superintendent

Others present: Vick Orlando – BISD, Rex & Mariann Tackett – Wendlee Broadcasting, Randy Turner, Carl Wayne, and Starr Goins – KOXE, and Steve Nash – Brownwood Bulletin.

Trustee Eric Evans made a motion to approve the 2020-2021 general fund budget in the amount of \$32,843,274, the school nutrition fund budget in the amount of \$1,929,627, and the debt service fund budget in the amount of \$2,309,600; Trustee Roderick Jones seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Trustee Tim Jacobs made a motion to approve the 2020-2021 maintenance and operations tax rate of \$0.9664; Trustee Diane Thompson seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Trustee Codie Smith made a motion to approve the 2020-2021 interest and sinking tax rate of \$0.1451; Trustee Lisa Fowler seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Trustee Tim Jacobs made a motion to certify the election of Diane Thompson – Place 2, Eric Evans – Place 4, and Codie Smith – Place 5 as Trustees representing Single member districts by method of unopposed candidates as provided for in Election Code Chapter 1, Section 2.052, as presented. Trustee Roderick Jones seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Trustee Tim Jacobs made a motion to cancel the School Board Trustee election scheduled for November 3, 2020 based upon the fact that the Superintendent's Office has certified all candidates (Diane Thompson – Place 2, Eric Evans – Place 4, and Codie Smith – Place 5) are unopposed. Roderick Jones seconded the motion; the motion passed unanimously.

Trustee Eric Evans made a motion to approve the consent agenda, as presented. Trustee Codie Smith seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

The meeting adjourned at 12:22 p.m.

Michael Cloy President Dr. Lisa Fowler Secretary