REGULAR MEETING OF BOARD OF EDUCATION Stephenville, Texas

August 19, 2019

The Stephenville Independent School District Board of Education met in regular session at 5:30 pm in the Bond Auditorium of the Administration Building, August 19, 2019 with the following members present:

President Dr. Ann Calahan	Dr. Robert Barberee
Dr. Ed Dittfurth	Mrs. Keri Vanden Berge-arrived at 5:44 pm
Secretary Mrs. Sherrie Evans	Mr. Cole Gilliam Parks–arrived at 5:46 pm

Members Absent: Mr. Scott E. Osman

School Personnel Present: Superintendent Mr. Matt Underwood, Ms. Deborah Hummel, Ms. Kathy Hampton, Mrs. Teri Hodges, Mr. Shelby Womack, Mrs. Rachel Kammerer, Mr. Keith Starnes, Mrs. Jennifer Salyards, Mrs. Stephanie Traweek, and Mrs. Norma Cervetto.

Others Present: Ms. Ashley Inge – Stephenville Empire-Tribune and Mr. Joshua Cogburn - Huckabee and Associates.

Invocation

The Invocation was provided by Dr. Dittfurth.

Recited U.S. and Texas Pledges of Allegiance

The U.S. and Texas Pledges of Allegiance were led by Dr. Barberee.

I. Call to Order and Announce Quorum Present

President Calahan called the meeting to order and announced a quorum present.

II. Approval of Consent Agenda

The motion was made by Mrs. Evans and seconded by Dr. Barberee to approve the Consent Agenda including:

-Minutes: July 15, 2019 – Regular Meeting
-Minutes: July 29, 2019 – Called Meeting
-Minutes: August 14, 2019 – Called Meeting
-Review of Monthly Bills
-Review of additional vendors
-Monthly Financial Statements – Ms. Debbie Hummel

All members voted in favor of the motion. The motion carried.

III. <u>Heard Report and Overview of Proposed 2019-2020 Budget and</u> <u>Proposed 2019-2020 Tax Rate</u>

Ms. Hummel presented a report and overview of the Proposed 2019-2020 Budget and the Proposed 2019-2020 Tax Rate.

IV. <u>Conducted Required Public Hearing on the Proposed 2019-2020 Budget and</u> <u>Proposed 2019-2020 Tax Rate</u>

President Calahan opened the floor for the required public hearing on the Proposed 2019-2020 Budget and Proposed 2019-2020 Tax Rate for any patron wishing to speak. No one spoke. The hearing was closed.

V. Approval of ESC XI Contract for 2019-2020

The motion was made by Mrs. Evans and seconded by Dr. Dittfurth to approve the ESC XI Contract for 2019-2020.

All members voted in favor of the motion. The motion carried.

VI. Approval of Texpool and Ameritrade Resolutions

The motion was made by Dr. Dittfurth and seconded by Mrs. Vanden Berge to approve the Texpool and Ameritrade Resolutions.

All members voted in favor of the motion. The motion carried.

VII. <u>Approval of Proposal for Security Consulting Services – Step 4 Planning</u> <u>Facilitation</u>

The motion was made by Dr. Dittfurth and seconded by Dr. Barberee to accept the proposal for Security Consulting Services – Step 4 Planning Facilitation from Crux Technology and Security Solutions, Inc.

All members voted in favor of the motion. The motion carried.

VIII. 2018 Bond Program Update and Virtual Tour

Mr. Joshua Cogburn with Huckabee presented an update on the 2018 Bond Program and a virtual tour.

IX. Approval of TASB Board of Director Endorsement

The motion was made by Dr. Dittfurth and seconded by Mrs. Evans to endorse Mr. John Finnell for the TASB Board of Directors for Region XI.

The following members voted in favor of the motion: Dr. Barberee, Mrs. Evans, Mrs. Vanden Berge, Dr. Calahan, and Dr. Dittfurth.

The following member abstained: Mr. Parks

The motion carried.

X. Second reading and approval of TASB Policies DH (L)-X and GKA (L)-A to B

The motion was made by Mr. Parks and seconded by Dr. Dittfurth to approve TASB Policies DH (L)-X and GKA (L)-A to B.

All members voted in favor of the motion. The motion carried.

XI. <u>Heard Superintendent's Report including:</u>

-Announcement of FIRST Ratings for SISD
-2019 State Accountability Ratings
-MOU: Stephenville ISD and Anything's Paws-ible
-TSU Memorial Stadium Clear Bag Policy

XII. Closed Session

President Calahan announced to those present that the Board would adjourn into Closed Session pursuant to the provisions of Section 551.071 through and/or 551.086 (Approximately: 6:27 pm)

 -Discuss Personnel Matters and/or Hear Complaints against Personnel (551.074)
 --Deliberate appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, Duties or discipline of contract and/or at-will employees
 -Discuss purchase, exchange, lease, or value of real property (551.072)

XIII. Open Session

The Board reconvened to Open Session (Approximately: 6:52 pm)

XIV. <u>Personnel</u>

The motion was made by Mrs. Evans and seconded by Dr. Dittfurth to approve the following personnel recommendations:

Resignations:

<u>Kim Smith</u> – Teacher – Hook Elementary Effective: May 31, 2019

<u>Jennifer Ryan</u> – Director of Special Programs – SISD Effective: July 31, 2019

<u>Stephanie Atchley</u> – Director of Special Education – SISD Effective: August 30, 2019

Employment:

<u>Jessica Kribbs</u> – Teacher – Central Elementary Effective: August 19, 2019

<u>Cindi Castillo</u> – Bilingual Teacher – Chamberlin Elementary Effective: August 12, 2019

<u>Jill Northcutt</u> – Teacher – Hook Elementary Effective: August 12, 2019

<u>Mike Copeland</u> – Teacher – Gilbert Intermediate Effective: August 12, 2019 (Changed from 2 hours to 4 hours)

<u>Gregory Copeland</u> – Band Teacher – Henderson Jr. High Effective: August 12, 2019 (Changed from Part-Time to Full-Time)

<u>Wesley Hooks</u> – Teacher/Coach – Henderson Jr. High Effective: August 12, 2019

<u>Ian Troub</u> – Teacher – Henderson Jr. High Effective: August 12, 2019

<u>Lindsey Cavener-Sumner</u> – Teacher – Henderson Jr. High Effective: August 12, 2019

<u>Sonja Reagan</u> – Teacher/Coach – Henderson Jr. High Effective: August 12, 2019

<u>Kreg Kimple</u> – Teacher – Stephenville High School Effective: August 12, 2019 (Part-Time)

<u>Penny Hampton</u> – Interim Director of Special Education – SISD Effective: August 1, 2019

All members voted in favor of the motion. The motion carried.

XV. <u>Adjourn</u>

No further business appearing before the board, the meeting adjourned.

ATTEST: ____

CORRECT: ____

President

Secretary