DRAFT OFFICIAL PROCEEDINGS OF THE

ALPENA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

Organizational Board Meeting Minutes January 2, 2025 - 1:00 p.m. Howard Male Conference Room

The Alpena County Board of Commissioners met in an organizational session in the Howard Male Conference Room on January 2, 2025, at 1:00 p.m. The meeting was called to order by County Clerk Keri Bertrand who called for the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America.

ROLL CALL

Roll was called with the following Commissioners present: Lucille Bray, District #3; Bill Peterson, District #4; Brenda Fournier, District #5; Todd Britton, District #6; Travis Konarzewski, District #7 and John Kozlowski, District #8. Commissioner William LaHaie, District #1 arrived at 1:18 p.m.

AGENDA

Moved by Commissioner Fournier and supported by Commissioner Konarzewski to adopt the agenda with the following changes: 1) Change the Election of Chairman by Written Vote to Roll Call Vote and remove the Motion to Destroy Ballots. Motion carried.

PUBLIC COMMENT

None.

NOMINATIONS FOR CHAIRMAN OF THE BOARD FOR 2025

Commissioner Bill Peterson nominated Commissioner John Kozlowski for Chairman of the Board with support by Commissioner Bray. Moved by Commissioner Konarzewski and supported by Commissioner Peterson to close the nominations and choose Commissioner Kozlowski for Chairman. Roll call vote was taken: AYES: Commissioners Bray, Peterson, Fournier, Britton, Konarzewski, and Kozlowski. NAYS: None. Commissioner LaHaie, excused. Motion carried.

Commissioner Kozlowski was declared Chairman of the Board for 2025 and assumed leadership of the meeting.

Clerk Bertrand swore in the following Commissioners: Lucille Bray, District #3; Bill Peterson, District #4; Brenda Fournier, District #5; Todd Britton, District #6; Travis Konarzewski, District #7 and John Kozlowski, District #8.

NOMINATIONS FOR VICE-CHAIRMAN FOR 2025

Commissioner Bray nominated Commissioner Peterson for Vice-Chairman of the Board. Nominations closed. Moved by Commissioner Konarzewski and supported by Commissioner Britton to

approve Commissioner Peterson as Vice-Chairman. Roll call vote was taken: AYES: Commissioners Bray, Peterson, Fournier, Britton, Konarzewski, and Kozlowski. NAYS: None. Commissioner LaHaie, excused. Motion carried.

Commissioner Peterson was declared Vice-Chairman of the Board for 2025.

VARIOUS BOARD APPOINTMENTS & STANDING COMMITTEES FOR 2025

Chairman Kozlowski presented the recommendations for the Various Board Appointments and Standing Committees for 2025. No discussion was made.

2025 RULES OF ORDER

Chairman Kozlowski presented the 2025 Rules of Order for approval. Moved by Commissioner Peterson and supported by Commissioner Britton to adopt the Rules of Order for 2025 for the Board of Commissioners as presented. Motion carried.

ACTION ITEM #3: Recommendation to adopt Rules of Order for the Board of Commissioners for 2025 as presented.

2025 PER DIEM POLICY AND MILEAGE RATE

Chairman Kozlowski presented the 2025 Per Diem Policy and Mileage Rate for approval. Moved by Commissioner Britton and supported by Commissioner Bray to adopt the 2025 Per Diem Policy and Mileage Rate as presented. Motion carried.

Discussion was made to keep Target as one of the board appointments.

ACTION ITEM #4: Recommendation to adopt the Per Diem Policy and Mileage Rate of \$.70 for 2025 as presented.

2025 COUNTY DEPOSITORIES

Chairman presented the 2025 County Depositories for approval. Moved by Commissioner Peterson and supported by Commissioner Bray to approve the 2025 County Depositories as presented. Motion carried.

ACTION ITEM #5: Recommendation that the County Depositories for 2025 be Huntington National Bank, PNC Financial Services Group, Nicolet National Bank, Flagstar Bank, PFM Asset Management LLC - GovMic, HPC Credit Union and Alpena Alcona Area Credit Union and that these depositories be authorized to accept deposits or withdrawals made by Treasurer Cebula or her designated deputies in the case of investments, certificates of deposit, or savings accounts, also to accept deposits and withdrawals on demand accounts (checking) by Treasurer Cebula or her designated deputies and Clerk Bertrand or her designated deputies (two signatures required).

RESOLUTION #25-01
Act 20 of the Public Acts of 1943

Treasurer

WHEREAS, Act 20 of the Public Acts of 1943, as amended, provides that the "... legislative or governing body of a county, city, village, township, or special assessment district, or an agency, board, or commission of a county, by resolutions, may authorize its Treasurer or other Chief Fiscal Officer to invest surplus funds belonging to and under the control of the political subdivision, special assessment district, or agency, board, or commission of a county per the Investment Policy for the County of Alpena as required by Public Act 20, of 1943 as amended.

WHEREAS, it is the intent of the County of Alpena to maximize its return on balances from time to time available in the various funds of the County of Alpena; and,

WHEREAS, it has been the past practice of the County of Alpena to have its Treasurer make immediate investment of available balances;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Treasurer be authorized and is hereby directed to invest the balances from time to time available in the various funds of the County of Alpena in accordance with Act 20 of the Public Act of 1943, as amended; and,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that all such investments heretofore made are hereby ratified and validated.

*Keri swore in Commissioner Bill LaHaie.

Moved by Commissioner Konarzewski and supported by Commissioner Britton to adopt Resolution #25-01 as presented. Motion carried.

2025 COUNTY FEE SCHEDULE

Chairman Kozlowski presented the 2025 Proposed County Fee Schedule for approval. Moved by Commissioner Britton and supported by Commissioner Konarzewski to adopt the 2025 Fee Schedule as presented. Motion carried.

ACTION ITEM #7: Recommendation to approve the 2025 Alpena County Fee Schedule as set by the County Board as presented.

PUBLIC COMMENT

None.

ADJOURNMENT

Moved by Commissioner Fournier and supported by Commissioner Britton to adjourn. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 1:23 p.m.

John Kozlowski, Chairman of the Board	

Keri Bertrand, County Clerk

