# Minutes State Board Meeting September 15, 2023

Present: Dr. Sarah Moore, Chair; Kathy Rollins, Vice-Chair; Adrienne Woods; Ken Bragg; Lisa Hunter; Randy Henderson; Jeff Wood, Leigh Keener, Capri Salaam, 2023 Arkansas Teacher of the Year, Jacob Olivia, ADE Secretary.

**Absent:** Steve Sutton

The Arkansas State Board of Education (State Board) met Friday, September 15, 2023. Dr. Sarah Moore called the meeting to order at 10:30 AM thanking Pine Bluff School District, the Pine Bluff Convention Center, and the City of Pine Bluff for hosting the State Board meeting, recognizing elected officials in attendance, followed by a moment of silence.

Dr. Jennifer Barbaree, Superintendent, Pine Bluff School District, welcomed the State Board of Education (State Board) to Pine Bluff and thanked Ms. Shirley Washington, Mayor of Pine Bluff and city council members for securing the Pine Bluff Convention Center for the State Board meeting. Additionally, Dr. Barbaree recognized the Pine Bluff limited authority board. The Pine Bluff High School Color Guard presented the colors; Ms. Courtney Reid and Ms. Casey Givens led in the Pledge of Allegiance; and Mr. Danny Johnson sang the National Anthem.

### **Changes to Agenda**

None

#### **Action Agenda**

#### V.1. Pine Bluff School District Review

V.1. was presented by Ms. Stacy Smith, Arkansas Department of Education (ADE); Ms. Sheila Whitlow, ADE Associate Deputy Commissioner, Office of Coordinated Support Services; Dr. Eric Saunders, ADE Associate Deputy Commissioner, District Fiscal Support; Dr. Jennifer Barbaree, Superintendent, Pine Bluff School District; and Dr. Sederick Rice, Pine Bluff Limited Authority Board. Mr. Andres Rhodes, ADE Chief Legal Counsel provided direction and clarification to the State Board.

Presentations on the review of Pine Bluff School District Level 5 District Support, evaluation, exit criteria for Level 5, fiscal distress, and progress were presented to the State Board.

Public Comments were made by:

Jacquelyn Gilbert Mr. Jesse Turner
 Ms. Charlene Wright Ms. Trammell Howell
 Mr. Julius Wright Ms. Rosalind Mouser
 Mr. Gregory Maddox Mr. John Finley
 Mr. Eugene Hunt Mr. Alfred Carroll

A motion to accept the proposed school board election service format presented to the State Board today, September 15, 2023, was made by Ms. Kathy Rollins.

Ms. Rollins amended her initial motion. A motion that we [State Board] find the [Pine Bluff School District] District has met the criteria to exit Level 5 Intensive Support, remove Level 5 classification, and allow the District to receive Level 4 Directed Support. We [State Board] also find the District has corrected all issues that caused the classification of fiscal distress and remove the District from fiscal distress classification; accept the Pine Bluff limited authority board's proposal for future board elections; and remove all limitations from the limited authority board and return full administration of the District to the local board was made by Ms. Kathy Rollins, seconded by Ms. Lisa Hunter.

A motion to amend the amended initial motion was made by Mr. Jeff Wood, seconded by Ms. Adrienne Woods.

A motion was made to amend the amended initial motion to direct the Pine Bluff School Board to adopt four (4)-year terms for the members of the board of directors and for them to draw lots for three (3) members to be elected in 2024, for four (4) members to be elected in 2026, and for them to be elected on even years thereafter was made by Mr. Jeff Wood, seconded by Ms. Adrienne Woods.

#### Roll Call - Amendment to Amended Initial Motion: Board Member Election

| Ms. Kathy Rollins   | No  |
|---------------------|-----|
| Ms. Adrienne Woods  | Yes |
| Ms. Lisa Hunter     | No  |
| Mr. Randy Henderson | No  |
| Mr. Jeff Wood       | Yes |
| Ms. Leigh Keener    | No  |
| Mr. Ken Bragg       | No  |
|                     |     |

After roll call, the amendment to the amended initial motion failed with a vote of 2 YES to 5 NO.

After the amendment to the amended initial motion failed, the State Board returned to the amended initial motion. After roll call, the amended initial motion unanimously passed with a vote of 7 YES to 0 NO.

#### **Roll Call – Amended Initial Motion**

| Ms. Kathy Rollins   | Yes |
|---------------------|-----|
| Ms. Adrienne Woods  | Yes |
| Ms. Lisa Hunter     | Yes |
| Mr. Randy Henderson | Yes |
| Mr. Jeff Wood       | Yes |
| Ms. Leigh Keener    | Yes |
| Mr. Ken Bragg       | Yes |

#### V.2. Request for One (1) Year Standards for Accreditation Waiver for Calico Rock

Item V.2. was presented by Dr. Matthew Sutherlin, Director, Standards and Systems Support.

Calico Rock is requesting a one (1) year Standards for Accreditation waiver for 1-A.5 Class Size for the 2023-2024 School Year. The request is to exceed the maximum number of students in fourth grade by one (1) student. The district has also requested to exceed the class average by three (3) students for third grade for a total of 25. However, the maximum for third grade is twenty-five (25) with an average of twenty-three (23) students.

A motion to approve the Accreditation Waiver for 1-A.5 Class Size for one year for Calico Rock School District was made by Mr. Randy Henderson, seconded by Ms. Lisa Hunter. The motion unanimously passed.

# V.3. Request for One (1) Year Standards for Accreditation Waiver for Mountainburg School District

Item V.3. was presented by Dr. Matthew Sutherlin, Director, Standards and Systems Support.

The Mountainburg School District is requesting a Standards for Accreditation waiver for the 2023-2024 school year for third grade. The third grade is over the maximum number of students by one (1) student for all classes and three (3) students for social studies and science.

A motion to approve the Standards for Accreditation Waiver for Mountainburg School District was made by Ms. Kathy Rollins, seconded by Ms. Lisa Hunter. The motion unanimously passed.

#### VII. Consent Agenda

- 1. Minutes Regular State Board Meeting, 08-10-23
- 2. 2023-2024 Embedded Courses
- 3. Report on Waivers to School Districts for Teachers Teaching Out of Area for Longer than Thirty (30) Days, Ark. Code Ann. § 6-17-309
- 4. Consideration of the Recommendation of the Professional Licensure Standards Board for Case 23-109 Ethan Wells
- 5. Consideration of the Recommendation of the Professional Licensure Standards Board for Case 23-117 Mackenzie Boatright
- 6. Consideration of the Recommendation of the Professional Licensure Standards Board for Case 23-131 Heather Hare
- 7. Consideration of the Charter Authorizing Panel Decision for AMS Schools Arkansas Open Enrollment Charter School Application
- 8. Consideration of the Charter Authorizing Panel Decision for Bentonville School for Advanced Studies Open Enrollment Charter School Application
- 9. Consideration of the Charter Panel Decision for Freedom Learning Academy New Open Enrollment Charter School Application

A motion to approve the Consent Agenda was made by Ms. Lisa Hunter, seconded by Mr. Randy Henderson. The motion unanimously passed.

## Adjournment

A motion to adjourn the State Board meeting was made by Ms. Adrienne Woods, seconded by Mr. Randy Henderson. The motion unanimously passed. Dr. Sarah Moore, Chair adjourned the State Board meeting at 2:53 PM.

| Minutes recorded by Angela Scaife.                      |  |
|---|--|
|   |  |
| Jacob Oliva, Secretary Arkansas Department of Education | Dr. Sarah Moore, Chair<br>State Board of Education |