

MINUTES LAKEVIEW INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT #2167 REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING

September 21, 2020

The regular meeting was called to order by Board Chair Jason Louwagie at 7:00 p.m.

Board members present: Jason M. Louwagie, Vicki Myers, Korey Herrick, Dan Louwagie, Tracy Sterner, Joel Timm, and Al Grube. Also present were Superintendent Chris Fenske, Principal Scott Hanson, and Principal Courtney Frie.

A motion was made by D. Louwagie & seconded by Timm to amend the agenda to include fall coaching contracts. Motion Carried.

Elementary Principal Frie reported on the following items:

- 1. Reopening Elementary Updates
 - a. Distance Learning
 - i. Mandatory vs. Choice
- 2. COVID Director Update
 - a. Decision Tree
 - b. Protocols
 - c. School Nurse
- 3. Curriculum Report
 - a. Data Days for Elementary in the planning
 - b. Testing for Elementary
 - c. No new curriculum initiatives at this time

Principal Hanson reported on the following items:

- 1. Re-Opening of School 2020
- 2. ACT/PSAT Tests
- 3. Title IX Webinar
- 4. REACH Team / Advisory
- 5. Senior Parking

Superintendent Fenske reported on the following items:

- 1. Enrollment
- 2. District Audit Update
- 3. Committee Meetings;
 - a. Crisis Team September 9
 - b. Technology September 15
- 4. Minnesota State High School League Finance Model for 2020-21
- 5. MDE Tax Levy Workshop September 16
- 6. Facilities Task Force Update
- 7. Sample Ballot for November 3 Board of Education Elections

The following items were discussed at the meeting:

- 1. Second Reading of Revised District Policy #522 Title IX
- 2. Possible 2021 Facilities Bond Special Election
- 3. Compensation for Fall Reopening Planning Done in Summer 2020

It was moved by D. Louwagie and seconded by Grube to approve the Consent Agenda which included the following:

- 1. Minutes of August 24, 2020 Regular Meeting
- 2. Payment of Bills Checks # 28945 29054
- 2020-21 Extra-Curricular Contracts Carmen Zupfer (Instrumental Music Director), Marcy Nuytten (SADD Advisor), Nicole Fischer (NHS/NJHS Advisor), Chris Sieling (Jr. & Sr. High Math Advisor), Karen Hartke (Elementary Math Team

Advisor & Jr./Sr. Knowledge Bowl), Phil Lalim (Livestream/Media Advisor), Amy Wymer (Prom Advisor), Brittany Johnson (FFA Advisor), Scott Hanson (Head Football), David Loe (Assistant Football), Erik Lundberg (Assistant Football), Tom Yahnka (Assistant Football), Shawn Myers (Assistant Football), Rich Sorbo (JH Football), Garrett Wee (JH Football), Stephanie Hennen (Head Volleyball), Kylie Hanson (JH Volleyball) Dawson Gniffke (JH Volleyball).

- Request for Advancement on Salary Schedule Angie Prokop (B.A.+15), Shana Anspach (B.A.+15), Michelle Kurowski (M.A.), Joan Foley (B.A.+45), Heather Rinke (B.A.+15), Lindsay Sabin (B.A.+15), Erin Geary (B.A.+15) and Bree Smith (B.A.+15). The Board and administration wish to extend congratulations to these teachers for their educational accomplishments.
- Request for Leave The Board approved the maternity leave requests for Danielle Benson (Special Education Teacher) and Emma Gregoire (Social Studies Teacher).

Motion carried unanimously.

It was moved by D. Louwagie and seconded by Grube to approve the Preliminary 2020 Payable 2021 Property Tax Levy for ISD #2167 for the "Maximum" amount. Motion carried unanimously.

It was moved by Grube and seconded by Timm to approve the Conducting of the Annual Truth & Taxation Hearing during the Regular December 21, 2020 Meeting. Motion carried unanimously.

It was moved by Myers and seconded by D. Louwagie to approve the Revised District Policy #522 – Title IX. Motion carried unanimously.

It was moved by Herrick and seconded by Myers to approve the Stipends for Fall 2020 Reopening Planning Time. Motion carried unanimously.

It was moved by D. Louwagie and seconded by Herrick to rescind the August 17th motion for Junior High volleyball and football seasons to allow seasons to begin September 28 to align with the High School season. Motion carried unanimously.

The next meeting is set for Monday, October 19, 2020 at 7:00 p.m.

A motion was made by Herrick and seconded by Timm to adjourn the meeting at 8:05 p.m. Motion carried unanimously.

School Board Clerk or Chair