DRAFT

Minutes of the June 22, 2020 - Regular School Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a regular session on June 22, 2020, at 5:00 p.m. at the Vonita White Administration Building, 200 S. Denton Tap Road, Coppell, Texas. The meeting was called to order by President Thom Hulme at 5:00 p.m.

Members present: Thom Hulme, President; and Nichole Bentley, Secretary

Members present via Skype: David Caviness, Vice President; Manish Sethi; Anthony Hill; Leigh Walker and Tracy Fisher (5:04 PM).

A quorum was present.

Notice of this meeting was posted on June 18, 2020 at 1:00 p.m.

Staff present: Brad Hunt, Superintendent; Carol Snowden, Administrative Assistant; Diana Sircar; Angela Brown; Kristen Streeter; Dr. Greg Axelson; Amanda Simpson and James Hollaway.

Staff present via Skype: Dr. Angie Applegate; Susie Williams, Debbie Youngs, Naveen Boppana Stephen McGilvray, and Adam Bennett

DISTRICT HIGHLIGHTS

Superintendent Hunt provided the following District Highlights in Coppell ISD:

- Congratulations CISD Retirees
- CISD Elementary Schools Virtual 5K and Coppell Chamber of Commerce Business Drive Through Expo May 23, 2020
- City of Coppell senior recognition signs
- City and state proclamations recognizing Class of 2020
- Virtual and in-person graduations for Coppell High School and New Tech High @Coppell

AWARDS

- 30 Year Service Award Recipients for Cyndi Carlton, Mockingbird Elementary; Tammy Mandel, Denton Creek Elementary; Bill Parker, Coppell High School and Alex Zuniga, Service Center
- 35 Year Service Award Laura Springer, Coppell High School

Manish Sethi gave the Invocation and led the Pledge.

DRAFT

OPEN FORUM

The public was provided the opportunity to address the board in Open Forum either remotely or in person. The following individuals addressed the Board of Trustees:

Dr. Sarah Wingfield regarding the use of masks by staff and students to help prevent the spread of COVID-19 when returning in the fall.

Mr. Eric Hanson regarding Coppell ISD's preparations for staff and learners' return to in-person instruction.

DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS – SUPERINTENDENT

Dr. Brad Hunt, Superintendent, provided an update on COVID-19 with the assistance of Angela Brown, Executive Director of Communications and Community Engagement.

Chief Financial Officer, Diana Sircar discussed a 2020-2021 Budget Update as well as information regarding FinPath financial wellness resources for Coppell ISD employees.

Dr. Greg Axelson, Chief Operations Officer, provided an update on the 2016 Bond.

CONSENT

David Caviness made a motion to approve the following consent agenda items:

- 1. Approve the minutes of the regular meeting held on May 18, 2020; and Board workshop held on June 8, 2020
- 2. Approve monthly 2019-2020 Budget Amendments
- 3. Approve Financial Report for May 2020
- 4. Approve Investment Report for period ending May 31, 2020
- 5. Approve adding the Chief Operations Officer as a District Authorized Representative for Lone Star Investment Pool
- 6. Approve Memorandum of Understanding regarding Dallas County Juvenile Justice Alternative Education Program (DCJJAEP)
- 7. Approve a TEA Waiver for Parent Notice of Student Risk of Failure
- 8. Approve Memorandum of Understanding between Coppell ISD and the Coppell ISD Education Foundation

Manish Sethi seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

Trustee Nichole Bentley was out of the room when the vote took place.

ACTION

DRAFT

Anthony Hill made motion to approve the 2020-2021 Student Code of Conduct as presented. David Caviness seconded the motion and it passed 7-0.

A motion was made by Tracy Fisher and seconded by Manish Sethi to approve the recommended pay increases as presented. (This is a 2% raise of mid/control point for employees including teachers, librarians and nurses who will receive an \$1,400 increase. Beginning teacher pay for 187 contracts will be \$55,600 for 2020-2021.) The motion carried 7-0.

A motion was made to adopt a Resolution for Diversity and Inclusion as modified and presented by Nichole Bentley. Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion passed 7-0.

Tracy Fisher nominated Nichole Bentley to serve as an official voting delegate to the 2020 TASB Delegate Assembly. David Caviness seconded the nomination. The Board voted 7-0 in favor of the nomination.

Tracy Fisher nominated Leigh Walker to serve as alternate delegate to the 2020 TASB Delegate Assembly. David Caviness seconded the nomination. The Board voted 7-0 in favor of the nomination.

DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS – BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Trustee Fisher provided a Legislative Update to the Board.

At 7:30 p.m., President Hume declared the Board in Closed Session as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, as allowed by Section 551.074 (Personnel Matters).

President Hulme declared the Board in Open Session at 8:43 p.m.

ADJOURNMENT

Leigh Walker made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0. Trustee David Caviness left the meeting at 8:00 p.m.

The meeting adjourned at 8:43 p.m.

Thom Hulme, Board President

Nichole Bentley, Secretary