Denton Independent School District

Board of Trustees Certificates of Recognition February 24, 2009

DENTON ISD

High school students accepted to all-state choir, band and orchestra

All three Denton ISD high schools recently announced selection results for the Texas Music Educators Association's All-State Choir, Band and Orchestra. The All-State concerts will be conducted on Saturday, Feb.14, in San Antonio.

Denton High

From Denton High, Casey Bachus, alto one; Hannah Lane, alto two; Julia DiFiore, alto one; and Michael Schafer, bass two, were selected for the TMEA All-State Choir. Mark Baker is the Denton High choir director.

Joanna Ceja, Denton High percussionist, was selected for the TMEA all-state band. Brian Wilson is the band director for Denton High.

The Denton High orchestra had one All-State Musician this year: Beckah Maxwell-Leroy, bassist. David Mairs is the Denton High Orchestra conductor.

Guyer High

From Guyer High, Erica Laney, soprano one, and Kelby Wenger, soprano two, were selected for the TMEA All-State Choir. Lawrence Johnson is the Guyer High choir director.

Two Guyer High band students were accepted to the TMEA All-State Band. The students were: Hector Alonso, piccolo, and Sara Mendez, flute. Chris Cansler is the Guyer High director of bands.

Ryan High

Emily Mathis, Ryan High junior, was selected for the TMEA Choir. David Rives is the Ryan High choir director.

DENTON ISD

Schools earn national choir honors

All three Denton Independent School District high schools recently announced choir students who were accepted to the American Choral Directors Association's National Honor Choir. The selected students will attend the ACDA National Convention from Wednesday, March 4, through Saturday, March 7, in Oklahoma City.

Denton High

From Denton High, Hannah Lane, alto two, was selected. Mark Baker is the choir director.

Guyer High

From Guyer High, Shanna Clark, alto one; Rachael Hardy, alto two; Matt Price, bass two; and Kelby Wenger, soprano two, were selected. Ryan Roche, bassist one, was selected for the ACDA Junior High School National Honor Choir. Lawrence Johnson is the Guyer High choir director.

Ryan High

The following students from Ryan High were selected: Tori Brownlee, Lydia Taylor, Emily Mathis, Maggie Beutner, Robbie Evans and Meghan Kajihara. David Rives is the Ryan High choir director.

WILSON ELEMENTARY

Wilson choir members selected to perform in Washington D.C.

Several students in the Wilson Elementary All-Star Choir and two former members were selected to perform at the 2009 Organization of American Kodály Educators National Children's Choir from Wednesday, March 11, through Sunday, March 15, in Washington, D.C.

The following students were selected to the OAKE choir: fifth-graders, Rebekah Cheek, Chloe Davis and Annie Squier; and fourth-grader, Dawson Lahart.

Karen Haskin and Mary Wright, former Wilson choir members who are now at Strickland Middle, were selected to the OAKE National Youth Choir.

Cecile Johnson is the Wilson Elementary music specialist.

DENTON ISD

Educators selected for social studies review

Four DISD educators were selected by the State Board of Education to serve on the Social Studies Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills Review Committee.

These educators met in January and will meet again in April in Austin to revise the Social Studies TEKS for elementary students. They include: Jennifer Mackey, third-grade teacher at E.P. Rayzor Elementary; Dawn Fielder, second-grade teacher at Evers Park Elementary; Kimberly Griffith, third-grade teacher at Evers Park, and Stacey Kockler, elementary social studies curriculum coordinator.

GINNINGS ELEMENTARY

Librarian selected for Bluebonnet Committee

Amy Fuller, librarian at Ginnings Elementary, recently was selected to serve a three-year term on the Texas Bluebonnet Award Program Committee.

The committee is charged with creating programming and support for the Texas Bluebonnet Program, which encourages children to read more books. The Bluebonnet Award is a library-based literacy program sponsored by the Texas Library Association.

The committee is comprised of 10 members, representing each Texas Library Association district. Members must belong to either Children's Round Table or the Texas Association of School Librarians. They will attend annual meetings at the Texas Library Association Conference and Annual Assembly in July.

CROWNOVER MIDDLE

Crownover nurse, school earn \$1,500 award

Jonita Widmer, Crownover Middle School nurse, recently received a \$1,500 Award for Excellence in Texas School Health on behalf of Crownover Middle School's "Practically On My Own" program. The school received the award from the Texas School Health Association at its Annual Conference Awards dinner. "Practically on My Own" was developed, coordinated and implemented by Ms. Widmer.