MINUTES OF A SPECIAL BOARD MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION SCHOOL DISTRICT 152, COOK COUNTY, ILLINOIS, HELD ON MONDAY, MAY 6, 2013 AT THE ADMIINSTRATIVE CENTER – 16001 Lincoln

Harvey, Illinois 60426

The Special Board Meeting of the Board of Education was called to order by the President, Janet Rogers, at 5:50 P.M. on Monday, May 6, 2013.

CALL TO ORDER

The following were present:

PRESENT: Ms. G. Johnson, B. Johnson,

Ms. Hawkins, Mr. Rogers Mr. Robinson, Ms. Rogers ROLL CALL

ABSENT: Ms. Kellogg-Weaver

Other School Officials in attendance were:

PRESENT: Dr. Kevin J. Nohelty

Assistant Superintendent of Business

Operations & Human Relations

Johnnetta Miller

Director of Teaching and Learning

Betty Owens

Interim Assistant Superintendent Dr. Denean Adams, Superintendent

Everyone stood for the Pledge of Allegiance.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

A motion was made by Ms. B. Johnson and seconded by Mr. Rogers to approve the Agenda. Roll call vote.

AYE: Ms. G. Johnson, Ms. Hawkins,

Ms. B. Johnson, Mr. Rogers,

Mr. Robinson, Ms. Rogers

NAY: NONE

6 ayes, 1 absent - Motion carried.

AGENDA APPROVED

Roxie Thomas, Whittier School Principal Introduced two 6th grade students that read Poems at Poetry Night:

POEMS: Motherless Child, Over Again, My Dad,

They Don't Know and Sister from another

Mister.

A motion was made by Ms. B. Johnson and seconded by Mr. Rogers to approve the Destruction of Closed Session Minutes from January 2011 to October 2011. Roll call vote.

AYE: Ms. G. Johnson, Ms. Hawkins,

Ms. B. Johnson, Mr. Rogers, Mr. Robinson, Ms. Rogers

NAY: NONE

ABSENT: Ms. Kellogg-Weaver 6 ayes, 1 absent – Motion carried.

President Rogers asked Attorney Izzo to read the official votes cast for each candidate on Tuesday, April 9, 2013 from David Orr, Cook County Clerk.

DESTRUCTION OF CLOSED SESSION MINUTES

ELECTION RESULTS REVIEW

	<u>Votes</u>	<u>Percentage</u>
Gloria J. Johnson	723	18.9%
Betty J. Johnson	563	14.72%
Linda M. Hawkins	572	14.95%
Dontrail Evans	396	10.35%
Kisha E. McCaskill	473	12.36%
Christopher J. Clark	391	10.22%
James Thigpen	349	9.12%
Joyce Kellogg-Weaver	359	9.38%
Total	3,826	100%

This election having been certified to "4 to be elected results in Gloria J. Johnson, Betty J, Johnson, Linda M. Hawkins and Kisha McCaskill being elected.

motion was made by Ms. Hawkins and seconded by Mr. Rogers to approve the Adjournment of the Old Board of Education.

@ 6: 01p.m.Roll call vote.

AYE: Ms. G. Johnson, Ms. Hawkins,

Ms. B. Johnson, Mr. Rogers, Mr. Robinson, Ms. Rogers

NAY: NONE

ABSENT: Ms. Kellogg-Weaver 6 ayes, 1 absent – Motion carried.

ADJOURNMENT OF THE OLD BOARD OF EDUCATION APPROVED

REORGANIZATION OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION

The Oath of Office was given by Honorable Judge Carl B. Boyd to: Gloria J. Johnson, Betty J. Johnson, Linda M. Hawkins and Kisha McCaskill.

Members present according to roll call:

PRESENT: Ms. G. Johnson,

Ms. B. Johnson, Ms. L. Hawkins, Ms. Kisha McCaskill

Ms. Rogers Mr. Robinson Mr. Rogers

A motion was made by Ms. G. Johnson and seconded by Ms. B. Johnson to appoint Ms. Rogers temporary chair.

Agenda. Roll call v ote.

AYE: Ms. G. Johnson, Ms. Hawkins,

Ms. B. Johnson, Mr. Rogers, Mr. Robinson, Ms. McCaskill,

Ms. Rogers

NAY: NONE

7 ayes - Motion carried.

TEMPORARY CHAIR

Nomination for President:

NOMINATION FOR PRESIDENT

Ms. Rogers was nominated by Betty Johnson and seconded by Linda Hawkins

Ms. Betty J. Johnson was nominated by Mr. Robinson- but declined.

Mr. Robinson nominated himself and seconded by Mr. Rogers.

Votes: for Janet Rogers:

Ms. L. Hawkins – Yes

Mr. Rogers - Yes

Ms. B. Johnson - Yes

Ms. G. Johnson - Yes

Ms. McCaskill - Yes

Mr. Robinson - Nay

Ms. Rogers - Yes

6 Yes, 1 Nay

Votes for Mr. Robinson:

Ms. L. Hawkins - Nay

Mr. Rogers - Nay

Ms. B. Johnson - Nay

Ms. G. Johnson - Nay

Ms. McCaskill - Nay

Mr. Robinson - Yes

Ms. Rogers - Nay

1 Yes, 6 Nay

VOTES FOR MR. ROBINSON

VOTES FOR MS. ROGERS

Nomination for Vice President

NOMINATION FOR VICE PRESIDENT

Votes for Ms. G. Johnson

Ms. L. Hawkins - Nav

Ms. B. Johnson - Yes

Ms. G. Johnson - Yes

Ms. McCaskill - Yes

Mr. Robinson - Nav

Ms. Rogers - Yes

Mr. Rogers- Nay

5 Yes, 2 Nay

Votes for Mr. Rogers

Ms. L. Hawkins - Nay

Mr. Rogers - Yes

Ms. B. Johnson - Nav

Ms. G. Johnson - Nay

Ms. McCaskill - Nav

Mr. Robinson - Yes

Ms. Rogers - Nav

2 Yes, 5 Nay

Nomination for Secretary:

NOMINATIONS FOR SECRETARY

Votes for Ms. B. Johnson Ms. L. Hawkins – Yes Mr. Rogers – Nay Ms. B. Johnson – Yes Ms. G. Johnson – Yes Ms. McCaskill – Yes Mr. Robinson – Nay Ms. Rogers - Yes 5 Yes, 2 Nay

Votes for Mr. Rogers
Ms. L. Hawkins – Nay
Mr. Rogers – Yes
Ms. B. Johnson – Nay
Ms. G. Johnson – Nay
Ms. McCaskill – Nay
Mr. Robinson – Yes
Ms. Rogers - Nay
2 Yes, 5 Nay

President Rogers stated that the Committee Appointments will be given at a later date.

A motion was made by Ms. McCaskill and seconded by Mr. Rogers to approve the Resolution to establish Date, Time and Place. Roll call v ote.

AYE: Ms. G. Johnson, Ms. Hawkins, Ms. B. Johnson, Mr. Rogers, Mr. Robinson, Ms. McCaskill,

Ms. Rogers

NAY: NONE

7 ayes - Motion carried.

Ms. Rogers stated that the next Regular Board Meeting will be held on Monday, May 20, 2013.

DeJuan Weaver of 157 -158th Vine asked the date of the next Board Meeting **COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS**

RESOLUTION TO ESTABLISH DATE, TIME AND PLACE OF REGULAR BOARD MEETINGS

NEXT BOARD MEETING

AUDIENCE COMMENTS/QUESTIONS

A motion was made by Mr. Rogers and seconded by Ms. G. Johnson to adjourn at 6:15 p.m. Roll call vote. AYE: Ms. G. Johnson, Ms. Hawkins, Ms. B. Johnson, Mr. Rogers, Ms. Rogers NAY: Mr. Robinson

ABSENT: Ms. Kellogg-Weaver 5 ayes, 1 nay, 1 absent – Motion carried.	
	Respectfully submitted, Secretary
Approved President	

ADJOURNMENT