## **Innovation Committee Meeting Minutes**

October 29, 2024

- 1. Meeting Called to Order: 4:02 pm via Microsoft Teams
- 2. Welcome and Introductions:

Ms. Stephanie Faulkner, Committee Chair
Ms. Monica Ryan, Committee Member
Ms. Debra Eaton, Committee Member
Ms. Cecila Davis, Deputy Superintendent
Ms. Denis Orosco, Director of Innovation and Accountability
Ms. Rachelle Diaz, Principal, Candlewood STEAM Academy
Dr. Kelle Lofton, Principal, Franz Leadership Academy
Mr. Shannon George, Principal, Fine Arts Academy at Olympia
Ms. Susaye Scott, Principal, Park Village Blended Learning Academy
Ms. Sharon Balderas, Principal, Spring Meadows College Prep
Dr. Nicole Rosas-Saunders, Principal, Kirby STEM Academy
Ms. Loretta Davidson, Principal, Metzger Middle School
Mr. John Griffin, Principal, Woodlake Hills College Prep
Mr. Erik Pawkett, Associate Principal, Judson High School (P-TECH)

- 3. Public Comment: None
- 4. Review and approve of February 12, 2024 meeting minutes: Tabled until next meeting.
- 5. Appoint Secretary to take minutes: Committee Member Ms. Monica Ryan appointed Secretary.
- 6. Innovative Snapshot:

--Ms. Orosco reviewed the Innovative Snapshot that included program models at each innovative campus, curriculum used, extra staffing for each model, and funding sources/amounts.

--Reviewed upcoming System of Great Schools (SGS) conference schedule for the remainder of the year. The next conference will be November 20-21, 2024, at SAISD.

--Ms. Ryan asked about HQIM being used at ELAR at Kirby STEM Academy and Woodlake Hills College Prep and Ms. Orosco confirmed HMH is an HQIM and is being used at both campuses.

7. Program Monitoring Framework

--Ms. Orosco reviewed the proposed format for use at future meetings and committee members concurred with it use.

8. Confirm future meeting dates

--December 12, 2024 at 4:00 pm (schools of focus: Park Village Blended Learning, Metzger MS)

--February 13, 2025 at 4:00 pm (schools/programs of focus: Elolf STEAM, Franz Leadership, Fine Arts Academy at Olympia, PTECH)

--April 8, 2025 at 4:00 pm (schools of focus: Candlewood STEM, Spring Meadows College Prep, Kirby STEM, Woodlake Hills College Prep)

--Additional discussion of upcoming deadlines for grants for the 2025-2026 school year (due date to TEA, December 13, 2024). Ms. Davis/Ms. Orosco will send committee members the list of available grants and eligible schools.

9. Adjournment: 4:40 pm