AT A REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, at 6:00 P.M., DECEMBER 16, 2008, with the following members:

Present: Absent:

Fay Batch
Ray Beaty DC
Carol Gregg
Dr. Donnie Norwood
Tom Pace
Dr. Donna Smith
Yollie Wilkins

School Officials: Hector Mendez, Janet Baker, Dr. Steve Brown, David Finley, Leon

Fuller, Irene Granado, Wendy Hines, Brian Moersch, Randy Talley,

Tonya Tillman, Gilbert Vasquez

Others: Damon Jackson, Andrea Martin, Roy Garcia, Ysmael Lujan, Sgt.

Pete Frankson, Ian Roark, Curtis Britt, Wayne Wallace, Denise Shetter, Dianne Mata, Lisa Anaya, Toby LeFevers, Gloria Orona, Hortencia Delgado, Tracy Taylor, Marsha Dry, Maribelle Minyard, JoAnne Hughes, Pedro Hernandez, Tristen Spector, Roy Waggoner, Ida Cortez, Greg Betty, Chuck Isner, Glenn DeMoss, Stacie Ashley, Sandra Banda, Kathy Hassell, Ann Suiter, Mary Franco, Mike

Barker, Al Harris, Mike Atkins, Mike Adkins

Meeting Called to Order: Carol Gregg, Board President, called the Board

of Trustees Meeting to order.

20403 Pledges of Allegiance to the United States and Texas Flags: The

Pledges of Allegiance to the United States and Texas Flags were led by

Regan Magnet Elementary Students, Heath and Blake Gladson.

20404 Invocation: Mr. Benny Keck, Minister of Education, 6th and Jackson

Church of Christ, gave the invocation.

Special Presentations:

United Way Recognitions:

The following United Way top fund raisers were recognized:

Lisa Anaya – Burleson Elementary School Roy Garcia – Permian High School Hector Mendez – Administration Building

Red Ribbon Week "Just Say No" 2008 Contest Winners -

Pre-K & Kindergarten Contest Winners

1st Place: Moses Herrera (Milam) 2nd Place: Victoria Salazar (Carver)

Primary Contest Winners

1st Place: Aziz Samaniego (San Jacinto)

2nd Place: Jestine Arrieta (LBJ) 3rd Place: Mark Orona (Milam)

Intermediate Contest Winners

1st Place: Jose Luis Caballero (San Jacinto) 2nd Place: Pedro Hernandez (Gonzales)

3rd Place: Pedro Ramirez (Milam)

Secondary Contest Winners

1st Place: Charisma DeSai (Bowie) 2nd Place: Kelby Baca (Nimitz)

Permian High School Girls' Cross Country Team State Finalist –

The following PHS Girls' Cross Country Team members were recognized for being named State Team Finalist:

Lakeisha Johnson – Sr Jamia Graham – Fresh

Laura Porras - Sr

Bianka Cortez - Soph

Monick Garcia - Fresh

Reagan Ryan - Sr

Samantha Munoz - Sr

Stefanie Bernal and Desiree Bustamante (alternates)

- **Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law:** Carol Gregg, Board President, verified that the provisions of Texas Government Code Section 551.001 had been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.
- **<u>Approval of Consent Agenda</u>**: Moved by Smith, seconded by Beaty that the following Consent Agenda be approved:
 - 1. Superintendent's Agenda
 - 2. Minutes of Meeting
 - a. November 18, 2008 Special
 - b. November 18, 2008 Regular
 - 3. Bills for Payment
 - 4. School Construction Report
 - 5. Purchases Over \$250,000
 - 6. Quarterly Investment Report
 - 7. Articulation Agreement and Contract for Instruction for the Dual-Credit Fire Academy between ECISD and Odessa College
 - 8. Articulation Agreement and Contract for Instruction for the Certified Nurse's Aide Training between ECISD and Odessa College

Motion unanimously approved.

Request for Approval of Dual-Credit and Weighted Courses: Moved by Smith, seconded by Norwood to approve the Dual-Credit and Weighted Courses as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

<u>Provided to the School Harp Out-of-State Travel:</u> Moved by Pace, seconded by Wilkins to approve the Odessa High School Harp Out-of-State Travel Request as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

Request for Approval of 2008-2009 Budget Amendment #1: Moved by Pace, seconded by Batch to approve 2008-2009 Budget Amendment #1 as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

20411 Request for Approval of Construction Proposals for Zavala Magnet and Fly Elementary: Moved by Smith, seconded by Wilkins to approve the Construction Proposals for Zavala Magnet and Fly Elementary as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

20412 Request for Approval of Board Policy FNCE(Local) Student Conduct: Telecommunications Devices: Moved by Beaty, seconded by Smith to approve Board Policy FNCE(Local) Student Conduct: Telecommunications Devices as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

- 20413

 Closed Meeting Personnel Matters Section 551.074 of the Texas
 Government Code (Discussion of Routine Personnel Report) [Board
 will deliberate the appointment, employment, evaluation,
 reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of public employees of
 the District]: No Executive Session was held.
- **<u>Request for Approval of Routine Personnel Report</u>:** Moved by Smith, seconded by Batch to approve the Routine Personnel Report as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

20415 Adjournment: Carol Gregg, Board President, adjourned the Board meeting at 6:42 PM.

Board President Board Secretary

Carol Gregg

Fay Batch