# AGENDA and MINUTES

Regular Meeting Board Room 200 Co Rd 421 Stephenville, TX 76401 December 19, 2024 6:30 PM

## 1. Call to Order and Establish Quorum

- A. The meeting was called to order by Board President Cody Pike at 6:30 p.m.
- B. The board members present were Cindy Shipman, Cody Pike, Lance Brooks, Neil Culpepper, Betty Peterson, Mike Wilfong, and Brett Thetford.
- C. The administration staff present were Wes Corzine, Wayne Rotan, and Yvette Thomason.

#### 2. Invocation

The invocation was led by Superintendent Wes Corzine.

#### 3. Pledges of Allegiance - United States and Texas

## 4. Student Highlight - Elementary/JH UIL

Principal Wayne Rotan introduced five students who competed in the elementary or junior high UIL events.

The Huckabay elementary students finished with the most points and received their third consecutive district win.

The junior high students also finished with the most points and received their second consecutive district win.

## 5. Public Comment

There were no public comments.

## 6. Consent Agenda

Lance Brooks motioned to approve the November 14 and November 19, 2024, consent agendas. Betty Peterson seconded, and the motion passed unanimously 7:0.

## 7. Superintendent Report

A. 76th Annual Huckabay Stock Show

Wes Corzine shared information on the Huckabay Stock Show stating there were 277 entries and \$11,315 was raised.

B. Staff Recognition

Mr. Cozine recognized two retiring staff members, Anita Carey and Tammie Shipman. Mrs. Carey worked for Huckabay ISD for 30 years and Mrs. Shipman worked for 9 years. Mr. Corzine presented each retiree with a plaque signed by current employees and a gift of appreciation for their time and dedication to Huckabay ISD.

C. Legislative Update

Mr. Corzine spoke about the 89<sup>th</sup> Legislative Update which begins January 1, 2025. The Superintendents of District 59 met in early December with State Representative Shelby Slawson and discussed the update. The superintendents voiced concerns over various topics such as the ESA (Education Savings Account) vouchers, the safety and security grants, and the need for an increase in the basic school allotment.

## 8. Principal Report

A. Attendance/Enrollment

Principal Wayne Rotan said the enrollment was 324 students, including two early education walk-in students. The attendance rate for the third six weeks was 94.93%.

B. Upcoming Events

The first semester ended on December 19, 2024.

The Erath County Stock Show will be from January 6<sup>th</sup> through the 11<sup>th</sup>. Stock show season will continue through March.

There will be a medal assembly for elementary and junior high UIL students after the Christmas break.

## 9. Action Item(s)

- A. Consider Approval of Bid Request for R55831, Lot 75, Thurber Hills -Presenter Jennifer Carey, Erath County Tax Collector and Assessor
- B. Consider Approval of Bid Request for R55849, Lot 103, Thurber Hills
  Presenter Jennifer Carey, Erath County Tax Collector and Assessor

Jennifer Carey explained the process of a county taking ownership of tax-delinquent property via a judgment and how the property is then placed in a trust if it is unable to be auctioned by the county. The two above-mentioned properties are in a county trust, but an offer was made to purchase them. The three jurisdictions over the property, Erath County, Middle Trinity, and Huckabay ISD, have to approve the sale of the property.

Mike Wilfong motioned to approve the sale of the R55831, Lot 75, and R55849, Lot 103, Thurber Hills. Lance Brooks seconded, and the motion passed unanimously 7:0.

C. Consider Approval of Purchase of Ag Science/CTE Truck Three bids received via BuyBoard for a new Ag Science and CTE truck were considered. The vehicles considered were a GMC Sierra, a Dodge Ram, and a Ford Super Duty. Considerations will be postponed.

## 10. Recess to Closed Session

- A. Personnel Matters Gov't Code 551.074
- B. Student Discipline Gov't Code 551.082

The recess to closed session began at 7:30 p.m. and ended at 8:30 p.m.

## 11. Adjourn

The meeting adjourned at 8:31 p.m.

Cody Pike, Board President

Cindy Shipman, Board Secretary