

Minidoka County School District #331

"Empowering Students for Success"

<u>Board Members</u> Bonnie Heins, Chair Rick Stimpson, Vice Chair Jeff Gibson, Trustee

Russ Suchan, Trustee Mary Andersen, Trustee Administration Dr. Kenneth Cox, Superintendent Kerri Tibbitts, Board Clerk Michelle DeLuna, Business Manager

October 21, 2019

RE: Master Educator Premium Recipient Recognition

Minidoka County School Board Members:

We recently received notification from the Idaho State Board of Education that four of our teachers qualified for the Master Educator Premium, a \$4,000 per year award for the next three years.

Our recipients are

Brandi Milliron – currently teaching Science at West Minico Carol Loveless – currently teaching high-needs SpEd at Acequia Elementary Jana Thomsen – currently teaching 2nd grade at Rupert Elementary Shelley Coats – currently teaching Language Arts at East Minico Tara McCall – currently teaching 2nd grade at Heyburn Elementary

It took a lot of work to qualify for this award. As outlined in statute candidates must meet the following criteria:

- Eight years or more experience with at least the last three in Idaho.
- Demonstrate mastery of instructional techniques for at least 3 of the last 5 years through:
 - Artifacts demonstrating effective teaching; and
 - Successful completion of an annual Individualized Professional Learning Plan (IPLP).
- The majority of their students must meet measurable student achievement for 3 of the last 5 years.

In most cases it took over 100 hours of these teacher's time to compile the information required to submit their application.

I would like to congratulation these teachers on behalf of the students that they have worked with, their peers and their administrators. I believe as a District we do a great job in educating our students and these five teachers have shown that they truly are Master Educators.

I am also recommending that the Board, in recognition of these educator's service to our District and the recognition of the State, approve a one-time \$300 increase in the amount they receive. This would make their award \$4,300 this year and \$4,000 each of the subsequent years of the award.

Sincerely

Dr. Kenneth Cox, Superintendent