REGULAR MEETING OF BOARD OF EDUCATION Stephenville, Texas

November 16, 2020

The Stephenville Independent School District Board of Education met in regular session at 5:30 pm in the Bond Auditorium of the Administration Building, November 16, 2020 with the following members present:

President Dr. Ann Calahan Secretary Mrs. Sherrie Evans Dr. Robert Barberee Mr. Scott E. Osman Mrs. Keri Vanden Berge Mrs. Phyllis Stewart Mr. Donny Hill

Members Absent: Mr. Cole Gilliam Parks and Dr. Ed Dittfurth

Superintendent Dr. Matt Underwood, Ms. Kathy Hampton, Mrs. Teri Hodges, Mrs. Kelly Magin, Mr. Shelby Womack, Mr. Keith Starnes, Mrs. Esther Tucker, Ms. Chelsey Drummond, Mrs. Vicki Bearden, Mrs. Jennifer Salyards, Mrs. Paige Thompson, Mrs. Daresa Rhine, Mrs. Cindy Miller, Mrs. Mica Rudd, Mr. Victor Sauceda, Mrs. Jamie Whaley, Mr. Brad Burleson, Mrs. Jodi Bissonnette, Mrs. Stephanie Traweek, Ms. Afton Varnado, Mrs. Kelli Roberson, Mrs. Rachel Kammerer, Mrs. Darby Hernandez and Mrs. Norma Cervetto.

Others Present: Mr. Josh Cogburn with Huckabee and Associates and Mr. David Teal with Hellas.

Invocation

The Invocation was provided by Gilbert Intermediate School student – Jake Groseclose.

Recited U.S. and Texas Pledges of Allegiance

The U.S. and Texas Pledges of Allegiance were led by Gilbert Intermediate School student – Grayson Copeland.

I. <u>Call to Order and Announce Quorum Present</u>

President Calahan called the meeting to order and announced a quorum present.

II. <u>Approval of Canvass Election Results of Annual Trustee Election – November 3, 2020</u>

The results of the annual trustee election, as verified by County Clerk, Gwinda Jones were as follows:

<u>Annual Trustee Election – November 3, 2020</u>

Place 6 – Full Three Year Term

David Tezaguic – 3,444 Phyllis Stewart – 4,780

Place 7 – Full Three Year Term

Donny Hill – 4,612 Matt Miller – 3,812

The motion was made by Mrs. Evans and seconded by Mr. Osman to approve the canvassing of votes for the school board trustee election results as submitted.

Phyllis Stewart, Place 6 and Donny Hill, Place 7 are declared winners of the election to serve as members of the board until 2023. A breakdown of votes cast is attached hereto and shall become an official part of these minutes.

All members voted in favor of the motion. The motion carried.

III. <u>Administration of Statement of Elected Officer, Certificate of Election, and Oath of Office to newly elected board members</u>

The Statement of Elected Officer and Oath of Office were administered to Phyllis Stewart and Donny Hill and they were seated as new board members.

IV. Organization of the Board and Election of Officers 2020-2021

Superintendent Dr. Underwood opened the floor for officer nominations:

President

The motion was made by Mr. Osman and seconded by Mrs. Vanden Berge to nominate Ann Calahan as President.

Vice-President

The motion was made by Mrs. Vanden Berge and seconded by Mr. Osman to nominate Robert Barberee as Vice President.

Secretary

The motion was made by Mrs. Vanden Berge and seconded by Mr. Osman to nominate Sherrie Evans as Secretary.

All members voted in favor of the motion. The motion carried.

V. <u>Proclamations and Recognitions</u>

The following students and employees were recognized in addition to the United Way campus winner:

- -United Way Campus Winner: Hook Elementary
- -PEIMS (Core Value):
 - --Vicki Bearden Central Elementary
 - --Paige Thompson Chamberlin Elementary
 - --Cindy Miller Hook Elementary
 - --Jamie Whaley Gilbert Intermediate
 - --Joni Bissonnette Henderson Jr. High
 - --Afton Varnado Stephenville High School
- -SHS: Volleyball Team Regional Qualifiers
- -SHS: Cross Country Boys and Girls Regional Qualifiers
- -Junior NFR Qualifiers: McCoy Magin and Coen Carroll

VI. Approval of Consent Agenda

The motion was made by Mr. Osman and seconded by Mrs. Vanden Berge to approve the Consent Agenda including:

- -Minutes: October 19, 2020 Regular Meeting
- -Review Check Registry
- -Review of Additional Vendors
- -Monthly Financial Statements
- -2nd Six Weeks Attendance
- -Arbitrage Report
- -TCG Advisor Expanded Provider Dealer List

All members voted in favor of the motion. The motion carried.

VII. 2018 Bond Program Update

Mr. Josh Cogburn with Huckabee and Associates presented an update on the 2018 Bond Program.

VIII. <u>Approval of BuyBoard Proposal of Turf Installation at Lem Brock and James T.</u> Young Fields

Athletic Director Mr. Jerod Womack presented information regarding turf installation at Lem Brock and James T. Young fields.

The motion was made by Mrs. Evans and seconded by Dr. Barberee to approve the BuyBoard Proposal of turf installation at Lem Brock and James T. Young fields as presented by the Athletic Director.

The following members voted in favor of the motion: Dr. Calahan, Dr. Barberee, Mrs. Evans, Mr. Hill, Mr. Osman and Mrs. Vanden Berge.

The following member abstained: Mrs. Stewart

The motion carried.

IX. Approval of Amendment to the 2020-2021 School Calendar

The motion was made by Dr. Barberee and seconded by Mrs. Vanden Berge to approve the 2020-2021 School Calendar Amendment.

All members voted in favor of the motion. The motion carried.

X. Approval of Board Plans for Early Childhood Literacy, Math and CCMR

Mrs. Kelly Magin presented the Board plans for Early Childhood Literacy, Math and CCMR.

The motion was made by Mrs. Vanden Berge and seconded by Mrs. Evans to approve the Board Plans for Early Childhood Literacy, Math and CCMR as presented with the understanding that the targets may change as we collect the data.

All members voted in favor of the motion. The motion carried.

XI. Heard Superintendent's Report

- -Audit Review Committee and set date for meeting. Board committee members are: Mrs. Vanden Berge, Dr. Barberee, and Mr. Hill. Meeting date is scheduled for Monday, January 11, 2021 8:00 am.
- -December 14, 2020 Regular Board Meeting rescheduled
- -December 9, 2020 Called Board Meeting and Construction Tour SISD Large Meeting Room 4:15 pm.

- -December 3, 2020 Progress Reports
- -Strategic Planning January Board Meeting Moak & Casey & Associates to present
- -Human Trafficking Board Member Training Requirement discussed
- -Board Member Sville Email Accounts
- -District of Innovation Amendments
- -Virtual Enrollment
- -Cashless Transactions

XII. Closed Session

President Calahan announced to those present that the Board would adjourn into Closed Session pursuant to the provisions of Section 551.071 through and/or 551.086 (Approximately: 7:30 pm)

XIII. Open Session

The Board returned to Open Session (Approximately: 7:57 pm)

XIV. <u>Personnel</u>

The motion was made by Mrs. Evans and seconded by Mrs. Vanden Berge to accept the following recommendations for separations/resignations/employment by the Administration:

Separations:

Rita Crouch - PreK Teacher - Central Elementary

Effective: December 30, 2020

Taylor Smith – History Teacher/Coach – Henderson Jr. High

Effective: October 30, 2020

Resignations:

Meagan Diaz – English Teacher/Coach – Stephenville High School

Effective: December 18, 2020

<u>Isaac Diaz</u> – Athletic Trainer – Stephenville High School

Effective: December 18, 2020

Employment:

<u>Justin Slemmons</u> – Director of Transportation – Stephenville ISD

	All members voted in favor	All members voted in favor of the motion. The motion carried.		
XV.	<u>Adjourn</u>			
	No further business appear	ring before the board, the meeting adj	ourned.	
ATTEST: _	Cooratam	CORRECT:President		
	Secretary	President		

Effective: November 30, 2020