Arkansas Governor's School Site Selection 2022-2024

The <u>Rules Governing Arkansas Governor's School (AGS) Site Selection</u> were utilized to guide the process for determining the host site for AGS 2022-2024.

A list of potential site selection committee members meeting requirements from rules and representing all portions of the state was approved by Secretary Johnny Key. Invitations were extended to ensure that all required representation would be present on the committee. A 10-member site selection committee included school administrators, teachers and/or coordinators of gifted programs, members of the Governor's Advisory Council, higher education personnel, personnel from education service cooperatives, and parents/community representatives, in accordance with requirements from 13.07 of Rules Governing AGS Site Selection. The following served as members of the AGS 2022-2024 Site Selection Committee:

- Marsha Partney, Mountain Home School District, Gifted and Talented (GT) Coordinator, Governor's Advisory Council for the Education of Gifted and Talented Children
- Sandra Johnson, Harding University Instructor, Arkansas Association of Gifted Education Administrators' Legislative Chair, Arkansans for Gifted and Talented Education Legislative Committee
- Sandie Ragland, Stuttgart School District GT and Advanced Placement Coordinator
- Dr. Wayne Fawcett, Paris School District, Superintendent, Former AGS Instructor
- Stephanie Hollis, Southeast Educational Service Cooperative GT Specialist, Monticello, Governor's Advisory Council for the Education of Gifted and Talented Children
- Amanda Fears, Helena-West Helena School District, GT Coordinator
- Dana Ray, DeQueen Mena Educational Service Cooperative, Teacher Center Coordinator
- Chad Morris, Southwest Educational Service Cooperative, GT Specialist
- Tim Smithey, Springdale School District, GT Coordinator
- Richard Carraway, Newport, Certified Public Accountant, Winner of AGATE Parent/Community Award

Presidents and Chancellors of all four year colleges and universities were sent letters on January 21, 2021, inviting them to submit an application to host Arkansas Governor's School 2022-2024. Dr. Maria Markham at ADHE also shared a memo with the invitation and application materials via a listserv.

Three universities submitted applications: Hendrix College, Arkansas Tech University, and Arkansas State University. After consulting with the universities regarding availability, site visits were scheduled for the following dates:

- Tuesday, May 25, 2021 Hendrix College
- Wednesday, May 26, 2021 Arkansas Tech University
- Thursday, May 27, 2021 Arkansas State University

The site selection committee met for a brief online orientation to review the Rules Governing Arkansas Governor's School Site Selection and discuss logistics for the visits. The committee elected Sandra Johnson to serve as their chair and Sandie Ragland to serve as co-chair.

The site selection committee reviewed full applications and made site visits to each institution that applied. A common agenda was used for each site. DESE provided a catered lunch for committee members at each location. Committee members utilized an evaluation form to make notes and score the areas listed in 13.08 of the Rules Governing Arkansas Governor's School Site Selection (proposed program director; dates campus is available for use; curriculum;

minimum of part-time office operations; staff development activities; food services; library; dormitories; classrooms, labs, studios, theater, etc.; recreational facilities; maintenance and security; health services; and student rules of conduct). At the end of each visit, committee members were given a private space to discuss their observations without university staff or DESE staff present. At the conclusion of the final visit, each committee member voted for their recommendation, in accordance with 13.09 of Rules Governing AGS Site Selection. Ballots were collected as committee members left the site, and the committee's recommendation was determined by tallying the votes to identify the majority winner. The vote totals are as follows:

- Arkansas Tech University (4 week program) 6 votes
- Hendrix College (4 week program) 4 votes
- Arkansas State University (4 week program) 0 votes
- Arkansas State University (6 week program) 0 votes

Based on the majority vote of the AGS 2022-2024 Site Selection Committee, Arkansas Tech University is the recommendation for the host site for AGS 2022-2024.