MINUTES BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR BOARD MEETING JULY 8, 2019

BUDGET & PLANNING WORKSHOP

The Board met from 5:30-6:30 p.m. for a budget and planning workshop.

PLEDGE AND INVOCATION

The Wylie Independent School District's Board of Trustees met in regular session on Monday, July 8, 2019, at 6:30 p.m. at Wylie Early Childhood Library. The pledge of allegiance was recited and the invocation was given by Chris McCurley.

Board members present were: Mark McClellan, Miller Loudermilk, Mike Awtry, Chris McCurley, and Stephen Lowry. Steve Keenum and Abe Templeton were absent.

School personnel present were: Joey Light, Carol Smith, Craig Bessent, Casey Todd, Rob Goodenough, Tim Smith, Aaron Amonett, Brad McVay, Mike Kerley, Kim McMillan, Kristal Noble, Phil Boone, Ricky Bacon, and Desiree Clardy.

Guests present were: See sign-in sheet.

SPECIAL PRESENTATION

The Board recognized the State DI teams that advanced to Global Competition in Kansas City, Missouri.

MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

The minutes of the June 10, 2019 meeting were read and approved as presented.

CONSENT AGENDA

A motion to approve the consent agenda was made by Chris McCurley and seconded by Mike Awtry.

The motion carried: $\underline{4}$ for, $\underline{0}$ against,

SET LUNCH PRICES FOR 2019-20

A motion was made by Mike Awtry to set lunch prices for the 2019-20 school year as noted below. The motion was seconded by Mark McClellan.

		LUNCH	BREAKFAST
High	School	\$3.00	\$2.00
West	Junior High	\$3.00	\$2.00
East	Junior High	\$3.00	\$2.00
West	Intermediate	\$2.75	\$2.00
West	Elementary	\$2.75	\$2.00
East	Elementary	\$2.75	\$2.00
West	Early Childhood\$2.75		\$2.00

The motion carried: 4 for, 0 against.

SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES JULY 8, 2019 PAGE TWO

T-TESS TEACHER APPRAISAL SYSTEM FOR 2019-20

Mark McClellan made a motion to adopt T-TESS, the appraisal calendar as presented, approve the appraisers as presented, and T-TESS will be used on contract renewal decisions for 2019-20 school year. The motion was seconded by Chris McCurley.

The motion carried: 4 for, 0 against.

AGREEMENT FOR 2019-20 SCHOOL YR.

CONSIDER CHAPTER 41 Mark McClellan made a motion for the 2019-20 school year, the Board delegates contractual authority to obligate the school district under TEC 11.1511 (c)(4) to Superintendent Joey Light, solely for the purpose of obligating the district under TEC, Chapter 41 Subchapters A and D, and the rules adopted by the Commission of Education as authorized under TEC, 41.006. This includes approval of the Agreement for the Purchase of Attendance Credits (Netting Chapter 42 Funding). Awtry seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 4 for, 0 against.

CONSIDER APPROVAL OF LOCAL POLICY UPDATE 113

Mike Awtry made a motion to approve Local Policy Update 113; Affecting local policies-BBE (LOCAL): BOARD MEMBERS - AUTHORITY BDD (LOCAL): BOARD INTERNAL ORGANIZATION -ATTORNEY

BJCD (LOCAL): SUPERINTENDENT - EVALUATION CI(LOCAL): SCHOOL PROPERTIES DISPOSAL CO(LOCAL): FOOD AND NUTRITION MANAGEMENT COA(LOCAL): FOOD AND NUTRITION MANAGEMENT -PROCUREMENT

COB(LOCAL): FOOD AND NUTRITION MANAGEMENT -FREE AND REDUCED-PRICE MEALS

CRB (LOCAL): INSURANCE AND ANNUITIES MANAGEMENT - LIABILITY INSURANCE

EHBAF (LOCAL): SPECIAL EDUCATION - VIDEO/AUDIO MONITORING

FNF (LOCAL): STUDENT RIGHTS AND

RESPONSIBILITIES - INVESTIGATIONS AND

SEARCHES

Mark McClellan seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 4 for, 0 against.

DISCUSSION ITEMS

Other items which were discussed but no action taken by the Board included: Summer meeting schedule, Construction update and STAAR test results.

SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES JULY 8, 2019 PAGE THREE

EXECUTIVE SESSION

The Board went into executive session under the authority of Article 6242-17, Section 2, Revised Civil Statutes of Texas and Education Code 16.176 from 7:30 p.m. to 7:42 p.m. to attend to personnel matters and employee benefits.

PERSONNEL RECOMMENDATIONS

A motion was made by Chris McCurley to accept the superintendent's recommendation to employ Joseph Gillespie, Brittanie Booth, Gabriela Bundy, Emily Sides, Lisa Mayes, Cesar Elmer Ramirez, Colton Rosseau, Heather Vinson, Ashley McDonald, Lettie Morrow, Kasi Asbill, Tabitha Reed, and Angie Kenley on a one-year contract for 10 months for the 2019-20 school year; subject to assignment. Miller Loudermilk seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 4 for, 0 against.

OFFICIAL ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to discuss, a motion was made by Chris McCurley and seconded by Mark McClellan to adjourn. Official time was 7:45 P.M.

The motion carried: 4 for, 0 against.

Date	_	
	President	
	Secretary	