AT A REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, at 6:00 P.M., JANUARY 20, 2009, with the following members:

> Present: Absent:

Fay Batch Ray Beaty DC Carol Gread Dr. Donnie Norwood Tom Pace Dr. Donna Smith Yollie Wilkins

School Officials: Hector Mendez, Janet Baker, Dr. Steve Brown, David Finley, Leon

Fuller, Irene Granado, Wendy Hines, Brian Moersch, Randy Talley,

Tonya Tillman, Gilbert Vasquez

Others: Ron Leach, Tony Parris, Shawn Almond, Mark Crissinger, Paul

> Dennis, Steve Tercero, Marsha Dry, Ian Roark, Don Paquette, Shawn Allen, Tina Holmes Pitzer, Tristan Gene Specter, Dianne Mata, Leticia Madrid, Robin Provance, Rey Lascano, Lynne Norwood, Edward Gallegos, Brenda Donner, Gibson Donner, Taylor White, Mayra Leyva, Patrick Poe, Glenn DeMoss, Sylvia Sanchez, Susan Lara, Chuck Isner, Roy Waggoner, Sgt. Pete Frankson, Mike Barker, Michael Adkins, Al Harris, Mike Atkins, Ann Suiter, Nelda

Loya

20416 Meeting Called to Order: Carol Gregg, Board President, called the Board

of Trustees Meeting to order.

Pledges of Allegiance to the United States and Texas Flags: The 20417

Pledges of Allegiance to the United States and Texas Flags were led by

Hood Junior High Students, Schuyler Stallcup and Arik Vega.

20418 **Invocation:** Mr. Curtis Brewer, First Baptist Church, gave the invocation.

20419 **Special Presentation:** 

**Board of Trustees Recognition Resolution –** 

Public Information Officer, Michael Adkins, read the Governor's Resolution for Board Recognition Month. Several campuses presented the Board members with gifts and tokens of appreciation. Luncheons and breakfasts were scheduled throughout the month.

## **Education Foundation Grant Award Recipients –**

The Education Foundation Grant recipients were recognized with dinner prior to the Board meeting. Hector Mendez, Superintendent, read the District's Education Foundation Resolution in recognition of the following Education Foundation grant recipients:

James Johnston Christi Simmons
Cameron Elem. Jordan Elementary

Beatris Mata Helen Reyes Austin Elementary Jordan Elementary

Julie Marshall Netha Boucher Zavala Elementary Dowling Elementary

Laura Spencer Cathi Boutin
Zavala Elementary Pease Elementary

Tish Regalado Natalie Fitzgerald Zavala Elementary Milam Elementary

Laurie Navarrette Kae Johnson

Zavala Elementary Cameron Elementary

Erin Reddell Rebecca Owens Zavala Elementary Gonzales Elementary

Libby Sibert J'Lynn Collins
Jordan Elementary Burnet Elementary

Cheri Carter Chelsea Padilla Jordan Elementary Burnet Elementary

Christy Ordener Jordan Elementary

**Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law:** Carol Gregg, Board President, verified that the provisions of Texas Government Code Section 551.001 had been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.

**Approval of Consent Agenda**: Moved by Smith, seconded by Norwood that the following Consent Agenda be approved:

- 1. Superintendent's Agenda
- 2. Minutes of Meeting
  - a. December 9, 2008 Special
  - b. December 9, 2008 Special
  - c. December 16, 2008 Regular
- 3. Bills for Payment
- 4. School Construction Report
- 5. Purchases Over \$250.000
- 6. Acknowledgement of Donations and Gifts
- 7. Request for Approval of West Texas Food Service Cooperative
- 8. Request for Approval of Lone Star Investment Pool Authorized Representatives
- 9. Request for Approval of Tuition Rates for Out-of-District Students
- 10. Request for Approval of Modified Schedule/TAKS Testing Days Waiver

Motion unanimously approved.

20422 Request for Approval of Annual Financial Report: Tonya Tillman, Assistant Superintendent for Business Operations, presented for approval the Annual Financial Report. Moved by Pace, seconded by Batch to approve the Annual Financial Report as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

20423 Request for Approval of Penalties and Interest to be Waived for the Prettyman Estate: Moved by Smith, seconded by Beaty to approve the Penalties and Interest to be Waived for the Prettyman Estate.

Motion unanimously approved.

- <u>College and Career Readiness Sub-Committee Presentation:</u> Steve Tercero, community representative, along with ECISD and UTPB staff, presented a report from the College and Career Readiness Sub-Committee.
- <u>Communities In Schools 2008 Annual Report</u>: Tina Holmes-Pitzer, Director of Communities In Schools, presented the 2008 Annual Report to the Board.
- 20426

  Request for Approval of Class Size Waiver for Spring Semester (2008-2009 School Year): Moved by Norwood, seconded by Batch to approve the Class Size Waiver for Spring Semester (2008-2009 School Year) as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

Request for Approval of Out-of-State Travel for Austin Montessori:

Moved by Wilkins, seconded by Norwood to approve Out-of-State Travel for two Austin Montessori Magnet students to travel to Washington, DC for the Congressional Youth Leadership Conference March 28 thru April 2, 2009.

Motion unanimously approved.

**Request for Approval of Weighted Courses List:** Moved by Batch, seconded by Wilkins to approve the Weighted Courses List for the 2009-2010 school year, as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

Request for Approval of Memorandum of Understanding and Articulation Agreement Between Odessa College and ECISD: Moved by Pace, seconded by Batch to approve the Memorandum of Understanding and Articulation Agreement Between Odessa College and ECISD as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

Request for Approval of Memorandum of Understanding and Articulation Agreement Between UTPB and ECISD: Moved by Norwood, seconded by Batch to approve the Memorandum of Understanding and Articulation Agreement Between UTPB and ECISD as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

- <u>Discussion of Board Policy FDA(Local) Admissions: Interdistrict Transfers First Reading:</u> Item withdrawn from agenda.
- <u>Additional Appraisers for 2008-2009</u>: Moved by Smith, seconded by Wilkins to approve Diana Chavez and Sally Navarro as appraisers for the 2008-2009 school year.

Motion unanimously approved.

20433 Closed Meeting - Personnel Matters - Section 551.074 of the Texas Government Code (Discussion of Routine Personnel Report) [Board will deliberate the appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of public employees of the District]: No Executive Session was held.

**Request for Approval of Routine Personnel Report:** Moved by Smith, seconded by Norwood to approve the Routine Personnel Report as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

**<u>Adjournment</u>**: Carol Gregg, Board President, adjourned the Board meeting at 7:14 PM.

Board President
Carol Gregg
Board Secretary
Fay Batch