## **INTERMEDIATE SCHOOL DISTRICT 917**

A School Board Meeting of the Intermediate School District 917 School Board was held on Tuesday, May 6, 2025, at 1300 145<sup>th</sup> Street East, Rosemount, MN, in the Board Room.

<u>Members Present:</u> Kim Baker, Tom Bennett, Lesley Chester, Lisa Ehleringer, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Hannah Simmons, Mark Zuzek, and ex-officio Superintendent Dr. Michael Favor.

Members Absent: Monica Weber

<u>Also Present:</u> Nicole Flesner, Kate Hulse, Mark Johns, Melissa Schaller, Leia Ward, Marci Levy-Maguire, and Linda Berg.

School Board Chair Tom Bennett called the meeting to order at 6:23 PM.

The Pledge of Allegiance was conducted in the prior Board work session.

Motion by Byron Schwab, seconded by Mark Zuzek, to approve the agenda. Voting aye: Kim Baker, Tom Bennett, Lesley Chester, Lisa Ehleringer, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Hannah Simmons, and Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion passed.

- 1. Motion by Hannah Simmons, seconded by Kim Baker, to approve the consent items, as presented. Voting aye: Kim Baker, Tom Bennett, Lesley Chester, Lisa Ehleringer, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Hannah Simmons, and Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion passed.
  - Minutes: April 1, 2025, Regular School Board Meeting
  - Personnel: New Hires: Kathryn Adee, Sign Language Interpreter, effective April 28, 2025. Francisco Gomez, Education Support Professional, effective April 1, 2025. Katie Hayhurtst, Education Support Professional, effective April 22, 2025. Katie Irby, Education Support Professional, effective April 14, 2025. Sean Stallings, Education Support Professional, effective April 1, 2025. Change in Status:

    Jeanne D'Aloia, Teacher to Assistant Principal/Special Education Coordinator, effective July 1, 2025. Resignations and Terminations: Daniel Boston, Teacher, effective June 12, 2025. Dunigan, Annette, Education Support Professional, effective April 3, 2025. Payton Henderson, Education Support Professional, effective April 3, 2025. Payton Henderson, Education Support Knight, Education Support Professional, effective April 24, 2025. Marci Levy-Maguire, Director of Comm. and Strategic Partnership, effective June 30, 2025. Barry Rogers, Teacher, Education Support Professional, effective April 11, 2025. Annie Taylor, Teacher, effective June 12, 2025. Retirements: Linda Berg, Executive Administrative Assistant to the Superintendent and School Board, August 1, 2025, to July 31, 2025.
  - **Donations:** Items for the School Store for the TESA Exchange Program from Kym Nitcher of Oakdale and \$500 donation from the S. Robert Street Business Association for the DCALS North program.
- 2. Motion by Byron Schwab, seconded by Kim Baker, to approve the bills from March 26, 2025 through April 30, 2025, wire transfers, and investment report as presented by the Finance Director. Voting aye: Kim Baker, Tom Bennett, Lesley Chester, Lisa Ehleringer, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Hannah Simmons, and Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion passed.
- 3. Board member Cindy Nordstrom, introduced the following Resolution, waived reading the full resolution, for Licensed Staff and Interpreters' Week. Motion was seconded by Hannah Simmons. (Addendum A.) Voting aye: Kim Baker, Tom Bennett, Lesley Chester, Lisa Ehleringer, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Hannah Simmons, and Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion passed.

4. Motion by Lisa Ehleringer, seconded by Byron Schwab, to approve the Blood Borne Pathogens Exposure Control Plan, as presented. (Addendum B.) Voting aye: Kim Baker, Tom Bennett, Lesley Chester, Lisa Ehleringer, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Hannah Simmons, and Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion passed.

The School Board and Mark Johns reviewed the Accounts Receivable Aging Report in the Board Work session prior to this meeting.

- 5. Motion by Mark Zuzek, seconded by Byron Schwab, to approve the Long-term Facilities Plan, as presented by the Finance Director. (Addendum C.) Voting aye: Kim Baker, Tom Bennett, Lesley Chester, Lisa Ehleringer, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Hannah Simmons, and Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion passed.
- 6. Board Member Cindy Nordstrom, introduced the following resolution, waived reading the full resolution: Resolution approving Intermediate District 917's Long-term facility maintenance program budget and authorizing the inclusion of those projects in the district's application for long-term facility maintenance program revenue. The motion for the adoption of the foregoing resolution was duly seconded by Hannah Simmons, and upon vote being taken thereon, the following voted in favor thereof: Kim Baker, Tom Bennett, Lesley Chester, Lisa Ehleringer, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Hannah Simmons, and Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion passed. (Addendum D.)
- 7. Motion by Byron Schwab, seconded by Kim Baker, to approve Levy Allocations for 2025 Payable 2026 (FY26 final Safe Schools Budgets and FY26 final Lease Levy Allocations information), as presented by the Finance Director. (Addendum E.) Voting aye: Kim Baker, Tom Bennett, Lesley Chester, Lisa Ehleringer, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Hannah Simmons, and Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion passed.
- 9. Motion by Cindy Nordstrom, seconded by Kim Baker, to approve Extension of Probation for Teacher, as presented. (Addendum F.) Voting aye: Kim Baker, Tom Bennett, Lesley Chester, Lisa Ehleringer, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Hannah Simmons, and Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion passed.
- 10. Board Member Hannah Simmons, introduced the following resolution, waived reading the full resolution: Resolution for Nonrenewal of Probationary Teacher. The motion for the adoption of the foregoing resolution was duly seconded by Cindy Nordstrom, and upon vote being taken thereon, the following voted in favor thereof: Kim Baker, Tom Bennett, Lesley Chester, Lisa Ehleringer, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Hannah Simmons, and Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion passed. (Addendum G.)
- 11. Motion by Hannah Simmons, seconded by Kim Baker, to approve the Memorandum of Understanding for Teacher Apprenticeship Program, as presented. (Addendum H.) Voting aye: Kim Baker, Tom Bennett, Lesley Chester, Lisa Ehleringer, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Hannah Simmons, and Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion passed.
- 12. Motion by Cindy Nordstrom, seconded by Lesley Chester, to approve the Memorandum of Understanding for Educational Support Professionals, as presented. (Addendum I.) Voting aye: Kim Baker, Tom Bennett, Lesley Chester, Lisa Ehleringer, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Hannah Simmons, and Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion passed.
- 13. Motion by Kim Baker, seconded by Mark Zuzek, to approve the Memorandum of Understanding for Certified Occupational Therapy Assistants, as presented. (Addendum J.) Voting aye: Kim Baker, Tom Bennett, Lesley Chester, Lisa Ehleringer, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Hannah Simmons, and Mark

Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion passed.

- 14. Motion by Mark Zuzek, seconded by Kim Baker, to approve the following policies on a first and final reading: 201 Legal Status of the School Board; 203 Operation of the School Board Governing Rules; 203.1 School Board Procedures Rules of Order; 203.5 School Board Meeting Agenda; and 203.6 Consent Agendas. (Addendum K.) Voting aye: Kim Baker, Tom Bennett, Lesley Chester, Lisa Ehleringer, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Hannah Simmons, and Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion passed.
- 15. There being no further business the meeting adjourned at 6:32 PM.

The next regular School Board Meeting will be Tuesday, June 10	, 2025, at 5:15 PM.

Clerk			