MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF SOUTHWEST TEXAS JUNIOR COLLEGE

May 21, 2015

The Board of Trustees of Southwest Texas Junior College met in regular session May 15, 2015 in the Bluebonnet Room of the Matthews Student Center. The Board President, Rodolfo R. Flores, called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Board members present were:

Rodolfo R. Flores, President Dr. Harry O. Watkins, Vice President Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary Maria Elena Lara Victor Lopez Tony T. Moreno, and Anita Shackelford

Also present was Dr. Hector Gonzales, President of the College.

The minutes of the April 16, 2015 meeting were read and approved as presented by Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary.

Board President Flores welcomed guests at the meeting which included college personnel Joe Barker, Dr. Mark Underwood, Anne Tarski, Juan Guzman, Wade Carpenter, Bonnie Clinebell, Laura Gammill, Ismael Martinez, and Margot Mata. Also present was Thomas Ferrell from Ferrell/Brown Inc. Architects and from the Uvalde Leader News was Kim Eagle.

Audience to Patrons – none

Reports:

- A. Eagle Pass Project Update presented by Thomas Ferrell
- B. Allied Health Programs Update presented by Juan Guzman

President's Report presented by Dr. Hector Gonzales. A copy is attached.

Rodolfo R. Flores presented a 10 year service pin to Maria Elena Lara Dr. Harry O. Watkins presented a 40 year service pin to Rodolfo R. Flores

A motion was made by Dr. Harry O. Watkins and seconded by Victor Lopez to approve the Eagle Pass Academic change orders; Courtyard \$15,000, Retaining Walls \$12,000, Patching and Administration Building drive \$12,000. Motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Dr. Harry O. Watkins and seconded by Anita Shackelford to reject all proposals for the Crystal City site construction bids. Motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Dr. Harry O. Watkins to award the Eagle Pass Technical Campus construction Finishing Out bids to Frontera Construction in the amount not to exceed \$963,430.00. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Anita Shackelford and seconded by Maria Elena Lara to approve the financial statement as of April 30, 2015 as presented by Anne Tarski, Vice President of Finance. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Dr. Harry O. Watkins to authorize the College President to approve change orders on the Eagle Pass Academic, Eagle Pass Technical, Finish Out, and Crystal City Library projects. Motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Anita Shackelford and seconded by Dr. Harry O. Watkins to designate the College President to execute the required document to grant Rio Grande Electric Coop and AEP Electric Company an easement for the transformers on construction projects. Motion carried unanimously.

After convening in open session, Board President Flores called the board into executive session at 8:02 p.m. to consider:

- A. Personnel matters relative to Tenure recommendations and Professor Rank
- B. Employees: Terminated / Resigned / Retired / New Hires / Transfers.

Upon returning to open session at 8:35 p.m.:

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Dr. Harry O. Watkins to award Tenure to Trish G. Driskill, Lucas B. Limbrick, Rolando Lira, and Professor Rank to Marsha Heaton as recommended by Administration. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

Today's meeting was closed in honor of Harold Sills (11 years of service), Helen M. Strait (13 years of service), Lynn E. Masterson (17 years of service), Alexander B. Coronado (21 years of service), Stephen M. Kerbow (25 years of service), Rojelio Martinez (35 years of service) and Dr. Ronald (Pete) Winn (45 years of service) - all retirees.

With no further business or action items to discuss, Dr. Harry O. Watkins made the motion to adjourn. Maria Elena Lara seconded the motion. Motion carried at 8:37 p.m.

	Rodolfo R. Flores, President of the Board
Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary of the Board	
	Dr. Hector Gonzales, Witness