AT A SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, AT 6:00 P.M., AUGUST 26, 2021, WITH THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS:

<u>Present</u>: <u>Absent</u>:

Delma Abalos
Carol Gregg - Virtual
Tammy Hawkins
Nelson Minyard
Dr. Donna Smith
Christopher Stanley

School Officials: Dr. Scott Muri, Mike Adkins, Staci Ashley, Dr. Lilia Náñez, Jason

Osborne, Alicia Syverson, Dr. Kellie Wilks

Others: Mike Atkins, Erin Bueno, Robert Cedillo, Dr. Corey Seymour, Dr.

Keeley Simpson, Jaime Miller, Daryton Ramsey, Joshua Skinner, Ruth Campbell, Dr. Rohith Saravanan, Dr. Timothy Benton, Russell Tippin, Christin Timmons, Jessica Wright, Daniel Wright, Helen Husband, Jennifer Woodall, Delene Mahan, Katherine Pena, Abigail Reyna, Jesse Christesson, Jasmine Reyna, Danielle De La Rosa, Nia Miranda, Andrea Hess, Chris Gonzalez, Naomi Fuentes, Javier Ruiz, Bob Thayer, Brian Mallory, Adam Duran, Tammy Owen, Clinton Gill, Sarah Acosta, Dallas Kennedy, Christy Kennedy, Shawn Hogg, Amber Hogg, Shaye Lane, Lillian Camp, Judy Camp, Braxton Camp, Melissa Leal, Becky Rivera-Weiss, Dale Barnes, John Christmas, Misti Trull, Jason Richardson, Allyson Richardson, Kenneth Kindel, Nina White, Brooklynn White, Hunter White, Rusty White, Rhonda Haley, Elizabeth McNabb, Matt Stringer, Samantha Horn, Elizabeth Velasco, Eric Garcia, Mark Farguhar, Luiselda Castillo, Amanda Provence, Courtney Heap, Gayla Harkness, Eddie Harkness, Margeaux Reeves, Meghan Huber, Clayton Smith, Jana Smith, Randall Hogg, Connie Hogg, Teresa James, Cody James, Jacob Chapman, Jennie Fanous, Crystal Clarie, Matt Looney, Erin Faulk, Rena Falcon, Stacy Jackson, Chris House, Jennifer House, Dawn Weaks, Samuel Weaks, Erica Velasco, Holly Burke, Kaci Miller, John Kyle Nunnold, Kamilla Nunnold, Charisse Coffman, Marilyn South, Corey South, Cristen Timmons, Shelby Huffman, Brittney Hindson, Jeff Russell, Kristen Fraley, Nick Fraley, Megan Fraley, Ayden Fraley, Kristal Lee, Gilbert Mendoza, Natalee Irwin, Christian Sanchez, Trent Huber, Adam Smith, Albert Anchondo, Mary Franco

Dr. Steve Brown

<u>Meeting Called to Order</u>: Tammy Hawkins, Board President, called the Board of Trustees Meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

- Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law this is to certify that the provisions of Section 551.001 of the Texas Government Code have been met in connection with the public notice of this meeting: Board President Tammy Hawkins, verified that the provisions of Section 551.001 of the Texas Government Code have been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.
- Opening Remarks by Superintendent: In Dr. Muri's opening remarks he expressed his appreciation of the attendance at the meeting, not only were community members seated in the board room but also three other, overflow rooms. Noting a single item on the agenda, with a number of people who requested to speak to the issue. He asked that each speaker be given the opportunity to speak, with no cheering, clapping, booing, or making other sounds as they speak. He mentioned that the news has shown several meetings from around the country that were poor examples of decorum and respect for others, and he hoped this meeting would remain respectful for all.
- **Public Comment**: Individuals who wish to participate during the portion of the meeting designated for public comment shall sign up with the presiding officer or designee before the meeting begins as specified in the Board's procedures on public comment and shall indicate the agenda item on which they wish to address the Board. *BED(LOCAL)* The following seven citizens participated during this portion of the meeting.

During public comment, thirty-three people addressed agenda item 5A (Discussion and Approval of Resolution Regarding Temporary Mask Use by Staff and Students), most of whom asked the board not to adopt a mask requirement.

Each of the following were given two minutes to speak: Dr. Rohith Saravanan, Russell Tippin, Andrea Hess, Danielle De La Rosa, Jasmine Reyna, Jessica Wright, Daniel Wright, Abigail Reyna, Jesse Christesson, Helen Husband, Jennifer Woodall, Javier Ruiz, Brian Mallory, Adam Duran, Bob Thayer, Sarah Acosta, Shawn Hogg, Judy Camp, Dale Barnes, Misti Trull, Jason Richardson, Rhonda Haley, Samantha Horn, Elizabeth Velasco, Courtney Heap, Gayla Harkness, Meghan Huber, Margeaux Reeves, Trent Huber, Randall Hogg, Jennie Fanous, Erin Faulk, Adam Smith, and Samuel Weaks.

At the end of the public comments, Dr. Muri told the audience he was proud of the way the session had gone, the level of respect shown to each of the speakers, and the information and opinions shared. He called it an impressive experience. Possible Request for Approval to Move to Closed Meeting - Personnel Matters - Section 551.074 of the Texas Government Code - [Board will deliberate the appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of public employees of the District or hear a complaint or charge against an officer or employee.]

Consultations with Attorney – Section 551.071 of the Texas Open Meetings Act [The Board will meet in Closed Session in Consultation with the Board's Attorney Regarding all Matters as Authorized by Law.]:

Board President Tammy Hawkins convened the Board of Trustees to closed session at 7:19 p.m.

Board President Tammy Hawkins reconvened the Board of Trustees to open session at 8:02 p.m.

Discussion and Approval of Resolution Regarding Temporary Mask Use 25623 by Staff and Students: Moved by Minyard, seconded by Abalos to approve a resolution to allow the superintendent to Implement a Temporary Mask Requirement when it is Determined to be Legally and Medically Appropriate. If implemented in the future, it would include these four stipulations: 1) All students, staff, and visitors while indoors on ECISD property and while riding ECISD buses, must wear face masks covering the nose and mouth; 2) Masks are not require while eating, or at other times specifically deemed reasonable appropriate by the campus principal or building administrator related to health and safety; 3) Individuals with religious or medical needs/disabilities that prohibit the wearing of masks, upon acceptable verification, are excused from this requirement; 4) The superintendent shall review COVID-19 related conditions regularly and is authorized to determine the: duration of the mask requirement, cessation of the requirement based on improved conditions, and/or reinstatement of the mask requirement if lifted.

Motion unanimously approved.

remarks.
ı

<u>Adjournment</u>: Tammy Hawkins, Board President, adjourned the Board meeting at 8:31 p.m.

Board President	Board Secretary
Tammy Hawkins	Carol Gregg