## BOARD MINUTES April 16, 2014 Regular Meeting

CALL TO ORDER:

BE IT REMEMBERED that on April 16, 2014 a Regular Meeting of the Crockett County Consolidated Common School District Board of Trustees was called to order at 6:30 P.M. by Board President Ray Don Myers. A quorum of members was present including Ray Don Myers, Orlando DeHoyos, Grizz Medina, Amy Newton, Dwight Childress, and David McWilliams. Board Member Roland DeHovos joined the meeting in progress. Also attending the April 16, 2014 Regular Meeting of the Board were Raul Chavarria, Melissa Perner, Mari Sanchez, Chuy Martinez, Anna Martinez, Keith Harmsen, Kimberly Maldonado, Cynthia Hokit, Donnie Lee, Samantha De La Garza, Tamara McWilliams, Azaylea Jouor, Bobbie Jo Vargas, Kamryn Lozano, Kelly Sewell, Gabby Greto, Dan Pullen, Chris Cantu, Carissa Perez, Erik Thormaehlen, Rachel Mendoza, Asia Lara, Ronny Clayton, Janine Savala, Betsy Nanny, Vicky Munoz, Paige Lewis, Diane Lewis, Sidney Perez, Bethany Mtz, Madie Childress, Kerstin Dane, Vrylen Davis, Butch Gonzales, Frankie Kay, Estafania Torralba, Lexi Poindexter, and Doris Hood.

INVOCATION AND PLEDGES:

The Invocation was offered by Keith Harmsen. Everyone in attendance joined in the pledges to the American Flag and the Texas Flag.

DISTRICT SPOTLIGHT:

The Ozona High School Girls Softball Team was recognized and congratulated for their successful year and for being the Region 1, 1-A District Champions.

Plaques were presented to Ozona High School students Lexie Poindexter, Vivian Medina, and Ashley Tandy for being selected to receive state recognition for their academic and athletic achievement

APPROVAL OF AGENDA:

A motion by Ray Don Myers to approve the agenda for the April 16, 2014 Regular Meeting of the Board with one change was seconded by Grizz Medina and passed 7-0.

Change: Move item #10 to be considered following Item #5.

OPEN FORUM:

Local citizen Donnie Lee spoke to the Board concerning safety issues and district equipment being used by students. Student Chris Cantu asked the Board to consider a Student Council project to clean the outside of district buildings. Both concerns will be considered for future business.

REPORTS: The reports were accepted as information only and did not

require Board action.

CONSENT AGENDA: A motion by Ray Don Myers to approve the minutes from the

March 19, 2014 Regular Meeting was seconded by Dwight

Childress and passed 7-0.

CLOSED SESSION: President Ray Don Myers recessed the April 16, 2014 Regular

> Meeting of the Board at 7:47 P.M. for the purpose of entering into Closed Session as authorized by Texas Government Code Chapter 551. Following the business conducted during Closed

Session, the Regular Meeting was resumed at 9:29 P.M.

**ACTION FROM** A motion by Ray Don Myers to approve the contract renewal for employees Cathy English, Katie Parker, and Tisha **CLOSED SESSION:** 

Harrison. The motion was seconded by Orlando DeHoyos and

passed 7-0.

TEACHER

2014:

APPRECIATION

WEEK MAY 5-9,

LOCAL POLICY

**FUTURE BUSINESS:** 

UPDATE 99:

A motion by Ray Don Myers to regretfully approve the previously accepted resignations from Ernestina Moran, Cathy English, and David Tandy. The motion was seconded by

Roland DeHoyos and passed 7-0.

Ray Don Myers made the motion to adopt a resolution

recognizing Teacher Appreciation Week and to thank all of the teachers and staff for their hard work and dedication. The motion was seconded by Orlando DeHoyos and passed 7-0.

Event details are undecided at this time.

A motion by Ray Don Myers to approve TASB Local Policy

Update 99 as reviewed and listed was seconded by Dwight

Childress and passed 7-0.

A motion by Ray Don Myers to approve May 21, 2014 at 6:30

P.M. as the date and time for the May Regular Board Meeting

was seconded by Orlando DeHoyos and passed 7-0.

With no further business pending before the Board, a motion by Ray Don Myers to adjourn the April 16, 2014 Regular ADJOURNMENT:

Meeting of the Board was seconded by Grizz Medina and passed 7-0. The meeting was adjourned at 9:33 P.M.

SIGNED:		
	President of the Board	
ATTEST:		
	Secretary of the Board	