Regular Meeting

Monday, March 18, 2024 5:40 PM Westwood Primary, 1701 West Point Tap Road, Palestine, TX 75803

Carolyn Booker: Present Angela Choate: Present Jeff Cooper: Present Mindy Cretsinger: Present Sam Estes: Present Jess Huddleston: Present Bryan Jones: Absent

Others present: Wade Stanford, Kyle Johnson, Britni Calzada, Brenda Bing, Nathan Allen, Laura Jones, Angie Conner, Kayla Warren

- CALL TO ORDER AND ESTABLISH QUORUM Discussion: Meeting called to order by President Booker at 5:40pm
- 2. CLOSED SESSION Discussion: President Booker took the meeting into closed session at 5:41pm Closed session concluded at 6pm and meeting taken back into open session by President Booker
- 2.A. Acknowledge teacher contracts for the 2024-2025 school year Discussion: The board acknowledged all teacher contracts for the 2024-2025 school year as presented in closed session.

Primary- Rachel Armstrong, Alexis Austin, Beth Boger, Courtney Bolt, Cassidee Bruton, Cassandra Buth, Susan Calhoun, Angie Conner, Madelyn Conner, Sherry Doty, Cameron Dyer, Patricia Ellis, Piper Elrod, Skylar Facklam, Kelli Gunnels, Karen Hill, Debbie Jenkins, Bonnie Linam, Abena Prempeh, Lex Ann Royal, Randel Scoggins, Priscilla Snowden, Rebekah Stevens, Jaclyn Taylor and Jennifer Wright

Elementary - Brooke Barnett, Erin Barron, Crystal Bayless, Felicia Berryhill, Larry Boyd, Quintina Bryant, Clara Cummings, Urita Emanuel, Kasey Englehart, Tracy Grabs, Talia Hodge, Bettina Knowles, Glenna Lesh, Amber Linam, Jennifer Lowe, Jennifer McDonald, Jessica Morman, Patrick Pickens, April Pogue, Katie Robertson,m Don Sharp, Wendy Spacek, Shanna Standridge, Jennifer Stoddard, Terri Sumrow, Miranda Verner and Michelle Wade

Junior High -Rhyne Acuff, Megan Bedre, Ashiegh Bishop, Jeremy Brown, Kadrian Bryant, Debbie Coates, Amanda Cox, Kathy Elton, Julie Florence, Kimberely Gilbreath, Reagan Gray, Thomas Hanna,

Ann Ives, Daedrian Lipscomb, Keeman Lott, Katelyn Massey, Sarah McMorris, Jamie Oates, Chaston Pruitt, Anna Ramirez, Deborah Richburg, Madison Roberson, Henry Watts and Brenna Wilkinson Absolom High School - Cameron Absolom, Robin Adams, Zachary Atencio, Jennifer Berry, Ross Bishop, Stacey Clark, Shane Comeaux, Eddie Ervin, Janae Evans, Kyle Frith, Kelly Green, Amanda Haney, Yanneth Harris, Tyler-Jean Hebert, Michael Hoyt, Tyrell Jenkins, Tiffany Kidd, Brittny Knight, Kenneth Lafleur, Jamie Lester, Emilio Mez, Edwin Miller, Benjamin Moran, Devlon Noble, <Marina Powell, Jessica Puckett, Tonya Randolph-Lewis, Natalie Russell, Shayla Skief, Varell Spacek, Destiney Swain Jeffrey Tauber, William Tunstall, Quinten Woods, and Zach Wuthrich 2.B. Real property Action(s): Motion to grant authority to Superintendent to negotiate real property contracts and Board President to execute real property contracts as presented in closed session. This motion, made by Carolyn Booker and seconded by Jess Huddleston, Passed. Voting Detail: Carolyn Booker: Yea Angela Choate: Yea Jeff Cooper: Yea Mindy Yea Cretsinger: Sam Estes: Yea Jess Huddleston: Yea Bryan Jones: Absent Voting Summary: Yea: 6, Nay: 0, Absent: 1 2.C. Intruder Detection Audit Findings 2.D. Board to consider Westwood ISD Special Education Director 3. ROLL CALL INVOCATION 4. Discussion: Invocation given by President Booker. 5. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE/TEXAS PLEDGE 6. ACTION ITEM 6.A. Board to consider approval of the agenda as presented Action(s): Motion to approve the agenda as presented. This motion, made by Sam Estes and seconded by Jess

```
Huddleston, Passed.
 Voting Detail:
 Carolyn Booker:
                   Yea
 Angela Choate:
                   Yea
 Jeff Cooper:
                   Yea
 Mindy
                   Yea
 Cretsinger:
 Sam Estes:
                   Yea
 Jess Huddleston:
                   Yea
 Bryan Jones:
                   Absent
 Voting Summary: Yea: 6, Nay: 0, Absent: 1
7. Discussion and Possible Approval of Action
 Arising from Closed Session
7.A. Board to consider and possibly approve Westwood
 ISD Special Education Director
 Action(s):
 Motion to approve the Westwood ISD Special
 Education Director as presented. This motion,
 made by Angela Choate and seconded by Jeff
 Cooper, Passed.
 Voting Detail:
 Carolyn Booker:
                   Yea
 Angela Choate:
                   Yea
 Jeff Cooper:
                   Yea
 Mindy
                   Yea
 Cretsinger:
                   Yea
 Sam Estes:
 Jess Huddleston:
                   Yea
 Bryan Jones:
                   Absent
 Voting Summary: Yea: 6, Nay: 0, Absent: 1
8. Westwod Primary Time Capsule from 1979
 Discussion: Mr. Stanford, Sam Estes and Jess
 Huddleston opened the Time Capsule that was found
 in the wall of the Primary during construction
 this summer.
9. Recognition of Students and Faculty
 Discussion: The campus principals recognized
 their staff and students of the month.
 Staff Employees of the Month - Kelli Gunnels,
 Clara Cummins, Madison Roberson, Cameron Absolom
 and Mandy Douglas
 Primary students- Valerie Trevino, Emberlyn
 Calhoun, Nico Warfield and Malaysia Hall
 Elementary - Johnathan Almond, Kynsleigh Wilmeth,
 Brooklyn Murillo and Camila Gante
 Junior High - Morgan Hawthorne and Samantha
 Arriaga
 High School - Jayana Coney, Kayla McDonald, Aaron
```

Gamboa and Hanna Cochran 10. OPEN FORUM AUDIENCE PARTICIPATION - POLICY BED (Local) Discussion: None 11. INFORMATION 11.A. Curriculum Moment Discussion: Moved to next month, Dr. Robinson was not available for the meeting. 11.B. Finance Update Discussion: Mr. Johnson gave an update on actual budget numbers through February 2024 and reviewed current ADA numbers. 11.C. Proud Panther Discussion: Mr. Stanford presented Sonya Brown as the lone Proud Panther nominee for 2024. 12. ACTION ITEMS The board to cancel the school board 12.A. election scheduled for May 4, 2024, in accordance with Section 2;053 (a) of the Texas Education Code Action(s): Motion approving to cancel the school board election scheduled for May 4, 2024, in accordance with Section 2;053 (a) of the Texas Education Code. This motion, made by Carolyn Booker and seconded by Jeff Cooper, Passed. Voting Detail: Carolyn Booker: Yea Angela Choate: Yea Jeff Cooper: Yea Mindy Yea Cretsinger: Sam Estes: Yea Jess Huddleston: Yea Bryan Jones: Absent Voting Summary: Yea: 6, Nay: 0, Absent: 1 12.B. Board to consider approval of consent agenda Action(s): Motion to approve the consent agenda as presented. This motion, made by Jeff Cooper and seconded by Angela Choate, Passed. Voting Detail: Carolyn Booker: Yea Angela Choate: Yea Jeff Cooper: Yea Mindy Yea Cretsinger:

Sam Estes: Yea Jess Huddleston: Yea Bryan Jones: Absent Voting Summary: Yea: 6, Nay: 0, Absent: 1 Minutes of Regular Board Meeting-February 12.B.1. 12, 2024 12.B.2. Fundraisers 12.B.3. Quarterly Investment Report Presenter: Kyle Johnson Board to consider and possible approve 12.C. Proud Panther nominations for 2024 Action(s): Motion to name Sonya Brown the Proud Panther nominee for 2024. This motion, made by Jess Huddleston and seconded by Sam Estes, Passed. Voting Detail: Carolyn Booker: Yea Angela Choate: Yea Jeff Cooper: Yea Mindy Yea Cretsinger: Sam Estes: Yea Jess Huddleston: Yea Bryan Jones: Absent Voting Summary: Yea: 6, Nay: 0, Absent: 1 13. Future Agenda Items and Requests 14. Adjournment

Discussion: The meeting was adjourned by President Booker at 7:21pm

Board Secretary