The Board of Trustees of Denton Independent School District, State of Texas, met in a regular meeting at the Denton ISD Central Services building, 1307 N. Locust St., Denton, Texas, on Tuesday, April 10, 2018 at 6:00 PM. The meeting was called to order by president Mia Price who announced that a quorum was present.

Board Members

Alexander, Burns, Chadwick, Price, and Stafford

Present:

Board Members

Absent:

Martinez and Smith

Arrived Late:

Left Early:

Present:

School Personnel Mattingly, Stripling, Monschke, Valenta, Lopez, Perkins, O'Bara, Stevenson

and Zavala

Others: Caitlyn Jones, *Denton Record Chronicle*; DEA; Randy Stout, Attorney;

citizens, staff, and students.

Pledges: The pledges to the flags were led by Borman Elementary students.

Presentations/ Recognitions

This spring, 12 Denton ISD students advanced to the Texas Law Enforcement Explorer Advisor Association's state competition.

The mission of TLEEA is to promote law enforcement throughout the state through educational, recreational and competitive programs for students. This marks the third consecutive year that students from the LaGrone Advanced Technology Complex have qualified for the state competition as

part of teams or in individual events.

This April, 24 Denton ISD students advanced to the state portion of the annual Skills USA competition. Skills USA is an organization funded by business and trade industry professionals that create competitions and events to allow students to showcase their talents and skills while being able to evaluate their performances. Many students that participate in Skills USA competitions move into careers in technology or trade industries.

1st Open Forum

Willie Hudspeth addressed the Board regarding high property taxes. He also addressed the Board about students not being able to read.

Kesavan Srivilliputhur junior at Denton High School. Addressed the Board about demanding excellence in students. Felt the District did not properly recognize the National Merit Scholars.

Discussion & Review of 2018-2019 Budget

Debbie Monschke, Asst. Superintendent for Administrative Services presented the recently received Denton County Appraisal District on the proposed 2018-2019 property tax values.

This item is for information only. No action is required.

Discussion of TIA (Technology in Action) Dwight Goodwin, Director of Instructional Technology provided an update to the Board regarding the planning progress of the upcoming 2018 TIA (Technology In Action) conference hosted by Denton ISD. TIA is currently a self-funded event (via participant registration, vendor sponsorships, and donations). District funds are not required to produce this event and the conference is hosted in a Denton ISD facility (Braswell HS). This annual conference is held in mid to late July (this year, July 17 & 18).

This item is for information only. No action is required.

Discussion of Texas Lesson Study Project Dr. Gwen Perkins, Area Superintendent, Lacey Rainey, Pecan Creek Elementary Principal and Dr. Patty Jensen, Hodge Elementary Principal presented the Lesson Study Project.

The purpose of this workshop is to provide an overview of the **Texas Lesson Study Project (TXLS) Professional Development** program, which was piloted at Hodge Elementary School and Pecan Creek Elementary School. The initiative was advanced by the Texas Education Agency as a component of Commissioner Mike Morath's TEA Strategic Plan 2017-2021. TXLS is an inquiry-based, job embedded professional development pilot allowing teachers to work collaboratively to develop, teach, and assess research-based lessons. This workshop item is intended to provide an overview of TXLS within our two elementary campuses and share the lessons learned from their participation. It is the hope of those presenting that there will be rich discussion and valuable feedback regarding the process and the overall impact to student achievement.

This item is for information only. No action is required.

2nd Open Forum

No one wished to speak.

Consent Agenda

Motion by Stafford and seconded by Alexander

To approve (the minutes for the March 20, 2018 board meeting; personnel matters, leaves and absences, Teacher Contracts and Other Professional Contracts for 2018-2019 was approved, Jeff Russell was named Area Superintendent; Budget Amendments as of March 31, 2018; Investment Report as of February 28, 2018; approval of purchase and installation of the student Chromebook devices for year three totaling \$1,286,720.00 which will be divided between Dell for the purchase of the Chromebook devices in the amount of \$1,245,000.00 and Pathway Communications for installation in the amount of \$41,720.00; approval of

Construction Manager at Risk for the potential 2018 Bond Projects. Balfour Beatty Construction, Northstar Construction, and Steel & Freeman as Construction Managers at Risk. Along with these three (3) vendors, it is recommended that if the need arises, the District may also work with Buford-Thompson and Cadence McShane; approval of RFP 1803-07 for chiller replacement at Ryan High School; approval of RFP# 1803-06 for CTE Supplies, Services & Equipment; approval of Intelligent Irrigation Installation change order #1 from TD Industries, Inc. in the amount of \$122,817.00; approval of the TWU Dual Credit Partnership Agreement with DISD; and approval of AP Calculus textbooks for use beginning fall 2018).

The motion passed unanimously of Board members present and voting.

Motion by Barbara Burns and seconded by Doug Chadwick

To approve of Jeff Russell as the fourth Area Superintendent

The motion passed unanimously of Board members present and voting.

Consider Approval of	Motion by Charles Stafford and seconded by Jim Alexander
TASB Update	To approve TASB Update 110 local policy and Policy CE (Local)
110 and Policy	Annual Operating Budget on first reading.
CE (Local)	
Annual	
Operating	The motion passed unanimously of Board members present and vo-
Budget – 1 st	
Reading	

3rd Open Forum No one wished to speak.

Closed Meeting The Board convened into Closed Session at 7:43 pm

Open Meeting The Board reconvened into Open Session at 8:30 pm

Adjournment: The meeting adjourned at 8:50 pm

President	
 Secretary	

present and voting.