AT A REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, AT 6:00 P.M., July 19, 2016, WITH THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS:

Present: Absent:

Ray Beaty, D.C. Teri Ervin Carol Gregg Nelson Minyard Dr. Donna C. Smith Doyle Woodall Dr. Steve Brown

School Officials: Tom Crowe, Mike Adkins, David Harwell, Wendy Hines, David

Finley, Roy Garcia, Keith Garinger, Carolyn Gonzalez, Brian

Moersch

Others: Mike Atkins, John Thomas, Jason Osborne, Alisha Holguin, Marlane

Burns, Elaine Sparks, Cynthia McNabb, Mary Franco

**<u>Meeting Called to Order</u>**: Teri Ervin, M.Ed., Board President, called the Board of Trustees Meeting to order at 12:00 p.m.

**<u>Pledge of Allegiance to United States and Texas Flags</u>:** The United States and Texas flag pledges were led by Superintendent Tom Crowe.

**23400 Invocation**: Invocation was led by Ray Beaty, D.C., Board of Trustee

<u>Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law</u>: Teri Ervin, M.Ed., Board President, verified that the provisions of Section 551.001 of the Texas Government Code have been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.

(Superintendent Tom Crowe presented Nelson Minyard with the immediate past Board of Trustees President plaque for his service as School Board President from July 2015 through June 2016.)

<u>Presentation: 2016-2017 District Continuous Improvement Plan</u>: The Board of Trustees reviewed the 2016-2017 District Continuous Improvement Plan. The plan was previously approved on June 28, 2016 and has been updated to include the action steps under each goal.

No action required.

Request for Approval of Texas Education Agency (TEA) Alternate

Approver for Superintendent: Moved by Gregg, seconded by Minyard to
approve the Texas Education Agency (TEA) Alternate Approver for
Superintendent as presented.

Director of Information Systems/District PEIMS Coordinator Heather Potts will serve as the Alternate Approver for the Superintendent.

Motion unanimously approved.

**Request for Approval of Purchases over \$50,000**: Moved by Gregg, seconded by Minyard to approve Purchases over \$50,000 as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

Request for Approval of Interlocal Agreement between Education Service
Center, Region 20 (COOP) and Ector County ISD to Participate in
Education Service Center, Region 20 Cooperative Purchasing Program:
Moved by Minyard, seconded by Gregg to approve Interlocal Agreement between Education Service Center, Region 20 (COOP) and Ector County ISD to Participate in Education Service Center, Region 20 Cooperative Purchasing Program as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

Request for Approval of Interlocal Agreements with Region 18 for Providing Various Services to the District: Moved by Gregg, seconded by Minyard to approve the Interlocal Agreements with Region 18 for Providing Various Services to the District as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

- **<u>Request for Approval of Consent Agenda:</u>** Moved by Gregg, seconded by Minyard to approve Consent Agenda as presented.
  - 1. Request for Approval of Minutes of Meetings:

June 06, 2016 - Special Board Meeting

June 21, 2016 – Board Work Study Meeting

June 28, 2016 - Special Board Meeting

June 28, 2016 – Regular Board Meeting

- 2. Request for Approval of Bills for Payment
- 3. School Construction Report
- 4. Acknowledgement of Donations and Gifts
- 5. Request for Approval of 2016-2017 T-TESS Appraisers

Motion unanimously approved.

23408 Request for Approval of Closed Meeting – Personnel Matters - Section 551.074 of the Texas Government Code (Discussion of Routine Personnel Report) [Board will deliberate the appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of public employees of the District]:

No closed session held.

**23409** Information Items: The Bid Tabulations, Financials and the Routine Personnel Report were provided to the Board of Trustees as information items.

(Superintendent Tom Crowe introduced the following to the Board of Trustees: Alisha Holguin former LBJ Assistant Principal as the Principal at LBJ, Alisha is replacing Scott Houston who recently resigned.

Jason Osborne as the District's new Chief Innovation Officer. Mr. Osborne will support students and staff to higher levels of Science and Math achievement through exploration.)

**23410** Adjournment: Teri Ervin, M.Ed. Board President, adjourned the Board meeting at 12:40 p.m.

Board President	Board Secretary
Teri Ervin, M.Ed.	Ray Beaty, D.C.