

SOUTHEAST ISLAND SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF EDUCATION

REGULAR MEETING October 30, 2024

MINUTES

Location: Naukati School, 100 Heather Street, Naukati, AK 99950 and via Zoom from other schools and remotely.

CALL TO ORDER

Board Clerk Sandy Curtis called the meeting to order at 5:31 PM

ROLL CALL

Ben Blair, Debbie Fehr, and Tony Lovell attended in person. Sandy Curtis and Molly Kimzey attended via audio/video conference.

Quorum: yes

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Motion: Approve the agenda

By: Lovell Second: yes

Board Vote: Yea: 5; Nay: 0 **Resolved:** motion passed

WELCOME TO VISITORS

Board Clerk Sandy Curtis welcomed visitors: Andy Cook, Astrid Richard-Cook, Teagen Taylor, Amanda Blankenship, Terri Kohn, Dixie Somerfield, Shaine Nixon, Mike Congdon, William Tyrell, Lisa Cates, Robbin Perkins, Matt Gore, Scott Randall, Sharlet Collins, Cassandra Christopherson, Lucienne Smith

PUBLIC COMMENT

None

BOARD VACANCY: SECTION II, SEAT C

Motion: Appoint William Tyrell to fill Board of Education Seat C until the next regular

election in October 2025.

By: Lovell Second: yes

Board Vote: Yea: 5; Nay: 0 **Resolved:** motion passed

William Tyrell took the oath of office and was sworn in, replacing Sandy Curtis as the new school board member for Seat C. Sandy Curtis stepped down and left the meeting.

APPOINT CHAIR PRO TEMPORE

Motion: Appoint Tony Lovell as chair pro tempore until the Board President is

elected and sworn in.

By: Kimzey Second: yes

Board Vote: Yea: 5; Nay: 0 **Resolved:** motion passed

STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE

Motion: Appoint Teagen Taylor as Student Representative(s) to the Board of

Education.

By: Tyrell

Second: yes

Board Vote: Yea: 5; Nay: 0 **Resolved:** motion passed

Teagen Taylor took the oath of office and was sworn in as student representative to the school board.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Board President Nominations: Tony Lovell

Vote for Tony Lovell for the office of board president

Student Representative Vote: Yea: 1; Nay: 0

Board Vote: Yea: 5; Nay: 0

Resolved: Tony Lovell was appointed as board president.

Tony Lovell took the oath of office and was sworn in as board president.

Board Clerk Nominations: Molly Kimzey

Vote for Molly Kimzey for the office of board clerk

Student Representative Vote: Yea: 1; Nay: 0

Board Vote: Yea: 5; Nay: 0

Resolved: Molly Kimzey was appointed as board clerk.

Molly Kimzey took the oath of office and was sworn in as board clerk.

CONSENT AGENDA

Motion: Approve the consent agenda, including the 9/23/2024 meeting minutes, the October 2024 financial report, and employment including a FY 2025 administrator contract addendum for Astrid Richard-Cook; FY 2025 extracurricular contracts for Jennifer Andis, Mel Cook, and Maria Lineker; FY 2025 extra duty contract for Amanda Blankenship; FY 2025 classified employment for Joshua Hayes and Jack

Nicholson; and FY 2025 classified employment, pending receipt of required

documentation, for Casey Bunker and Derek Shell.

By: Kimzey Second: yes

Student Representative Vote: Yea: 1; Nay: 0

Board Vote: Yea: 5; Nay: 0 **Resolved:** motion passed

ADMINISTRATIVE/BOARD REPORTS

Superintendent Rod Morrison invited the schools to share highlights of their reports.

Area Principal/Dean of Students Shaine Nixon read the AK-TRAILS report. Lead Teacher Mike Congdon shared highlights from Barry Craig Kasaan School. Co-Lead Teacher Lisa Cates shared highlights from Hollis School. Teacher Sharlet Collins shared highlights from Naukati School. Teacher Matt Gore shared a video created by student Levi Gore. Lead Teacher Patrick Trischman shared highlights from Port Alexander School and the ATTSAA Program. Lead Teacher Andy Cook shared highlights from Whale Pass School. Area Principal/Dean of Students Shaine Nixon shared highlights from Thorne Bay School and the District.

Superintendent Morrison read a proclamation to recognize and celebrate Principal/Dean Nixon as part of National Principals' Month. He then shared his report. Topics included: engagements and events, teacher mentoring, news and legislative update, and shout-outs. Also included in his report was information about the 2025 Youth Risk Behavior Survey, including questions on the survey, and an AK State Board of Education resolution regarding cell phone use (Resolution 09-2024). Superintendent Morrison then invited each department to share highlights of their reports.

Activities Director Amanda Blankenship shared highlight of District activities. Contracted Business Manager Lucienne Smith shared highlights of the business report. Maintenance Director Scott Randall shared highlights from the maintenance department. Special Programs Coordinator Robbin Perkins shared highlights from the special programs department. State & Federal Programs/Grants Coordinator Astrid Richard-Cook shared highlights from the state and federal programs/grants department

BUSINESS ITEMS

Motion: Approve them [the updates to BP 1250, BP 5121, BP 5123, BP 5125.3, BP 5131.1, BP 5131.5, BP 5131.6, BP 5141.3, BP 5141.31, BP 5141.51, BP 6146.5, BP 6161.2, BB 9320, and BB 9322].

By: Kimzey Second: yes

Student Representative Vote: Yea: 1; Nay: 0

Board Vote: Yea: 3; Nay: 0; Abstain: 2

Resolved: motion passed

Original Motion: Move 14.C. second readings for BP 0500, BP 0510, BP 0520, and

BP 0530 to vote [for approval]

By: Fehr Second: yes

Amendment to the Motion: Amend the current motion to remove BP 0530,

Discontinuation or Closure of Schools

By: Kimzey Second: yes

Student Representative Vote: Yea: 1; Nay: 0

Board Vote: Yea: 5; Nay: 0 **Resolved:** amendment passes

Amended Motion: Move 14.C. second readings for BP 0500, BP 0510, and

BP 0520 to vote [for approval]

Student Representative Vote: Yea: 1; Nay: 0

Board Vote: Yea: 3; Nay: 0; Abstain: 2

Resolved: motion passed

Student Representative Teagen Taylor left the meeting.

Motion: Move BP 1000, BP 1020, BP 1100, and BP 1112 to a second reading.

By: Kimzey Second: yes

Board Vote: Yea: 5; Nay: 0 **Resolved:** motion passed

Motion: Appoint Debbie Fehr as the legislative liaison.

By: Blair **Second:** yes

Board Vote: Yea: 5; Nay: 0 **Resolved:** motion passed

Motion: Appoint Tony Lovell as the youth advocate liaison.

By: Lovell Second: yes

Board Vote: Yea: 5; Nay: 0 **Resolved:** motion passed

ADVANCE PLANNING

The next regular Board meeting will be on November 20, 2024, at 5:30 PM in Hollis, AK.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Debbie Fehr commented regarding the Food Bank. Rod Morrison gave a shout out to Stephen Castor for him efforts in Hollis. Tony Lovell commented about the Thorne Bay Harvest Festival. Lisa Cates commented regarding election polls.

BOARD COMMENT

Molly Kimzey welcomed Ben Blair and Bill Tyrell to the board. Tony Lovell thanked the new board members for serving.

ADJOURNMENT	
Motion: Adjourn at 7:53 [PM]. By: Lovell Second: yes Board Vote: Yea: 5; Nay: 0 Resolved: motion passed Time: 7:54 PM	
Tony Lovell, Board President	Date
Molly Kimzey, Board Clerk	Date