North Slope Borough School District

Chief School Administrator David Vadiveloo



RESOLUTION 24-01

A RESOLUTION CERTIFYING THE RESULTS OF THE SCHOOL ADVISORY COUNCIL ELECTIONS HELD ON OCTOBER 3, 2023

WHEREAS, the School Advisory Council elections of the North Slope Borough School District were held on October 3, 2023, to coincide with Municipal elections; and,

WHEREAS, the North Slope Borough School District Board of Education met as the Canvass Board,

BE IT RESOLVED:

1. That the School Advisory Council Elections held on October 3, 2023, regarding the election of the following seats were validly held during the municipal elections:

Anaktuvuk Pass	Seat Three	three-year term
Atqasuk	Seat Two Seat Three Seat Four	three-year term one-year term (unexpired term) three-year term
Utqiaġvik	Seat One	three-year term
Nuiqsut	Seat One Seat Two Seat Three	two-year term (unexpired term) three-year term three-year term
Point Hope	Seat Four Seat Five	three-year term three-year term
Point Lay	Seat Two Seat Three	three-year term three-year term
Wainwright	Seat One Seat Three Seat Four	three-year term three-year term one-year term (unexpired term)

1. That the following are the results upon the question of electing one Nunamiut School Advisory Council member, Seat Three:

ANAKTUVUK PASS	TOTAL VOTES
Ashley Mekiana	5 (Accepted)
Matthew Regen	5 (Already 3 NSBSD Employees Serving)
Violet Kakinya	4 (Already Serving on Seat 4)
WDITE DI VOTES	22
WRITE-IN VOTES	22
Declaring <u>Ashley Mekiana</u>	elected to SEAT ONE for a three-year term.

2. That the following are the results upon the question of electing one Meade River School Advisory Council member, Seat Two:

ATQASUK	TOTAL VOTES
Wanda Kippi Jennie Kippi Patricia Kanayurak	4 (accepted) 3 3
WRITE-IN VOTES	22

Declaring <u>Wanda Kippi</u> elected to SEAT TWO for a three-year term.

3. That the following are the results upon the question of electing one Meade River School Advisory Council member, Seat Three:

ATQA	SUK	TOTAL VOTES
Amanda Jennie K		4 (declined) 3 (accepted)
WRIT	E-IN VOTES	1
Declaring	Jennie Kippi	elected to SEAT THREE for a one-year term.

4. That the following are the results upon the question of electing one Meade River School Advisory Council member, Seat Four:

ATQASUK	TOTAL VOTES
<u>WRITE-IN VOTES</u> Jessica Itta Write-in	40 1

Declaring <u>Jessica Itta</u> elected to SEAT FOUR for a three-year term.

5. That the following are the results upon the question of electing one of **Barrow School Advisory Council member, Seat One:**

UTQIA	<u>ĠVIK</u>	TOTAL VOTES
Daniel	Thomas	484
WRITE	E-IN VOTES:	69
Declaring	Daniel Thomas	elected to SEAT FIVE for a three-year term.

6. That the following are the results upon the question of electing one Nuiqsut Trapper School Advisory Council member, Seat One:

<u>NUIQSUT</u>	TOTAL VOTES
Martha Itta	6
Lottie Cabinboy	14
Rosanne Lampe	37

Declaring <u>Rosanna Lampe</u> elected to SEAT ONE for a two-year term.

7. That the following are the results upon the question of electing one Nuiqsut Trapper School Advisory Council member, Seat Two:

<u>NUIQSUT</u>	TOTAL VOTES
Dorcas Tukle	15
Eunice Brower	20
Elizabeth Antuangaruak	21
Write-Ins	2

WRITE-IN VOTES 8

Declaring _____Elizabeth Antuangaruak ______elected to SEAT TWO for a three-year term.

8. That the following are the results upon the question of electing one Nuiqsut Trapper School Advisory Council member, Seat Three:

NUIQSUTTOTAL VOTESAlberta Ipalook29 (accepted – drew straws)Kathleen Napageak29 (declined – drew straws)DeclaringAlberta Ipalookelected to SEAT THREE for a three-year term.

9. That the following are the results upon the question of electing one Tikiġaq School Advisory Council member, Seat Four:

POINT HOPE	TOTAL VOTES
Hazel Oktollik	85
WRITE-IN VOTES	22
Declaring <u>Hazel Oktolli</u>	k elected to SEAT FOUR for a three-year term.

10. That the following are the results upon the question of electing one Tikiġaq School Advisory Council member, Seat Five:

POINT HOPE	TOTAL VOTES
Ryan Rock	52
WRITE-IN VOTES	43

Declaring <u>Ryan Rock</u> elected to SEAT Five for a three-year term.

11. That the following are the results upon the question of electing one Kali School Advisory Council member, Seat Two:

POINT LAY	TOTAL VOTES
Calvin Lane	6 (accepted)

Declaring Calvin Lane elected to SEAT TWO for a three-year term.

12. That the following are the results upon the question of electing one Kali School Advisory Council member, Seat Three:

POINT LAY	TOTAL VOTES
Gwendolyn Pikok	4
James Henry	1
Carrie Labrado	1

Declaring <u>Gwendolyn Pikok</u> elected to SEAT THREE for a three-year term.

13. That the following are the results upon the question of electing one Alak School Advisory Council member, Seat One:

WAINWRIGHT TOTAL VOTES

Jennie Bodfish 110

Joseph Towksjhea 5

WRITE-IN VOTES

Declaring _____ Jennie Bodfish____ elected to SEAT One for a three-year term.

1

14. That the following are the results upon the question of electing one Alak School Advisory **Council member, Seat Three:**

<u>WAINWRIGHT</u>	TOTAL VOTES
Edna Bodfish	112
WRITE-IN VOTES	3

Declaring Edna Bodfish elected to SEAT Three for a three-year term.

15. That the following are the results upon the question of electing one Alak School Advisory **Council member, Seat Four:**

<u>WAINWRIGHT</u>	TOTAL VOTES
Alyssa Harrison	107
WRITE-IN VOTES	8
Declaring <u>Alyssa Harrison</u>	elected to SEAT FOUR for a one-year term.

The North Slope Borough School District is directed to notify the candidates declared elected above and to request each City Clerk in the North Slope villages to administer the appropriate oath of office.

INTRODUCED: _____

ADOPTED: _____

President, North Slope Borough School District Clerk, North Slope Borough School District Board of Education

Board of Education