DRAFT

Minutes of the June 06, 2022 - Board Workshop

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a special session on June 06, 2022, at 5:30 p.m. at the Vonita White Administration Building, 200 S. Denton Tap Road, Coppell, Texas. President David Caviness called the meeting to order.

Members present: David Caviness, President; Nichole Bentley, Secretary; Leigh Walker; Anthony Hill; Tracy Fisher and Dr. Neena Biswas

Trustee Manish Sethi was not present at the workshop.

A quorum was present.

Staff present: Brad Hunt, Superintendent; Carol Snowden, Administrative Assistant; Dr. Angie Brooks; Kristen Eichel; Diana Sircar; Dr. Dennis Womack; Angela Brown; Amanda Simpson; Naveen Bopanna, Rachael Freeman and James Holloway

Cindy Powell with Cooperative Strategies was present.

Notice of this meeting was posted on June 3,2022 at 3:30 p.m.

AWARDS

Coppell ISD staff were recognized for their years of service to the district:

- Debbie Gauntt 30 years of Service
- Andra Penny 30 years of Service
- Wayne Neal 40 years of Service

President David Caviness called the Board into Closed Session as authorized by Texas Government Code, Section 551.071 – Attorney Consultation, Section 551.072 – Real Property and Section 551.074 – Personnel Matters) at 5:43 p.m.

President Caviness declared the Board in Open Session at 6:31 p.m.

A motion was made by Leigh Walker to approve Chris Gollner as Principal of Denton Creek Elementary as recommended by the Superintendent. The motion was seconded by Tracy Fisher and passed 6-0.

Nichole Bentley made a motion to approve Melissa Arnold as the Principal of Coppell Middle School East as recommended by the Superintendent. The motion was seconded by Anthony Hill and passed 6-0.

OPEN FORUM

Opportunity to speak publicly in Open Forum was provided to the community. No one in the community came forward.

DRAFT

WORK SESSION

- 2022-2023 Budget and Compensation Plan Diana Sircar (Chief Financial Officer) and Kristen Eichel (Assistant Superintendent for Administrative Services)
- Strategic Design Visioning Committee & Future Bond Discussion Dr. Angie Brooks (Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum & Instructions); Angela Brown (Executive Director for Communications and Community Engagement) and Dr. Dennis Womack (Chief Operations Officer)

ACTION ITEMS

A motion was made by Tracy Fisher to adopt the resolution authorizing the application for the missed school day waivers for the Richard J Lee Elementary campus for all days of closure and low attendance for health and safety reasons. The motion was seconded by Anthony Hill. The motion passed 6-0.

Nichole Bentley made a motion to approve awarding the responding vendors for use on an as needed basis for Communications and Media related services, as long as the vendors continue to meet the needs of the district. The motion was seconded by Tracy Fisher. The motion passed 5-1. Trustee Biswas voted in opposition to the motion.

A motion to approve 7 Resolutions to be sent to the Texas Association of School Boards for consideration by the 2022 Delegate Assembly was made by Tracy Fisher. The motion was seconded by Anthony Hill and passed 6-0.

A motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Nichole Bentley and seconded by Tracy Fisher. The motion carried 6-0. The meeting was adjourned at 9:22 p.m.

David Caviness, Board President
Nichole Bentley, Secretary