# SOUTHEAST ISLAND SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF EDUCATION SPECIAL MEETING July 16, 2017

# **MINUTES**

#### **CALL TO ORDER**

Board President Heidi Young called the meeting to order at 1:06 PM

#### **ROLL CALL**

Attending via phone were Heidi Young, Molly Kimzey, Shannon Silverthorn, Marjorie Meyer, and Rebecca Saffold.

# APPROVAL OF AGENDA

**Motion:** Approve the agenda

**By:** Silverthorn **Second:** yes

Board Vote: 5 in favor: 0 opposed

**Resolved:** motion passed

#### **WELCOME TO VISITORS**

Board President Heidi Young welcomed visitors – in Coffman Cove: Chad Dillman, Sherry Dillman; in Port Alexander: Joe VonDoloski, Heidi VonDoloski, Julia Trischman; in Thorne Bay: Mike Congdon, Branzon Anania, Priscilla Goulding, Airica Tripple, John Stevens, Amanda Blankenship, Margie Eads; via phone: Tiffany Haugen, Scott Haugen, Alan Schwab, Lucienne Smith

# **PUBLIC COMMENT**

None

#### SUPERINTENDENT REPORT

Sherry Becker gave the Superintendent's report. Topics included: the FY20 general fund budget update

#### **ACTION ITEMS**

**Motion:** Move into executive session discuss subjects that tend to prejudice the reputation and character of any person, provided the person may request a public discussion, more specifically, approval of FY20 Administrative Contract for Charles Becker (Assistant Principal/Coordinator), pending receipt of required documentation

By: Silverthorn Second: yes

**Board Vote:** 5 in favor; 0 opposed

Resolved: motion passed

**Time:** 1:15 PM

Motion: Exit executive session and resume regular session

**By:** Silverthorn **Second:** yes

Board Vote: 5 in favor; 0 opposed

Resolved: motion passed

**Time:** 2:04 PM

Motion: Approve the FY20 Administrative Contract for Charles Becker (Assistant

Principal/Coordinator), pending receipt of required documentation

By: Silverthorn Second: yes

Board Vote: 5 in favor; 0 opposed

Resolved: motion passed

Motion: Approve the FY20 classified employment for: Amanda Blankenship (Food Service Coordinator/Special Education Clerical Assistant/Library & Resource Clerk), Margaret Eads (Payroll, Fixed Assets, & Accounting Manager), Terri Kohn (Maintenance Data, Purchasing, Accounting, & Travel Clerk/Bus Driver Trainer), Christine Page Haufe (Executive Assistant/Human Resources Manager/Board Secretary), Caitlyn Sawyer (Technology Assistant), Airica Tripple (Technology Coordinator), Abigail Twyman (Migrant Recruiter), Janelle Wehrman (Thorne Bay School Secretary & District Registrar/Immunizations Coordinator), Branzon Anania (Maintenance Director), Shane Clark (On-call Maintenance Technician/On-call Fleet & Transportation Mechanic's Assistant), Michael Congdon (On-call Maintenance Technician), Jonathan Fitzpatrick (Maintenance Technician & Hydaburg City School District Wood-fired Boiler Installation Project Manager), Ron Rusher (On-call Maintenance Technician), Terra Green (Howard Valentine Coffman Cove Custodian), Paul Howell (Naukati Custodian), Connie Plante (Whale Pass Custodian), Cathy Starkweather (Hollis Custodian), Kim Straight (Thorne Bay Gym Custodian), Laura Straight (Thorne Bay School Custodian), Paul Young (Port Alexander Custodian), Laura Straight (Thorne Bay Summer Food Program), Mary Auburn-Cook (Greenhouse & Agriculture Assistant - Thorne Bay), Eric Bazzett (Temporary Laborer: Greenhouse - Coffman Cove), Megan Fitzpatrick (Greenhouse/Agricultural Program Coordinator), Rose Ruel (Temporary Laborer: Greenhouse - Coffman Cove)

Greenhouse - Cottman Cov **By:** Silverthorn

Second: yes

Board Vote: 5 in favor; 0 opposed

Resolved: motion passed

Motion: Include Alex Hert [Fleet Mechanic] in FY20 classified employment under

maintenance. **By:** Silverthorn **Second:** yes

Board Vote: 5 in favor; 0 opposed

Resolved: motion passed

# **PUBLIC COMMENT**

Airica Tripple commented regarding classified employment.

# **BOARD COMMENT**

Heidi Young commented regarding the new school year, basketball camp, and thanks to staff.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

Motion: Adjourn By: Silverthorn Second: yes

Board Vote: 5 in favor; 0 opposed

Resolved: motion passed

**Time:** 2:16 PM

Heidi Young, Board President	Date	
Shannon Silverthorn, Board Clerk	Date	