## **Board Recognition February 11, 2020**

#### **Advanced Placement Scholars**

The College Board honored 137 Denton ISD high school students with distinctions for 2019, according to their annual list of recipients who are named Advanced Placement Scholars.

The national program recognizes individuals who have demonstrated college-level achievement though exceptional scores in AP courses and on AP exams. Students are awarded based on four levels including: AP Scholar, AP Scholar with Honor, AP Scholar with Distinction and National AP Scholar.

Students receive an award certificate from The College Board and although there is no monetary award, this achievement is acknowledged on any score report that is sent to colleges.

The AP Scholars, students who received scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams, are: Ally Anderson, Simone Brodersen, Benjamin Cho, Kiran Daulla, Peyton Johnson, Zachary Mistrot, Alexandra Moffitt, Ryleigh Nash, Chloe Strege, Urjitha Vardhineni, Meredith Wood, Jacob Allread, Ryan Anderson, Madison Boutwell, Madison Bradford, Kaylee Bragg, Ashton Cartwright, Jackson Cook, Joshua Davenport, Tedi Dika, Julie Do, Jacob Farrell, Dixanta Ghimire, Michael Gillman, Stacee Goldstein, Brody Hanley, Caden Hedges, Ashley Henderson, Aaron Hew, Jess Holbert, Alyssa-Jesse Hugo, Lauren Isenhower, Neil Juanillo, Zoe Justice, Timothy Koch, Bianca Leal, Mathias Lippe, Ciarra McClinton, Chance McDaniel, Jose Molina, Jacob Moore, Raquel Moore, Alejandro Moran, Joshua Patterson, Mark Quintanilla, Emily Reyna, Addison Rhoads, Joshua Roberts, Miriam Ruiz, Braven Sales, Iman Shah, Omar Shah, Gavin Smethers, Harrison Strain, Davis Wang, Julianna Washka and Connor White.

The AP Scholar with Honors, students who received an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of those exams, are: Alejandro Arias Diaz, Cristian Bourgeois, Caleb Chapple, Throy Detorio, Brianna Escalante, Megan Freeze, Rachel Hughes, Maleeha Imtiaz, Matthew Longoria, Eliana Nark, Christopher Pink and Diana Torres.

Students who received an average score of 3.5 on all AP exams taken and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of those exams, AP Scholars with Distinction, are: Matthew Bedford, Luis Cumplido, Emily Erwin, Braden Gee, Juan Harmjanz, Misbah Imtiaz, Hasan Mubarak, Sushim Misrah, Lauren Moore, Peyton Mueller, Jaxon Norton, Jawad Rao, Nathan Reynolds, Tabitha Sidandi and Ky Vang.

Any student who received at least a score of 4 on all AP exams taken on eight or more of those exams, is designated a National AP Scholar: Hasan Mubarak.

AP Scholars from Braswell High, Denton High and Ryan High schools were honored in January.

#### **Texas Music Educators Association All-State**

The Texas Music Educators Association (TMEA) is an organization of more than 12,000 school music educators dedicated to promoting excellence in music education. Each year through an audition process, TMEA selects the best musicians in their respective groups: band, choir,

orchestra and jazz ensemble. The following nine students have been honored as the recipients of All-State honors for the 2019-2020 school year.

# **Braswell High Band:**

Kenia Zetino, 5A All-State Band Clarinet Aaron Snipes, Director Taylor Sitzman, Assistant Director

#### **Denton High Band:**

Eric Crenshaw, All-State Jazz Ensemble Alto Saxophone Matthew Garcia, All-State Jazz Ensemble Tenor Saxophone Greta MacMillan, 5A All-State Band Flute Owen White, All-State Jazz Ensemble Bass Brian Wilson, Director Jesse Woolery, Assistant Director

#### **Denton High Choir:**

Margaret Nicholson, All-State Choir Alto Mark Baker, Director Nick Vance, Assistant Director

#### **Guyer High Band:**

Ben Snethen, 6A All-State Band Clarinet

Amy Woody, Director

Oscar Ban, Assistant Director

### **Guyer High Orchestra:**

Audrey Lee, All-State Orchestra Violin Christian Luevano, All-State Orchestra String Bass Michelle Hanlon, Director Jeremy Atkins, Assistant Director

# <u>Community Spotlight - Mathnasium of Denton</u>

Each year the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) honors businesses and organizations for their support and exceptional advocacy of local schools. This statewide honor, as part of "Stand Up for Texas Public Schools," recognizes local businesses and community organizations who partner with districts, making a difference in the lives of local public-school students.

Since Mathnasium of Denton's opening in South Denton in 2015, the center has hit the ground running in their support of Denton ISD. Now a Gold Level Adopt-A-School District Partner, they are one of the first to volunteer for major events. Whether it's reading to classes for Read Across America, chaperoning students on college visits or volunteering, they have always been there.

Recently, they adopted more than a dozen schools in their service area, providing treats for teachers during Back-to-School and helping sponsor STEM and Math Nights at the

elementary level. Through their games at these events, students are exposed to math and learning that math can be fun. The partnership between Denton ISD and Mathnasium of Denton is the perfect formula and the reason they are chosen for the February Community Spotlight.

Beena Momin, owner, is accepting the commendation on behalf of Mathnasium of Denton.