

# GOVERNING BOARD AGENDA ITEM AMPHITHEATER UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 10

DATE OF MEETING: May 5, 2015

**TITLE: Recognition of Odyssey of the Mind Teams** 

# D. CHICDOLIND

#### **BACKGROUND:**

Amphitheater Public Schools continues to be the top district in participation and achievement in the Arizona Odyssey of the Mind program. Odyssey of the Mind is an international educational program that provides creative problem-solving opportunities for students from Kindergarten through college. Team members apply their creativity to solve problems that range from building mechanical devices to presenting their own interpretation of literary classics.

The Canyon del Oro High School Pandora's Box team, along with the Coronado K-8 Runaway Train; Painted Sky Experiencing Technical Difficulties; Painted Sky Silent Movie; Prince Elementary Lost Your Marbles; and CDO Silent Movie teams will compete against students from around the world May 20-23, 2015 at Michigan State University.

### School: Canyon del Oro High School

Coach: Cymry Deboucher Pandora's Box Team: Robert DeBoucher Matt Collins Bryn Hudson Sarah Sheldon Jade D'Auteuil Kayla Cordero

#### School: Canyon del Oro High School

Coach: Amy Selegue Silent Movie Team: Dean Selegue Micah Secrest Jason Ronstadt Garrison Synnestvedt Thomas Gaston

## School: Coronado K-8

Coaches: Daniel and Erica Rokop Runaway Train Team: Aiden Badruddoja Shea Carlson Hannah Ford Tyler Rokop Nathan Merz Riley Mix

# **School: Painted Sky Elementary**

Coaches: Rebecca and Toby Ford, Brianne Ronnie

**Experiencing Technical Difficulties Team:** 

Sarah Seifried Morgan Harper Alison Randall Parker Young Connor Ford Allee Noble Payton Rokop

## **School: Painted Sky Elementary School**

Coaches: Angela Wichers, Liesl Kolodisner

Silent Movie Team:
Frances Rosenthal
Naomi Kolodisner
Caroline Wichers
Aidan Gist
Mackenzie Gist
Braeden Hargrove
Sully Mix

### **School: Prince Elementary School**

Coaches: Leigh Kechely, Sabina Prijic, Kristin Prinz

**Lost Your Marbles Team:** 

Prince Team:
Khalia Crocker
Sherlyn Gutierrez
Dioselina Equihua
Alejandro Calderon
Danna Celaya
Lesly Maria Hernandez
Komla Lucas Wowui

#### **RECOMMENDATION:**

This is presented for the Board's information and recognition.

INITIATED BY:
Mindy Blike

Mindy Blake, Director of Community Relations

Patrick Nelson, Superintendent

Patrick Nelson

**Date: April 27, 2015**