Official

Morrow County School District

Budget Committee Minutes April 18, 2005

These are minutes of the Morrow County School District Budget Committee meeting of April 18, 2005, held at the District Office board room in Lexington, OR.

BOARD/BUDGET MEMBERS PRESENT: Pat McNamee, John Renfro, Bill Kuhn, Craig Miles, Ken

Matlack, Barney Lindsay, Dean Mason, and Lisanne Currin.

BOARD/BUDGET MEMBERS ABSENT: Berto Hernandez, Keith Lewis, Marc Rogelstad, Mike

Armato, Doug Strebin, and Marcia Kemp

STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT: Mark Burrows, Rhonda Lorenz, Wade Smith, BJ Wilson,

n/a

Dirk Dirksen, Daye Stone.

OTHERS PRESENT:

Call to Order

Last year's vice-chairman, Lisanne Currin, called the budget committee meeting to order at 7:05 p.m. at the District Office board room in Lexington, OR. The flag was saluted and a quorum established.

Election of Officers

The first order of business was to elect a chairman and vice chairman.

Motion: Dean Mason nominated Lisanne Currin as Chairman; John Renfro seconded the motion. With no

other nominations for Chairman the following vote was taken:

Ayes: McNamee, Renfro, Kuhn, Miles, Matlack, Lindsay, Mason

Noes: n/a Abstentions: Currin

Lisanne Currin was elected as Chairman

Motion: Barney Lindsay made a motion to nominate Dean Mason for Vice Chairman; Pat McNamee

seconded the motion. With no other nominations for Vice Chairman the following vote was taken:

Ayes: McNamee, Renfro, Kuhn, Miles, Matlack, Lindsay, Currin

Noes: n/a Abstentions: Mason

Dean Mason was elected as Vice Chairman

Budget Message & Overview of Budget Document

Mr. Burrows reviewed his re-organization of the administrative staff in the district and how the maintenance department is in the process of being revamped. He briefly reviewed the level of funding from the state, and potential consequences of PERS rate hikes.

Questions/Input from Community & Budget Committee

The following questions and/or clarifications were made relating to: lower funding for the co-curricular fund; potential grant money from the county; adjusting the beginning cash for budget adjustments rather than the contingency; the possibility of funding a SRO in the schools; surveillance equipment in the schools; federal title funding levels; the HHS track project; enrollment projections and classroom capacity; the Irrigon sewer project.

Approval of Budget to Board for Budget Hearing

Motion:	value for the 2005-06 fiscal year, tax levie	nent tax rate of \$4.0342 per thousand dollars of assessed s of \$1,685,544 and \$1,818,986 for bonded debt funds 300 nount of \$4,937,824. Bill Kuhn seconded the motion.
Ayes Noes Motion passed.	Mason, Miles, Renfro, Kuhn, Matlack, Mon/a	Namee, Lindsay, Currin
The Budget Con	umittee meeting was adjourned at 8:58 pm.	
Respectfully sub	mitted:	
Rhonda Lorenz,	Acting Secretary	Lisanne Currin, Chairman of the Budget Committ