Minutes of the May 19, 2025 - Regular School Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a regular session on May 19, 2025, at 6:00 p.m. in the Board Room of the Vonita White Administration Building. The meeting was called to order by President David Caviness.

Members present: David Caviness, President; Nichole Bentley, Vice President; Leigh Walker; Anthony Hill; and Ranna Raval

Trustees Manish Sethi and Jobby Mathew were not present. A quorum was present.

Notice of this meeting was posted on May 16, 2025, at 12:00 p.m.

Staff present: Brad Hunt, Superintendent; Carol Snowden, Administrative Assistant; Diana Sircar; Kristen Eichel; Angela Brown; Dr. Angie Brooks; Kit Pehl; Gerry Miller; Naveen Boppana; Amanda Simpson and Dwight Goodwin

NEW BUSINESS

On May 12, 2025, the Coppell ISD Board of Trustees adopted an Order Declaring Results of the Trustee General Election held on May 3, 2025. A Certificate of Election was issued to, Trustee Leigh Walker, Jonathan Powers, and Trustee Anthony Hill on May 12, 2025.

Carol Snowden, Notary Public, administered the Officer's Statement and Oath of Office to the newly elected Board members: Leigh Walker (Place 1); Jonathan Powers (Place 2); and Anthony Hill (Place 3). Newly sworn in Trustee Powers took his place at the dais.

Dr. Hunt provided district highlights and updates on the following topics:

- Thank you to Advisory Councils (SBAC, SLAC, STAC, Parents and More)
- Community Champion Awards
- Kindergarten Round-Up
- Debate Takes Third in Tournament of Champions
- Congratulations Class of 2025 and the Valedictorians and Salutatorians at CHS and New Tech

AWARDS

- Girls Golf State Champions and Individual Champion Alicia Bellendir
- District Teachers of the Year Kara Lindquist and Michael Upchurch
- Danielle "Dani" Todd 30 years, Lakeside Elementary
- Mary Johnson 30 years, Mockingbird Elementary
- Estrella "Star" Primera 30 years, Town Center Elementary
- Alex Zuniga 35 years, Facilities and Maintenance
- Cyndi Hubbard 35 years, Mockingbird Elementary
- Laura Springer 40 years, Coppell High School

Board President David Caviness gave the invocation and led the Pledge of Allegiance.

OPEN FORUM

The following community members requested to speak during the Open Forum portion of the agenda:

Sheri Hill – New Tech Muneera Seif – New Tech Sunny Kalala – New Tech Keira Schafer – New Tech Logan Brown - New Tech Disha Shah – New Tech Claire Hess – New Tech Shriya Apshankar – New Tech Ellie Hill - New Tech Julie Vrla – New Tech Austin Anderson – New Tech Gannon Busby – New Tech Samkalp Mudaliar – New Tech consolidation Antonia Kelley – New Tech Krishna Kelley – New Tech Charishma Kasaragadda – New Tech consolidation Dhruv Sujith – New Tech Elizabeth de Moraes – New Tech Conall Busby – New Tech Isabella Argueta – New Tech Arjun Sharma – New Tech Samarth Srinivas – New Tech Ishana Vishwareth - New Tech. Charlie Wicker - New Tech Sanjay Garg - New Tech Andrea Agius – Budget, New Tech Vish Krishnan - New Tech Samika Jahra Rahman - New Tech Shobhana Natarijan – New Tech Christy Runyan – New Tech Jimin Park – New Tech Jiwan Park - New Tech Sarah Foster – New Tech Lily Hess – New Tech Sarah Myers - New Tech Tejas Bhatia – New Tech Julie Waters – New Tech Dr. Swaminathan Karthik – NT Dr. Arathi Karthik – New Tech Dhruv Karthik - New Tech Brandi Ragland - New Tech James Guerra - New Tech Anthony Fang - New Tech Sam Foster - New Tech Blanca De La Rosa – New Tech Shourik Bhattacharyya – Elections of CISD Board Michelle Rinearson-Farris – New Tech Laura Wortman – New Tech Stephanie Martin – New Tech Paula Lewis - New Tech Rose Cheng - New Tech Laura Markham – New Tech Reid Martin – New Tech Lucas Markham - New Tech Michelle Richardson – New Tech Salim Kapadia – New Tech Dan Koller – New Tech Kevin Chaka – School Closure Considerations Harish Iver – New Tech Ayaan Haque – New Tech Amanda Laranja – New Tech

DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS - SUPERINTENDENT

- 2025-2026 & 2026-2027 Budget Planning Diana Sircar (Chief Financial Officer)
- Athletics and Fine Arts Program Updates Kit Pehl (Director of Athletics) & Gerry Miller (Director of Fine Arts)
- CISD 2030 Strategic Plan Angela Brown (Chief Communications Officer) & Dr. Angie Brooks (Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum and Instruction)
- Reimagined New Tech High @ Coppell Report Angela Brown (Chief Communications Officer) & Dr. Angie Brooks (Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum and Instruction)

CONSENT

Nichole Bentley made a motion to approve the following consent agenda items:

- 1. Approve the minutes of the regular meeting held on April 28, 2025, and special meeting and workshop held on May 12, 2025
- Approve Monthly Budget Amendments for May 2025
- 3. Approve Financial Report for April 2025

Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

ACTION

Nichole Bentley made a motion to adopt the school consolidation and boundary realignment timeline as presented with the option of a September 15th or September 22nd Board Workshop based on availability. The motion was seconded by Ranna Raval. Trustee Caviness amended the motion to approve the timeline with the option of adding a workshop sometime between the dates of September 15 and September 29, 2025. Nichole seconded the motion and the motion passed 6-0. Then the original motion on the floor was put up to a vote and passed 6-0.

DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS - BOARD OF TRUSTEES

• Legislative Update & Career & Technical Education (CTE) Committee – Nichole Bentley

At 11:00 p.m., President Caviness declared the Board in Closed Session as authorized under Texas Government Code, Section 551.071 – Consult with Board Attorney and Section 551.074 – Personnel.

President Caviness declared the Board in Open Session at 11:43 p.m.

Nichole Bentley made a motion to accept the resignation of Superintendent Dr. Brad Hunt. Anthony Hill seconded the motion and the motion passed 6-0.

A motion to name Doug Williams as the interim Superintendent of Coppell ISD effective June 1, 2025, was made by Nichole Bentley and seconded by Anthony Hill. The motion passed 6-0.

A motion was made by Nichole Bentley to post the position of the Superintendent of Schools. Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motioned carried 6-0.

President Caviness conducted the election of officers for the Board of Trustees.

Leigh Walker nominated to elect Jobby Mathew to the office of Secretary of the Board of Trustees. Jonathan Powers seconded the nomination. Trustee Mathew was elected to the office of Secretary by a vote of 6-0.

Leigh Walker nominated to elect Nichole Bentley to the office of Vice President of the Board of Trustees. Ranna Raval seconded nomination. The vote for Nichole Bentley for Vice President was 6-0. Trustee Bentley was elected to the office of Vice President.

Leigh Walker nominated David Caviness to the office of President of the Board of Trustees. Anthony Hill seconded the nomination. The vote for David Caviness for President was 6-0. President Caviness was re-elected to the office of President.

ADJOURNMENT

Nichole Bentley made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Jonathan Powers seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

The meeting adjourned at 12:17 a.m.

David Caviness, Board President
Jobby Mathew, Secretary