Denton ISD's Music Education Program Receives National Recognition for 13th Consecutive Year

For the thirteenth consecutive year, Denton ISD has been honored with the "Best Communities for Music Education" designation from The NAMM Foundation for its outstanding, longtime commitment to music education.

To qualify for the Best Communities designation, Denton ISD answered detailed questions about funding, graduation requirements, music class participation, instruction time, facilities, support for the music programs, Responses were verified with school officials and reviewed by The Music Research Institute at the University of Kansas.

Denton ISD has music specialists at all of its elementary campuses where 100 percent of students receive music instruction at least once a week. Music education programs for students in Denton ISD's secondary schools include band, choir, jazz band, mariachi, orchestra and Advanced Placement Music Theory.

Now in its 21st year, the Best Communities for Music Education designation is awarded to districts that demonstrate outstanding achievement in efforts to provide music access and education to all students.

The NAMM Foundation is a nonprofit supported in part by the National Association of Music Merchants and its approximately 10,400 members around the world. The foundation advances active participation in music making across the lifespan by supporting scientific research, philanthropic giving, and public service programs. For more information about the NAMM Foundation, please visit <u>www.nammfoundation.org</u>.

Denton ISD honors 2020 campus, district Teachers of the Year

Denton ISD honored all 38 of our 2020 Teachers of the Year with a "Drive-Thru" parade at C.H. Collins Athletic Complex on Tuesday, May 5.

Elementary and secondary schools each nominated one educator for Teacher of the Year. Members of the district's Teachers Communication Committee (TCC) reviewed the applications of the campus winners and selected one elementary and one secondary teacher to advance to the Region XI Teacher of the Year Competition.

From May 1 - 4, the district released a series of four videos have been released on social media naming all 38 campus winners in each of the vertical zones, narrated by the area superintendents of academic programs.

Campus Teachers of the Year include:

Braswell Zone

DeeAnn Woolison - Bell Elementary School

Diane Gruber - Cross Oaks Elementary School

Caroline Brown - Paloma Creek Elementary School Lindsey Faucett - Providence Elementary School Yolanda McKinney - Savannah Elementary School Heather Williams - Union Park Elementary School Samm McAlister - Navo Middle School Lindsey Howard - Rodriguez Middle School Ulinda Yeahquo - Davis School Stefani Moore - Braswell High School

Denton Zone

Taryn Hope - Gonzalez School for Young Children Sarah Betty - Alexander Elementary School Esteffanee Guajardo - Borman Elementary School Stephanie McNeely - Evers Park Elementary School Gina Martin - Houston Elementary School Renee Gann - Newton Rayzor Elementary School DeeDee Florence - W.S. Ryan Elementary School Chris Long - Calhoun Middle School Beverly Barnett - McMath Middle School Heather Lentz - Denton High School

Guyer Zone

Michelle Lueck - Adkins Elementary School Michelle Branch - Blanton Elementary School Carleen Michener - E.P. Rayzor Elementary School Kristin Thornton - Hawk Elementary School Jill Ivester - McNair Elementary School Chandra Wilburn - Nelson Elementary School Taylor Hotchkiss - Crownover Middle School

Stacy Klein - Harpool Middle School

Jeremy Labelle - Guyer High School

Ryan Zone

Michael Leonas - Ginnings Elementary School

Rachel Rogers - Hodge Elementary School

Kendra Gonzalez - Pecan Creek Elementary School

Jana McCarthy - Rivera Elementary School

Megan Trammell - Stephens Elementary School

Nancy Cheek - Wilson Elementary School

James Wilburn - Myers Middle School

Virginia Thomas - Strickland Middle School

Carolyn Harrod - Ryan High School

Following a parade route that 'snaked' through the parking lot of C.H. Collins Athletic Complex filled with community members, Dr. Jamie Wilson, superintendent of schools, announced the Denton ISD Elementary and Secondary Teacher of the Year Winners.

This year's Denton ISD Elementary Teacher of the Year is Megan Trammell, art teacher at Stephens Elementary.

This year's Denton ISD Secondary Teacher of the Year is Chris Long, math teacher at Calhoun Middle School.

Both educators will submit an application on behalf of the district to Region XI ESC for consideration as the 2020 Texas Teacher of the Year.

Thank you to our community partners at Jostens, James Wood Autopark, DATCU and Wash-It-Kwik for their sponsorship of the event.