REGULAR BOARD MEETING

April 15, 2013

The Celina Independent School District's Board of Trustees met in regular session on Monday, April 15, 2013 at the Celina Independent School District Administration Offices at 205 S Colorado in the Board Room and Room 4.

CALL TO ORDER DINNER/DISCUSSION:

At 6:15 PM Board President Choc Christopher called the Dinner meeting to order. Six (6) board members were present.

Todd Snyder was absent.

The board discussed items on the agenda and Mr. O'Dell gave the board a budget briefing.

At 6:58 PM Board President Choc Christopher recessed the Dinner meeting.

At 7:00 PM Board President Choc Christopher called the regular meeting of the Celina Independent School District's Board of Trustees to order in the Board Room of the CISD Administration Offices. Choc Christopher led the pledge and Tim Looper gave the invocation.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Choc Christopher, Kelly Juergens, Jeff Gravley, Chuck Hansen, Tim Looper, and Pam Peters.

MEMBERS ABSENT: Todd Snyder

SCHOOL OFFICIALS & VISITORS PRESENT: Donny O'Dell, Rick DeMasters, Colette Pledger, Starla Martin, Starlynn Wells, Lori Gibbs, Bill Hemby, and Lana Brooks. A list of visitors is attached with the Official Minutes.

OPEN FORUM: No one spoke on agenda or non-agenda items.

CONSENT/CONFIRMATION AGENDA ITEMS:

Kelly Juergens moved and Pam Peters seconded the motion to approve the minutes of the March 18, 2013 Regular Board Meeting and the monthly financial reports. Motion Carried 7-0.

INFORMATION/CONFIRMATION AGENDA ITEMS:

Mr. O'Dell and each Campus Principal presented the Spring Superintendent Awards to the selected recipients as follows:

<u>Elementary:</u> Pre-K Kinderarten First Grade Second Grade	Bella Estep Tyler Haynie Chanlyr Taylor Matthew Griffey	<u>Intermediate:</u> Fifth Grade – Alejandro Ramos Fifth Grade – Georgia Benway	
<u>Middle School:</u> Sixth Grade Seventh Grade Eighth Grade	Cristian Jaral Oscar Cavazos Hayden Reed	<u>High School:</u> Ninth grade Ninth Grade Tenth Grade Tenth Grade	Lauren Schultz Seth Jackson MacKenzie Teague Travis Entrop

A short break was taken so parents and students could leave if they wanted to.

Kyle Sheridan presented an update on the Concussion Management Program and also the AED Protocol.

Colette Pledger gave an update on the Campus Improvement Plans and also the District Improvement Plan.

Mr. O'Dell talked to the board regarding how to proceed with plans for the Post Grant Personnel with possible action to proceed. The Board took no action on this item.

ACTION/BRIEFING AGENDA ITEMS:

Kelly Juergens moved and Chuck Hansen seconded the motion for final approval of the Emergency Operation Plan for the District. Motion Carried 6-0.

Pam Peters moved and Jeff Gravley seconded the motion to approve the changes to EIC (LOCAL) Policy as presented. Motion Carried 6-0.

Tim Looper moved and Chuck Hansen seconded the motion to approve the PBK-Prevailing Wage Rates as presented by Mr. O'Dell. Motion Carried 6-0.

Brian Grubbs presented to the board information to Adopt an Order Authorizing the Issuance of Refunding Bonds, Establishing the Parameters for the Refunding Program, and delegating Authority to the Administration. Pam Peters moved and Jeff Gravley seconded the motion to approve the Order. Motion Carried 6-0.

At 9:23 PM Choc Christopher recessed the open session and convened the Board in closed session, pursuant to Texas Government Code, Chapter 551, including, but not limited to Section 551.074 – Personnel.

A. Personnel

At 10:40 PM Choc Christopher recessed the closed session and reconvened in open session to vote on matters considered in closed session in accordance with the Texas Open Meetings Act, Texas Government Code, Chapter 551, to take action necessary regarding personnel.

ACTION AS A RESULT OF CLOSED SESSION:

Pam Peters moved and Chuck Hansen seconded the motion to hire Kelly Robinson, High School Math and Pilar Roper-Foo, High School Science.

ADJOURNMENT:

Jeff Gravley moved and Chuck Hansen seconded the motion to adjourn the meeting. Motion Carried 6-0.

The meeting adjourned at 10:41 PM.

Choc Christopher, President

Kelly Juergens, Secretary