Minutes of Special Meeting The Board of Trustees

Uvalde Consolidated Independent School District

The Board of Trustees met to conduct the Special Meeting on May 19, 2025 at 5:30 pm at the John H. Harrell Auditorium, 1 Coyote Trail, Uvalde, TX 78801

1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by Laura Perez at 5:30 pm.

At 5:31 board member Jaclyn Gonzales raised a point of order.

Trustee Jaclyn Gonzales raised a point of order, stating that it appeared the assembly was attempting to establish a quorum including individuals whose terms had expired and who were no longer authorized to serve, including the Board Chair. She referenced the decree in Maria Esparza Mireles vs. UCISD, Civil Action No. DR-777-CA 20, and cited the district's bylaws and parliamentary procedure, which she stated require that only duly elected or appointed members within their terms may be counted toward a quorum or participate in proceedings. Trustee Gonzales requested that the Chair clarify and correct the action.

Trustee Suarez asked Trustee Gonzales which trustees were in question.

Trustee Gonzales replied Laura Perez, JJ Suarez, Javier Flores and Robert Quinones

Vice President Laura Perez stated that legal counsel would be consulted and declared the meeting adjourned at 5:35 pm.

A. A roll call and establishment of quorum.

Members present: Laura Perez, JJ Suarez, Javier Flores, Jaclyn Gonzales, Jesse Rizo, Robert Quinones

Members absent: Cal Lambert

Staff present: Ashley Chohlis, Pam Bendele, Mario Rangel, Amy Graeber, David Zamora, Melissa Castaneda, Edward Puente, Rodney Harrison, Nolan Pritchard, Jorge Cerna, Hector Lopez, Cash Keith, Cassandra Benavides, Deya Davis, Margaret Tarski, Elsa Ayala, Cheyenne Mueller, Albert Martinez, Wade Miller, Mikka Sanchez, Anne Marie Espinoza,

Guests present: David Gonzales, Kathleen Rambie, Monica De Leon, Emma Albarado, Amy Franco, David Mercado, Aaron Garcia, Michael Robinson, Honorable Judge Bill Mitchell, Diana Olvedo Karau, Mari T, Priscilla Moreno, Sandy Rodriguez, Juan Garcia, Alfred Hernandez, Hector Gonzales, Luis Castillo, Brenda Mueller, Jane Walker, Vanessa Gutierrez, Christina Ovalle, Diego Ovalle, Natalie Rondon, Cara Lopez, Natalyn Perez, Francisco Perez, Jon Wesley R. Perez, Ryan W., Tina Willis, Devere Willis, Lloyd Graham, Maria Puente, Tammy Briseno, Christiana Pesina, Kayla Puente, Justin Puente, Elizabeth Puente, Anna Puente, Rosie Gomez, Isabella Bueno, Grayce Castillon, Daniel Chavez, Luis De La Cruz Reyna, Jayro Del Valle, Encarnacion Guevara, Aiden Hernandez, Abigail Lopez, Aurora Moreno Gomez, Arianna Ovalle, Nadiyah Ramos, Natalie Ramos, Jocelyn Rendon, Sophia Talavera, Isabella Villarreal, Alicia Teague, Nolan Pritchard, Jane Walker

- B. Moment of Silence
- C. Invocation

| D. | Pledge of Allegiance to the Flags of the United State Texas | s of America and the State of |
|--|--|-------------------------------|
| 2. Open Forum3. Items of Division of Business and Finance:A. Budget Workshop | | |
| 4. Adjournment | | |
| The meeting was adjourned by Vice President Laura Perez at 5:35 pm. | | |
| Boar | d Secretary | Date |