TUPELO PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES NOON MEETING MINUTES OCTOBER 26, 2010

The Board of Trustees of the Tupelo Public School District convened in a regular meeting of the Board held in open session at noon on Tuesday, October 26, 2010, at the Hancock Leadership Center, 1920 Briar Ridge, Tupelo, Mississippi.

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by President Lee Tucker who welcomed guests attending the meeting. Members of the press were also in attendance.

ROLL CALL AND ESTABLISHMENT OF A QUORUM

The following School Board members were present during roll call:

Members Present: Mrs. Amy Heyer

Mr. John Nail Mr. Eddie Prather Mrs. Beth Stone Mr. Lee Tucker

Staff Present: Dr. Randy Shaver Mr. Danny Porter

Mrs. Diana Ezell Mrs. Pamela Traylor
Dr. Fred Hill Mr. Kenneth Roberts
Mr. David Meadows Mrs. Mary Ruth Wright
Mrs. Linda Pannell Dr. Derwood Tutor

Mrs. Kay Bishop Mrs. Mary Ann Plasencia

Mrs. Jennifer Strunk Mr. Larry Harmon Mrs. Marisa Martin Mr. Terry Hatch

Ms. Patrice Tate Mrs. Mary Ruth Wright Mrs. Julie Hinds Mrs. Brenda Meriweather

Mrs. Dale Warriner Mr. Marvin Nickels Mrs. Lynne Rogers Mrs. Julie Connolly

Mr. Jim Turner

REVIEW OF AGENDA TOPICS

Board Members and Tupelo Public School District staff members reviewed agenda topics and heard reports in a work session type format for the October 26, 2010, meeting of the Board of Trustees as follows:

- A. Consent Agenda
- B. Student Transfer Report
- C. Personnel Report
- D. Docket of Claims and Check Registers

E. Financial Statements for Month Ending 9-30-10

Mississippi Association of School Administrators Fall Meeting and Leadership Conference, Jackson, Mississippi (October 18-19, 2010)

Deputy Superintendent Diana Ezell presented information regarding the district's participation in the recent Mississippi Association of School Administrators (MASA) Fall Meeting and Leadership Conference. Dr. Randy Shaver, Mrs. Glenda Scott and Mrs. Diana Ezell attended the conference. One of the highlights of the conference was a luncheon honoring Lawhon Elementary Principal Christy Carroll on being named Mississippi's 1st Congressional District Administrator of the Year.

Month 1 Enrollment Report

Mr. Meadows provided a Month 1 Enrollment Report. This report compared Month 1 Enrollment to 2010-2011 Enrollment Projects and Enrollment as of August 31, 2010. Mr. Meadows' report included specific details on student demographics and student teacher ratios.

Executive Session – Student and Personnel Matters

Board President Lee Tucker suggested to the School Board a temporary executive session to determine the need for a permanent executive session for the purpose of discussing a personnel matter.

On a motion by Mr. Nail, seconded by Mrs. Stone, the Board voted unanimously to enter temporary executive session for the purpose of determining a need for permanent executive session. Upon motion duly made, seconded, and carried unanimously by all members present, the President of the Board declared the motion passed.

The room was cleared and the temporary executive session was called to order by Mr. Tucker with the following people present: Mrs. Amy Heyer, Mr. Eddie Prather, Mr. John Nail, Mrs. Beth Stone, Mr. Lee Tucker, Dr. Randy Shaver, Mrs. Kelly Stimpson (via Skype), Mrs. Diana Ezell, Dr. Fred Hill, Mr. Jim Turner, and Ms. Patrice Tate.

The Executive Session was called to order and the Board first considered the reason for entering executive session. Upon a motion by Mr. Nail with a second by Mrs. Stone, the Board voted unanimously to remain in Executive Session for the purpose of discussing student and personnel matters.

Upon motion duly made, seconded, and carried unanimously by all members present, the President of the Board declared the motion passed.

Mr. Tucker reopened the meeting to tell all those in attendance the reason for going into Executive Session was to discuss student and personnel matters. Following the discussion of the student matters Dr. Hill and Mrs. Ezell left the meeting. Then, discussion began regarding the personnel matter. No action was taken during the Executive Session.

Upon a motion by Mr. Nail with a second by Mrs. Stone, the Board voted unanimously to come out of Executive Session. Upon motion duly made, seconded, and carried unanimously by all members present, the President of the Board declared the motion passed.

• -				
AD.	JOL	JRN	IMF	NT

There being no further business at this meeting of the Board of Trustees, it was moved by Mr. Prather and duly seconded by Mr. Nail that the Board adjourn. Mr. Tucker declared the meeting in adjournment at 2:45 p.m.

APPROVED:	ATTEST:
TUPELO PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES	
Lee Tucker, President	Eddie Prather, Secretary