

Board of Education

Minutes of Regular School Board Meeting The Board of Education

A Regular School Board Meeting of the Board of Education of Fort Smith Public Schools was held March 16, 2020, beginning at 5:30 PM in the Service Center, Bldg B.

Ms. Susan McFerran, president, called the meeting to order. Other board members present were Ms. Yvonne Keaton-Martin, Mr. Bill Hanesworth, Mr. Wade Gilkey, and Ms. Talicia Richardson. Dr. Doug Brubaker, Superintendent, Dr. Terry Morawski, Deputy Superintendent, Mr. Martin Mahan, Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum and Instruction, Mr. Charles Warren, Chief Financial Officer, Mr. Darian Layes, Executive Director of Student Services, Ms. Zena Featherston Marshall, Executive Director of Communication and Community Partnerships, and Ms. Nadine Brooks, Secretary to the Superintendent were also virtually present.

A moment of silence was followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

Ms. McFerran read the mission statement.

CITIZENS PARTICIPATION

There was no one present for Citizens Participation.

ACKNOWLEDGE RECEIPT OF THE CERTIFICATION OF THE 2020 SCHOOL BOARD ELECTION FOR THE SPECIAL SCHOOL DISTRICT OF FORT SMITH

Dr. Brubaker reported that results of the 2020 School Board Election for the Special School District of Fort Smith (Fort Smith Public Schools) were certified on March 13 by the Sebastian County Board of Election Commissioners. The administration recommended that the Board acknowledge receipt of the election results as detailed in the agenda packet.

Mr. Hanesworth made a motion, seconded by Ms. Keaton-Martin to acknowledge receipt of the election results as detailed in the agenda packet. The vote passed 5/0.

SWEARING IN OF NEW OFFICERS

Ms. McFerran introduced the Honorable Judge James O. Cox of the Sebastian County Circuit Court, Division 6 to swear in new board members Ms. Dee Blackwell, Position 7 and Mr. Dalton Person, At Large, Position 2. New board members Blackwell and Person joined the meeting.

SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORT

Dr. Brubaker reported that Fort Smith Public Schools began Alternative Method of Instruction (AMI) today as directed by Governor Hutchinson due to CDC COVID19 concerns. He noted that the Governor had declared school buildings closed through March 30 at this time.

Mr. Mahan gave a detailed report on how students were being taught on the District's AMI Plan.

Dr. Brubaker reported that staff at 11 school sites were currently providing meals for students to pick up daily.

Dr. Brubaker reported that staff were continuing to take care of district operations.

Dr. Morawski reported that construction projects continue and HPM and contractors will adjust as needed.

Dr. Morawski al so reported that Mr. Hollenbeck and Mr. Shaffer continue to have custodial staff disinfecting district buildings.

Professional Staff Recommendations

Dr. Brubaker presented the professional staff recommendations

Resignations

Certified

Hughes, Steven

Byars, Carla

Welch, Caitlyn

Story, Cassy

Lingo, Cynthia

McReynolds, Rochelle

Classified

Bates, James

Carter, Kayla

Polanco, Rosa Garcia

Jackson, Frances

Angel, Della

Retirements

Certified

None

Classified,

Jedlicka, Jack

Ms. Richardson made a motion, seconded by Mr. Gilkey, to accept the recommendation for resignations and retirements as presented. The vote passed 7/0.

Employment

Certified

None

Classified

Stout, Martin

Ms. Richardson made a motion, seconded by Mr. Gilkey, to approve the recommendations for employment as presented. The vote passed 7/0.

<u>Leaves of Absence</u> <u>Certified</u> Geels, Veronic Luna

Classified Macon, Mary

Ms. Richardson made a motion, seconded by Mr. Gilkey, to approve the recommendations for leave of absence as presented. The vote passed 7/0.

Current Proposals, Bids and Renewals

Mr. Warren presented information related to current bids and proposals. Jostens from Russellville, AR was awarded the bid for graduation supplies. This is an information item. No recommendation is required.

CONSENT AGENDA

The consent agenda included the minutes of the February 24 Board Meeting and the March 2 Called Board Meeting, February Financial Report, and March Student Services Report. Mr. Hanesworth made a motion, seconded by Mr. Wade Gilkey, to approve the consent agenda as presented. The vote passed 7/0.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Ms. McFerran reported that at the first regular meeting following the certification of the results of the annual school election, the Board of Education shall organize by electing officers. Ms. McFerran stated that a discussion about the election of officers was conducted during the February 24 meeting of the Board in compliance with the Arkansas FOIA.

Ms. McFerran presented the following slate of officers:

- (1) Mr. Bill Hanesworth, President
- (2) Ms. Talicia Richardson, Vice President
- (3) Ms. Dee Blackwell, Secretary

Ms. McFerran made a motion, seconded by Ms. Keaton-Martin, to elect the slate of officers as presented. The vote passed 7/0.

DESIGNATION OF BOARD DISBURSING OFFICERS

The Board of Education must also designate one of its members who shall serve as the primary board disbursing officer of the District and an alternate board disbursing officer in the absence of the designated primary board officer. The President and Vice-President have traditionally been designated as the primary and alternate board disbursing officers, respectively. Ms. McFerran made a motion, seconded by Mr. Gilkey, to nominate Mr. Bill Hanesworth as primary Board Disbursing Officer and Ms. Talicia Richardson as Alternate Board Disbursing Officer and the

resolution designating Mr. Hanesworth and Ms. Richardson to serve until the next annual election. The vote passed 7/0.

Board Members Forum

Ms. McFerran thanked Dr. Brubaker and staff for their time and commitment during this COVID19 Pandemic. She also expressed thanks for the opportunity to have served as president for the past three years.

Ms. Richardson added that it was fortunate that the District was able to pay classified staff during this COVID19 Pandemic and being mindful of the impact on the community by also providing meals to students. with the District having 72% Free and Reduced students.

Mr. Gilkey asked the administration to consider using buses for delivering food if needed.

Ms. Keaton-Martin thanks Ms. McFerran for her service as president for the past three years.

Mr. Person and Ms. Blackwell both expressed looking forward to serve on the board.

ADJOURN

There was no	further	business a	and the	meeting	adjourned	at 6:00	p.m.
--------------	---------	------------	---------	---------	-----------	---------	------

Susan McFerran, President
Yvonne Keaton-Martinl, Secretary