BOYCEVILLE COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF EDUCATION Middle/High School Media Center Wednesday, April 16, 2025

The Board of Education of the Boyceville Community School District met in regular session on Wednesday, April 16, 2025, at 6:01 p.m. in the Middle/High School Media Center.

Board members present: Stacy Fetzer, Sharon Formoe, Jeremy Mittlestadt, Tim Sempf, and Amber Carlsrud attended virtually

Others present: Superintendent Nick Kaiser, Alesha Kersten, Emmaly Monfort, Patrick Gretzlock, Jerim Des Jarlais, Rebecca Hanestad, Ben Mrdutt, Jessie Olson, Delaney Olson, Jamie Olson, Rochelle Olson, Tori Stender, Erik Friest, Jan Friest, Jake Bialzik, Tina Bialzik, Aaron Bialzik, Riley Schutz, Jason Schutz, Melissa Schutz, and Renee Bettendorf from the Tribune Press Reporter

Motion by Jeremy Mittlestadt to approve the agenda as presented with line item 7.c.II. Act on the Resignation of Jay Lagerstrom as Varsity Girls Basketball Coach acted on after closed session. Seconded by Sharon Formoe. All voted in favor. Motion carried.

Motion by Jeremy Mittlestadt to approve the Board of Education Minutes from the March 19 and April 2, 2025, meetings as presented. Seconded by Stacy Fetzer. All voted in favor. Motion carried.

Visitor's Welcome & Comments:

President Sempf welcomed those in attendance. No comments from the audience were made.

Information/Discussion Items:

Recognition of the 2025 Valedictorians, Salutatorians, & Technical Excellence Recipient - Mr. Gretzlock introduced the two valedictorians for the Boyceville High School graduating class of 2025, both earning a 4.000 GPA. The 2025 valedictorians are Jake Bialzik and Delaney Olson. Tori Stender and Riley Schutz are the salutatorians for the class of 2025. Riley Schutz was also recognized as the Technical Excellence Scholarship award winner. Students were congratulated for all of their hard work and accomplishments.

Oath of Office – Alesha Kersten, Notary and District Administrative Assistant, administered the Oath of Office to Benjamin Mrdutt and Jessie Olson.

<u>Principals/Special Education Director Reports</u> – The principals and Director of Special Education provided an overview of their written reports to the Board.

Superintendent's Report – Mr. Nick Kaiser

- Teacher and Staff Appreciation Week is coming up in May. We will provide staff members a lunch option from local businesses.
- Congratulations to the High School and Middle School Science Olympiad teams for earning 1st place at the State meet.
- Mr. Kaiser plans to attend or send a letter to the Joint Finance Committee meeting that will be held in Hayward on April 28.
- Mr. Kaiser thanked everyone involved with the spring musical and concerts. The Middle School Spring Concert (grades 6-8) will be held on April 29.
- Referendum Update Meetings continue. Phase 1 begins this summer and Phase 2 projects will be worked on in the summer of 2026.

<u>First Reading of Board Policy Updates</u> – The Board held its first reading of the NEOLA policy updates.

Action Items:

<u>Treasurer's Report</u> - Motion by Sharon Formoe to approve Check Nos. 1419-1420, 1422-1427, 16324-16327, 82959-82965, 83038-83061, 83068-83091, 83098-83119, and the ACH payments made to PMA as presented totaling \$285,450.70 from Fund 10, the General Fund and \$234,754.63 from Fund 49, the Referendum Fund. Seconded by Stacy Fetzer. All voted in favor. Motion carried.

<u>Fund 46 Account Change</u> - Motion to change Fund 46 to an Interest-Bearing Account with a Minimum Balance Requirement. This motion, made by Sharon Formoe. Seconded by Stacy Fetzer. All voted in favor. Motion carried.

Personnel:

Motion by Sharon Formoe to accept the resignation of Jill Schwebach as the Speech & Language Pathologist. Seconded by Jeremy Mittlestadt. All voted in favor. Motion carried.

Grants/Donations:

Motion by Sharon Formoe to accept a \$4,995 Grant Award from the AnnMarie Foundation to the Agriculture Department to Purchase a Hydroponic Grow Tower. Seconded by Stacy Fetzer. All voted in favor. Motion carried.

Motion by Jeremy Mittlestadt to adjourn to closed session under Wis. Statutes 19.85 (1)(c) for the purpose of discussing employment, promotion, compensation or performance evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility; specifically to discuss staffing and compensation. Seconded by Sharon Formoe. Roll call vote: Carlsrud-Yes, Fetzer-Yes, Formoe-Yes, Mittlestadt-Yes, and Sempf-Yes. All voted in favor. Motion carried. The meeting adjourned to closed session at 6:55 p.m.

The meeting reconvened in open session at 8:01 p.m. for the purpose of taking action as deemed necessary or appropriate on any matter discussed or deliberated upon in closed session.

Action Item

Motion by Sharon Formoe to accept the resignation of Jay Lagerstrom as the Varsity Girls Basketball Coach. Seconded by Stacy Fetzer. 4-1 vote. Motion carried.

Motion by Jeremy Mittlestadt to adjourn. Seconded by Stacy Fetzer. All voted in favor. Motion carried. The meeting adjourned at 8:04 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by Alesha Kersten for

Amber Carlsrud, School Board Clerk