The Waskom School Board convened in regular session on Monday, Oct. 11, 2010, at 7:00 p.m. in the Central Office Conference Room with the following officers and members present: Michael Allwhite, President; Jimmy Whorton, member; Stan Boyd, Vice-President; Christy Gentry, member; Dane Loyd, member; and Jimmy E. Cox, superintendent. Others attending were, Sandra Rodgers, acting secretary; Kathy Johnson, business manager/payroll clerk; Nancy Dillard, accounts payable; Carolyn Fischer, Dyslexia Coordinator and Stuart Musick, High School Principal.

Michelle Thomas, Secretary; was not present.

The meeting was called to order by Michael Allwhite and he gave the invocation and led the Pledge of Allegiance.

WASKOM ISD FINANCIAL INTEGRITY RATING SYSTEM OF TEXAS REPORT

The FIRST Report was reviewed and there was no public comment.

PUBLIC COMMENT

No public comment.

FINANCIAL STATEMENT AND BILLS

The financial statement and bills were reviewed.

TAX COLLECTOR REPORT

The tax collector report for September was reviewed.

REPORTS

Superintendent's Reports:

- a) The Financial Update was reviewed,
- b) Quarterly Investment Report was discussed,

c) Dyslexia Report was presented by Carolyn Fischer, Dyslexia Coordinator,

d) Dress Code enforcement procedures update was presented by Stuart Musick, high school principal.

CONSENT AGENDA

A motion was made by Stan Boyd, seconded by Dane Loyd, to approve the consent agenda as presented (Minutes of the September 13, 2010 regular meeting of the Board and Minutes of the September 27, 2010 Special Board Meeting).

Vote: The motion carried unanimously.

POLICY CHANGE

A motion was made by Stan Boyd, seconded by Jimmy Whorton to approve a policy change that in order for a student to graduate with top 10% honors they must be on recommended or distinguished plan.

Vote: The motion carried unanimously.

CONSIDER ACTION ON VACANT BOARD POSITION

Tabled until November Board Meeting.

ADJOURN MEETING

A motion was made by Stan Boyd, seconded by Dane Loyd, to adjourn the meeting at 8:32 p.m.

Vote: The motion carried unanimously. So ordered by Michael Allwhite.

President

Secretary