MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF EDUCATION SERVICE CENTER, REGION 20

August 2, 2010

The Board of Directors of Education Service Center, Region 20 convened in Open Session at 1:00 p.m. and immediately moved into Executive Session to consider employment of executive director on Monday, August 2, 2010 in the ESC-20 Conference Center located at 1314 Hines Avenue in San Antonio, Texas. The Chairman, Mr. Frederick E. Maples, Jr., presided and the following members were in attendance:

Dr. Ismael Sosa, Vice Chairman

Mr. Mike Petter, Secretary (Via phone)

Mr. Tom Winn, Member

Mr. Ronald W. Eckel, Member

Ms. Kay Franklin, Member

Mr. Charles A. Carlson, Member

EXECUTIVE SESSION

To Consider Employment of New Executive

Director

ACTION CONSIDERED IN EXECUTIVE SESSION

Mr. Carlson made a motion that the following resolution be approved. Dr. Sosa seconded the motion which six voted for and one against.

BE IT RESOLVED, That the Board of Directors approves the employment of Dr. Ronald L. Beard on August 10, 2010 and establishes the compensation package to include:

- \$170,000 Annual Salary
- \$5,000 Transportation Supplement for Travel Within Bexar County
- Family Health Insurance Compensation
- \$660 Annual Communication Supplement

ACTION CONSIDERED IN EXECUTIVE SESSION

Mr. Carlson made a motion that the following resolution also be approved. Mr. Winn seconded the motion which was unanimously approved.

For the period of August 4-31, 2010, Mr. Beard will be compensated for transportation & lodging related to ESC-20 travel.

<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>	There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 2:40 p.m.
	APPROVED:
ATTESTED:	



BOARD OF DIRECTORS

EXECUTIVE SESSION

CERTIFIED AGENDA

1. Announcement of date and time of Executive Session

- 2. Consider Employment of New Executive Director
- A record of action taken in Executive Session may be found in the minutes of this
 meeting.
- Announcement of ending time of the Executive Session 2:23 p.m.

I certify that the agenda is a true and correct record of the Executive Session.

Frederick E. Maples, Jr.

Chairman

Mike Petter

Secretary