Board Recognition January 14, 2020

United Way of Denton County

District staff, including teachers, paraprofessionals, bus drivers, cafeteria workers, administrators, custodial, maintenance and support staff, have pledged more than \$108,000 to the United Way of Denton County following the 2019-2020 campaign kick-off. The total represents a significant increase over last year's campaign.

Gary Henderson and representatives of UWDC will be on hand to accept the donation from district staff. Dr. Buddy Dunworth and Renee Koontz, principals, coordinated the district's campaign.

Bi-Literacy Partnership with Texas Woman's University

In December, 12 Denton ISD educators became the first recipients of the new Certificate of Biliteracy from the Texas Woman's University (TWU) Department of Literacy and Learning. The program affords students courses that count toward a master's degree in Reading with the opportunity to become a certified reading specialist or choose to receive the graduate certificate.

The partnership is one of many the district is cultivating to address teacher shortages in key focus areas.

Recipients include Seth Ross, Mary Gilliland, RonieSue Ullrich, Phlycia Anderson, Corrina Greb, Esteffanee Guajardo, Arianna Lecuona, Melina Perez, Marlene Walker, Juan Borda, Zulma Mojica and Ivonne Solano.

Dr. Mary Amanda Stewart, associate professor of literacy and learning, will present the formal certificates on behalf of TWU.

Advanced Placement Scholars – Part I

The College Board honored 137 Denton ISD high school students with distinctions for 2019, according to their annual list of recipients who are named Advanced Placement Scholars.

The national program recognizes individuals who have demonstrated college-level achievement though exceptional scores in AP courses and on AP exams. Students are awarded based on four levels including: AP Scholar, AP Scholar with Honor, AP Scholar with Distinction and National AP Scholar.

Students receive an award certificate from The College Board and although there is no monetary award, this achievement is acknowledged on any score report that is sent to colleges.

Braswell High

AP Scholars

The AP Scholars, students who received scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams are: Devin Wallets, Mina Cowles, Reyna Diaz, Austin Hundley, Mary Miller, Arturo Ramirez, Jocelyn Salgado, Kaitlyn Stanley, Caitlyn Tang and Hannah Wilson.

The AP Scholar with Honors, students who received an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of those exams, is Nina Mbonu.

The student who received an average score of 3.5 on all AP exams taken and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of those exams, AP Scholars with Distinction, is Jonathan Wooley

Denton High

The AP Scholars, students who received scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams are: Jack Alagood, Karen Angulo, Lilia Chesky, Nadia McClanathan, Ana Maria Rasch, Kathleen Thiele, Lydia Vinson, Ededi Adjagbodjou, Sucharita Banerjee, Kamea Bayon, James Bridges, Rachel Capone, Tristan Fairbanks, James Fite, Marshall Jennings, Samantha Puente, Lizzette Reyes, Joseph Skoog, Sydney Soto, Emily Turner and Charlotte Warrick.

The AP Scholar with Honors, students who received an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of those exams are: Madeleine Taylor-Marks, Vanessa Bristow, Rachel Helms, Ashley Lee, Hattie Poston, Emanuel Prado and Max Safranek.

Students who received an average score of 3.5 on all AP exams taken and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of those exams, AP Scholars with Distinction, are: James Elliott and Gunnison Hays.

<u>Ryan High</u>

The AP Scholars, students who received scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams are: Valarie Barbosa, Gabriel Lira, Gabriel Morgan, Eloise Beck, Lorenzo Canizares and Amber Zendejas.

The AP Scholar with Honors, students who received an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of those exams, is Rylie Mooney.

The student who received an average score of 3.5 on all AP exams taken and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of those exams, AP Scholars with Distinction, is Liam Daly

The remaining AP Scholars from Guyer High School will be honored in February.

School Board Appreciation 2020

The task of educating more than 5.4 million Texas students can seem overwhelming. The idea of 5.4 million young minds relying on local citizens to provide what they will need to succeed in their ever-unfolding future can feel insurmountable.

While educating children may not be rocket science, it is a complex, demanding responsibility: ensuring that schools are available, qualified teachers are in place, buildings are safe, and resources are provided. It's a responsibility that locally elected board members generously accept. They commit to read reports, learn the laws, understand the community's needs, set thoughtful goals, and wisely handle the district's financial resources.

Serving as a locally elected board member means going through an election and making difficult decisions for the district, more specifically its employees, and its children. It means being available to hear from concerned parents in the grocery store, at the game, or over the backyard fence. It means committing the time it takes to do the job right. And in Texas there is no pay for school board members, and there are required training requirements, creating further demands on their time.

Fortunately, in Denton ISD, a group of caring adults have signed on for the responsibility and accept the hard work of making our schools the best they can be. They immerse themselves in learning what they need to know to make good decisions that will provide for students, from the very youngest Pre-K student to the graduating senior. Trustees are public servants who generously work to benefit the most vulnerable members of each community.

Please join us as we celebrate our Board of School Trustees, the 2019 Region 11 ESC School Board of the Year, that includes Barbara Burns, president; Mia Price, vice president; Doug Chadwick, secretary; Dr. Jim Alexander, trustee; Charles Stafford, trustee; Dorothy Martinez, trustee; and Dr. Jeanetta Smith, trustee.

Dena Wilson, Graphic Design & Illustrations Educator at the LaGrone ATC, will be on hand with her students to present their original works.

Student representatives will present a token of appreciation on behalf of the district to each member in honor of their service.