

NORTH SLOPE BOROUGH SCHOOL DISTRICT

MEMORANDUM

TO: FROM:	Roxanne Brower, President Members of the School Board Stewart McDonald, Superintendent	
DATE:	February 27, 2019	
SUBJECT:	AASB Legislative Fly-In April 6-9, 2019	Memo No: SB19-135 (Action Item)

NSBSD Strategic Plan Goal:

2.0 Qargi/Community Spirit: Fostering the reclamation and recovery of the responsibility each one of us has for living the Iñupiaq values and being accountable at the personal and community levels for "walking the talk," embodying the Qargi spirit and commitment to education.

4.0: Financial & Operational Stewardship: Effectively employ our operational and financial resources to support our strategic goals and long-term stability of the district.

Recommendation:

The administration recommends the Board to approve legislative committee members, Roxanne Brower and Muriel Brower (Qaiyaan Harcharek as alternate), to attend the Association of Alaska School Boards Legislative Fly-In on April 6-9, 2019 in Juneau, AK.

Issue Summary:

The Association of Alaska School Boards Legislative Fly-in will be held in Juneau, AK at the Westmark Baranof Hotel on April 6-9, 2019.

Background:

The Legislative Fly-in will include: Updates from the Alaska Department of Education on Early Learning and Chronic Absenteeism; Discussion of issues & topics influencing education in 2019; How to view and process school district data; showcasing the unity of Alaska's School Boards to lead positive change; reviewing current Bills and Legislative Priorities; and meeting with legislators and other decision makers.

Students are welcome to come join in the session with their Board of Education members, however, student activities are not scheduled. The students that attended the AASB Fly-In February 9-12, 2019 were: Edith Spear and Jenna Stringer, Barrow High School; Carrah Hawley, Tikiġaq School; Torrie Tracey, Kali School; Shannon Tazruk, Alak School.

Board members Roxanne Brower, Muriel Brower and alternate Qaiyaan Harcharek are currently serving on the North Slope Borough School District Board of Education Legislative Committee.

The fly-in will include meeting with various legislators that the Superintendent's office will arrange.

Below is the current list of legislators and their committees:

State Department of Education

Commissioner Michael Johnson

State House Education Committee

Representative Harriet Dumond, Co-Chair Representative Andi Story, Co-Chair Representative Grier Hopkins, Member Representative Chris Tuck, Member Representative Tiffany Zulkosky, Member Representative Josh Revank, Member Representative DeLena Johnson, Member

State House Finance Committee

Representative Neal Foster, Co-Chair Representative Tammie Wilson, Co-Chair Representative Jennifer Johnston, Vice-Chair Representative Andy Josephson, Member Representative Gary Knopp, Member Representative Barton LeBon, Member Representative Dan Ortiz, Member Representative Cathy Tilton, Member Representative Kelly Merrick, Member Representative Colleen Sullivan-Leonard, Member Representative Ben Carpenter, Member

State House Health & Social Services

Representative Ivy Spohnholz, Co-Chair Representative Tiffany Zulkosky, Co-Chair Representative Matt Claman, Member Representative Harriet Drummond, Member Representative Geran Tarr, Member Representative Sharon Jackson, Member Representative Lance Pruitt, Member

State Senate Education Committee

Senator Gary Stevens, Chair Senator Shelley Hughes, Vice Chair Chris Birch, Member Mia Costello, Member Tom Begich, Member

Senate Finance Committee

Senator Bert Stedman, Co-Chair Senator Natasha von Imhof, Co-Chair Senator David Wilson, Member Senator Click Bishop, Member Senator Peter Micciche, Member Senator Mike Shower, Member Senator Lyman Hoffman, Member Senator Donald Olson, Member Senator Bill Wielechowski, Member

Senate Health & Social Services

Senator David Wilson, Chair Senator John Coghill, Vice Chair Senator Gary Stevens, Member Senator Cathy Giessel, Member Senator Tom Begich, Member

Motion:

I move that the NSBSD Board of Education approve the Legislative Committee members, Roxanne Brower and Muriel Brower or Qaiyaan Harcharek (Alternate), to attend the AASB Legislative Fly-In on April 6-9, 2019 in Juneau, AK.

Motion by	Seconded by	
-	-	
Advisory Vote	Vote	