Board Recognition Feb. 25, 2025

Dozen Denton ISD Students Selected for All-State Band, Choir, Orchestra, Jazz

Twelve Denton ISD musicians earned All-State honors for the 2024-2025 school year from the Texas Music Educators Association (TMEA).

TMEA is an organization of more than 12,000 school music educators committed to promoting excellence in music education. Musicians earn the prestigious honor of all-state through a competitive selection process held across Texas at the district, region, and area levels. This process begins statewide with auditions hosted by 33 TMEA regions.

Individual musicians perform selected music for a panel of judges who rank each instrument or voice part. From this ranking, a select group of musicians advance from their region to compete against musicians from areas in eight TMEA Area competitions. The highest-ranking musicians judged at the area competition qualify to perform in a TMEA All-State music group.

All-State is the highest honor a Texas music student can achieve. Only 1,875 students are selected through a process beginning with over 70,000 students – meaning only the top 2.6 percent of musicians who initially audition become All-State musicians.

The Denton ISD students named to the highest musical honor in Texas include the following:

Braswell High School Choir

Matthew Barrios, Tenor 2, All-State 5A/6A Mixed Choir

Directors Derrick Brookins & Kaela Vance

Principal: DeCorian Hailey

Braswell High School Band

Nick Schiller, Bass Trombone, All-State 6A Symphonic Band

Directors: Aaron Snipes, Taylor Sitzman-Ballard, & Matthew Sawyer

Principal: DeCorian Hailey

Guyer High School Choir

Jayden Hollister, Tenor 2, All-State 5A/6A Mixed Choir

Directors: Katherine Engle & Tyler Fox

Principal: Dr. Shaun Perry

Marshall Miller, Bass 1, All-State 5A/6A Mixed Choir

Directors: Katherine Engle & Tyler Fox

Principal: Dr. Shaun Perry

Sophia Gallamore, Alto 1, All-State 5A/6A Mixed Choir

Directors: Katherine Engle & Tyler Fox

Principal: Dr. Shaun Perry

Guyer High School Orchestra

Mark Eads, String Bass, All-State Philharmonic Orchestra

Directors: Michelle Hanlon & Sarah Wright

Principal: Dr. Shaun Perry

Ryan High School Choir

Evan Kinnaird, Bass 2, All-State 5A/6A Mixed Choir

Directors: David Rives & Sam Kats

Principal: Vernon Reeves

Ryan High School Band

Pablo Acosta, Bass Clarinet, All-State 5A Symphonic Band

Directors: Jarrod Beard & Nachel Konemann

Principal: Vernon Reeves

Ryan High School Orchestra

Osiel Cardenas, Viola, All-State Philharmonic Orchestra

Director: Jeremy Atkins Principal: Vernon Reeves

Denton High School Band

Tobias Harold, Baritone Saxophone, All-State 5A Symphonic Band

Directors: Brian Wilson & Jesse Woolery

Principal: Joel Hays

Luna Brooks, Flute, All-State 5A Symphonic Band

Directors: Brian Wilson & Jesse Woolery

Principal: Joel Hays

Denton High School Jazz Band

Garrett Purcell, Trumpet, All-State Jazz Ensemble 2

Director: Jesse Woolery Principal: Joel Hays

Bell Elementary Named 2023-2025 National PTA School of Excellence

Bell Elementary has been named a 2023-2025 National PTA School of Excellence, an honor which aims to provide a framework for PTAs to identify and implement best practices in family engagement to strengthen family-school Partnerships.

Bell Elementary was one of only 84 schools in Texas to earn the distinction for 2023-2025. Less than 400 schools nationwide received the honor.

The National PTA's School of Excellence program supports and celebrates partnerships with PTAs and schools that work to improve the educational experience and school environment for every child. To become a School of Excellence, a school's PTA and administrative team must work together to welcome all families, communicate effectively, support student success, speak up for every child, share power and collaborate with the community.

The principal of Bell Elementary is Natonia LaFreniere. The Denton ISD PTA Council President is Amy Terrell. The President of the Bell Elementary PTA is Stephanie Thomas.

Board Spotlight

25th Anniversary of Ryan High Boys Basketball State Championship Celebrated In March 2000, the Ryan High School Boys Basketball team defeated Dallas Madison 80-69 to claim the Class 4A state championship.

The Raiders posted an impressive 30-6 overall record during their 1999-2000 campaign, winning what remains to be the only boys basketball title in school history. At the time, Ryan's Boys Basketball state championship was also the first title in any sport at Ryan.

This team will be honored later in March at the UIL boys basketball state championships at the Alamodome in San Antonio, commemorating the 25th anniversary of the Raiders cutting down the nets.

Multiple members of the 1999-2000 Ryan boys basketball team will be in attendance, including Jay Swafford, who is now an assistant principal at Ryan, and Fred Younkman, retired FMHS principal. The principal of Ryan High School is Vernon Reeves. The head coach of the 1999-2000 Ryan boys basketball team was Richard Scofield.