Minutes of Regular Meeting

The Board of Trustees Dalhart ISD

A Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees of Dalhart ISD was held Tuesday, June 19, 2012, beginning at 7:00 PM in the Dalhart ISD Central Office, 701 East 10th Street.

Present: Peter Baumert – Vice-President, Rick Dunham – Secretary, Janet Banks – Board Member, Randy Sherrill – Board Member, Boyd Barrow – Board Member, Mario Gomez – Board Member, David Foote – Superintendent, David Steele – H S Principal, Trevor Scott – H S Asst. Principal, John Machel – J H Principal, Karen Taft – Elem. Principal, Scott Hand – Dir. of Technology, and Delbert Dodds – Business Manager Absent: Jeff Lloyd Visitors: Zelda Beth Lang – KXIT Radio, Mr. and Mrs. Jim McDaniel, Tammi Kate Ledford – Dalhart Texan

12557. Call to Order – Vice-President Baumert called the meeting to order at 6:59 p.m. and stated that a quorum was present: the meeting had been duly called: and the notice had been posted in accordance with the Texas Open Meetings Act Texas Government Code Chapter 551.

- 12558. Prayer Mr. Foote offered the prayer.
- 12559. Student/Teacher Presentations None
- 12560. Audience with:

Patrons – Zelda Beth reminded everyone of the reception for Greg Duggan for his retirement party.

Students - None

Staff – None

12561. Update on School Improvement Plans for Dalhart High School and Dalhart Junior High School – Mr. Machel spoke on behalf of the Junior High and stated that Mr. Lemons was here last week and went to Region 16 and looked at our scores and compared them to other scores and stated that they really don't know exactly where we stand due to the new tests.

Mr. Steele stated that Mr. Lemons is coming this Thursday to look at his raw data.

EOC(End of Course) exams numbers look better than expected and remediation is scheduled for the first week of July.

- 12562. Superintendent's Report and Update on Goals Mr. Foote gave the board an update on the goals and also stated that the principal's were trying hard to hire staff and that he is working on the substitute list.
- 12563. First Reading TASB Policy Update 94 It was moved by Janet Banks and seconded by Randy Sherrill to approve TASB Policy Update 94 on emergency reading after the first reading. Yeas: Banks, Barrow, Baumert, Dunham, Gomez, and Sherrill Nays: None
- 12564. Appoint TASB Delegate and Alternate Delegate It was moved by Boyd Barrow and seconded by Mario Gomez to appoint Rick Dunham as the TASB Delegate and appoint Janet Banks as the Alternate TASB Delegate for the 2012 – 2013 school year. Yeas: Banks, Barrow, Baumert, Dunham, Gomez, and Sherrill Nays: None
- 12565. Consider and discuss Internet Safety Policy for Dalhart ISD It was moved by Randy Sherrill and seconded by Janet Banks to approve the Internet Safety Policy for Dalhart ISD as presented by Mr. Hand. Yeas: Banks, Barrow, Baumert, Dunham, Gomez, and Sherrill Navs: None
- 12566. Consider and discuss the Region 16 ESC Contracts for the 2012 –
 2013 school year It was moved by Mario Gomez and seconded by Rick Dunham to approve the Region 16 ESC contracts as presented by Mr. Foote.

Yeas: Banks, Barrow, Baumert, Dunham, Gomez, and Sherrill Nays: None

- 12567. Consider and discuss amended Dalhart ISD Acceptable Use Policy

 It was moved by Janet Banks and seconded by Boyd Barrow to approve the amendments to the Dalhart ISD Acceptable Use Policy for the Dalhart ISD 2012 2013 school year.
 Yeas: Banks, Barrow, Baumert, Dunham, Gomez and Sherrill Nays: None
- 12568. Consider and approve bids on copiers It was moved by Randy Sherrill and seconded by Boyd Barrow to approve the SPC bid for 4 copiers at this time. Yeas: Banks, Barrow, Baumert, Dunham, Gomez and Sherrill Nays: None
- 12569. Consider and discuss amending TASB Policy DEC(LOCAL) It was moved by Boyd Barrow and seconded by Randy Sherrill to amend TASB Policy DEC(LOCAL) to read as follows: "All local sick leave accumulated prior to September 1, 2012, will be considered as Local Leave and not Local Sick Leave." Yeas: Banks, Barrow, Baumert, Dunham, Gomez and Sherrill

Nays: None

- 12570. Consider and discuss appointing Authorized Officials to allow them to submit to the TEA Grant program It was moved by Randy Sherrill and seconded by Mario Gomez to appoint the Superintendent's position as the Authorized Official and the Business Manager's position as the Primary Contact position for the Dalhart ISD TEA Grant Program. Yeas: Banks, Barrow, Baumert, Dunham, Gomez and Sherrill Nays: None
- 12571. Information/discussion items A. Preliminary Budget 2012 2013, Mr. Foote and Mr. Dodds went over the expenditure side of the preliminary budget for the 2012 – 2013 school year and set up another budget workshop for the board meeting scheduled for July 17, 2012. B. Joint TASB/TASA Convention Sept. 28 – 30, 2012, in Austin, Texas, asked board members to check on whether they can attend the convention or not and to let Mr. Foote know what their plans are at the next board meeting.
- 12572. Consider Consent Agenda: Minutes of Previous Meetings Financial Reports Budget Amendments Disbursements

It was moved by Randy Sherrill and seconded by Janet Banks to approve the consent agenda: minutes of regular board meeting held on May 17, 2012 and minutes of special board meeting held on May 21, 2012, financial reports, budget amendments and disbursements for May 2012. Yeas: Banks, Barrow, Baumert, Dunham, Gomez, and Sherrill Nays: None

Abstained: Randy Sherrill from Bartlett Lumber Co. bills Boyd Barrow from Atmos Energy bills

12573. Personnel:

Resignations: These employees have resigned from the district at this time: Lindsey Walker, Matt Walker, Bonnie Chambers and Kehly Meiwes.

Employment: Jaclen Meador – DES, Elizabeth Baca – DES, Chance Miller – DIS, Stephanie Ellis – DIS(pending certification), Michael Harre – DIS, Kaylee Rhoderick – DJHS(pending certification), Sherina Bickel – DJHS(pending certification), Sarah Pipkin – DJHS, Frank Subealdea – DJHS, Amanda Curbow – DES, Rebecca Gonzales – DIS(pending certification), and Chelsea Sage – DES(pending certification) Reassignment: Donna Smith – To DIS from DES, Marti Padilla – To DES from DHS, Trevor Scott – From Teacher to Asst. H S Principal, Staci Maddox – From DES to DJHS and Tammy Randall – from DES to DJHS.

Support Staff: Velinda Mathews – DES, Summer Wheeler – DIS and Christina Davis – DES Cafeteria

Support Staff Resignations: Virginia Cendejas – DES and Nina Mason – DJHS.

Extended Leave: None

- 12574. President Lloyd announced that the Board of Trustees would now adjourn into closed or executive session in pursuant to the following sections of the Texas Open Meetings Act: Texas Government Code Chapter 551.071 through 551.085 as they apply, that the Board of Trustees may discuss personnel regarding appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment and/or hear a complaint, the time now is 9:07 p.m. President Lloyd announced the time now is 10:01 p.m. and declared this meeting in open session.
- 12575. There was no action taken.
- 12576. New Board Orientation
- 12577. President Lloyd adjourned the meeting at 10:30 p.m.